We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Service at McDonalds” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection

Save Saved
You added Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
“Better Service at McDonalds”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The room was pretty, so was the pool. However, what makes a 5 star hotel an enjoyable experience is the service, which was severely lacking here. We walked into the restaurant for dinner. I wore a long sleeve cashmere dress that was below the knee. My cousin wore black slacks, a black blouse, and a black pashmina. My boyfriend was also appropriately dressed. Yet waiting for a table was a truly uncomfortable experience. Several members of the waitstaff made eye contact with us. Not a single person came over. After what seemed like a 10 minute staring contest, we walked over to one of the servers and asked if we should seat ourselves. She appeared flustered about where to seat us when there were 2-3 tables available. When we pointed to one with two seats, she seemed to have no clue what to do. Again, we took initiative and pointed to a couple empty chairs that could just be pulled over. She seemed annoyed to have to pull a third chair over. The food was overpriced and mediocre at best, certainly not 5 star hotel quality, We received silverware after our soup was already served. The bread arrived after two of us were done with our meals and our plates were cleared off of the table (no new ones given). Breakfast the next morning was no better. It's sad because after sleeping in the desert, we planned for a change of pace and to enjoy the amenities of a 5 star hotel We were disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Tiger_Blood1,

Thank you for taking time to write your review about your stay at Le Médina Essaouira Hôtel Thalassa sea & spa

I have taken note of your comments regarding all the issues you have mentioned and would like to express my sincerest apologies.

I hope that i will have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    293
    246
    90
    33
    13
See reviews for
140
363
38
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I have stayed in numerous 5 Star hotels for both business and pleasure over many years and this hotel falls far short of any 5 star hotels I have stayed in.
1. The common areas are shabby and in need of refurbishment.
2. The breakfasts were abysmal
3. The staff were unhelpful and, in particular, the reception staff were very badly trained and informed.
4.The wi-fi was so poor that my husband had to miss an important international video call. The reason we booked this hotel is because it was supposed to have a good wi-fi connection – this was not the case. My husband was told this was normal for the town – this was not true as we found a very good and fast wi-fi connection in the town just standing outside a riad there.
5. The water was shut off between midnight and 5am on the first night. There was no note posted in the hotel room and we were subsequently informed that a notice had been put on a board in the lobby – this was so unobtrusive that it was easily missed. I had a bad stomach that night and telephoned the reception requesting a bucket of water to flush down the toilet. We waited nearly half an hour and no-one came back to us. They suggested bottles of water – which was a totally inadequate response. We eventually got a bucket of water and a container of water after my husband went down to reception with the waste bin from hotel room and told the staff he would fill this up from the pool to resolve the problem. We should not be resorting to this in a ‘so-called’ 5 star hotel!

On the positive side, the room was comfortable and the bathroom facilities (other than the issue with the lack of water in the toilet) were OK. The town was delightful with the lovely medina and fishing port.

We would not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Krystina G

Thank you for taking time to write your review about your stay at Le Médina Essaouira Hôtel Thalassa sea & spa

I have taken note of your comments regarding all the issues you have mentioned and would like to express my sincerest apologies.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the very near future!

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

It does stand out a little on the waterfront, but after exploring the city and surfing the amazing Essaouira waves we were very happy to come back to such a lovely hotel. The rooms were spacious and very clean, the bed and bed linen was about the nicest and most comfortable that I've ever slept in and the service and food at breakfast was really lovely. We had interconnecting rooms with our children which was perfect and each evening the kids beds were turned down and their soft toys tucked under the duvet, very sweet. The only slightly frustrating niggles were the speed of the wi-fi (painfully slow/patchy) and the slightly tetchy attitude of the staff in the spa. We didn't use any spa services but we went to look at the indoor pool and were not made to feel very welcome. The restaurant and room service prices are extortionate but there are so many places to eat on your doorstep that you don't need to use them. We particularly loved the beds on the solarium. All in all a very memorable holiday.

Room Tip: Pool view, we had 239 and the sun shone beautifully into our room/balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear NicholaL,

First I would like to thank you for choosing Le Medina Essaouira Thalassa sea & spa MGallery Collection.

Thank you very much for your message. I appreciate that you take time to give us your feed back!

I hope i will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the very near future!

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

As I begin to write this, I am surprised at some of the negative feedback around the same time. We found the room perfect in all respects - spacious, very clean linen, staff working round the clock to keep the place in order. This hotel is located right on the sea-face and very close to the Qasbah and the fishing village. The Maghrebi restaurant is quite authentic and the staff was really personalised. The chef spoke to every table to find out what she could do better. The decor was pleasant, excellent breakfast spread and the place has a great bar and restaurant across the road next to the sea.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea-view room. The Pool view room is nice too. This is classic Portugese style place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear RoadwarriorS25

First I would like to thank you for choosing Le Medina Essaouira Thalassa sea & spa MGallery Collection.

And for having taken time to write your feedback & express your satisfaction following your stay.

I will not hesitate to share your comments with the entire team.

I certainly would be very pleased too see you again on a next visit to Essaouira

I hope to welcome you home again

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We have stayed at this property previously when it was known as the Sofitel. The Sofitel chain has since opened a new super-luxury hotel just outside Essouira so this hotel was renamed and passed to another of their brands, probably to avoid confusion of the two. Anyway we decided to try it under the new ownership. In fact not much has changed except that with the passage of time the hotel has become a bit more run down, while its prices have gone up. It is still a very comfortable and convenient place to stay if you prefer a modern hotel to the many riads in Essaouira. The location is good, right across from the beach and a short walk into the old medina. There is a new associated restaurant on the beach across from the hotel. We preferred it to the hotel restaurant. As with all Sofitel - brand hotels world wide there is an outrageous charge to use the hotel internet. But some of these profits need to be put back into modernizing the hotel. (It would also be a good idea when modernization comes to change the colour of the outside. Everything else in Essaouira is white with yellow and blue trim, but somehow this place is pink and sticks out like a sore thumb!) So it's an OK place to stay, but nothing special. It could be a great hotel though if some money was put into improving it. If you stay there try to get a sea view room.

Also we were disappointed to see that the problem of motor cycles in the old medina has got even worse than on our last trip two years ago. Supposedly the medina is for pedestrians only but nobody enforces this rule any more so there are motor cycles buzzing around the narrow lanes all the time. At night it can be quite dangerous. This terrible nuisance spoils the peace and charm of the medina which has always been its main attraction. Everybody was complaining about it two years ago and they are stil complaining about it now but nothing is done about it. Shame on the Essaouria authorities for allowing this lovely World Heritage Site to be desecrated like this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Martha ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Medina Essaouira

Hotel Thalassa sea & spa.

The internet is free available through a secure cable connection in your room,and it is free in all

public areas of the hotel.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your comment

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The White City. For that to be a name for Essaouira is obvious looking down on it from a hillside viewpoint: dozens of white buildings, including a seaside line-up of modern hotels – all except our Le Medina Essaouira/Thalassa, [Boulevard Mohamed V. (212) 0525 07 2526. Its windows and entrance are outlned in red. It’s a serviceable elevator hotel with a pleasant pool and lunch area and the hotel makes an effort to welcome guests in a personal way, sitting down on a sofa to fill out forms. We had a nice little balcony overlooking the harbor and broad beach. But the service at the pool was both surly and nonexistent. It took three tries over an hour to get a drink. Overall it made us, well, homesick for La Maison Arabe in Marrakech.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are a long, long way around a semi-circle from the elevators. Ask for one close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Jack R

Thank you for taking time to write your review about your stay at Le Médina Essaouira Hôtel Thalassa sea & spa

I have taken note of your comments regarding all the issues you have mentioned and would like to express my sincerest apologies.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the very near future!

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel is situated on the beach front only two minutes walk from the old town but although Le Medina boasts 5 stars and high prices it is not a luxury hotel. General maintnance and cleaning leave a lot to be desired. Tiles are falling out of the bathroom walls and the carpets are disgusting. Worst of all, the showers are not working, a fact that has also been commented on by other guests. My wife went to the hairdresser at the hotel to have her hair washed, they also had a problem with the water pressure so the problem seems to be general.
We had our young son with us and stayed three persons in one room but not once did we get three towels or three glasses. The floor in our room was never washed or sweeped during our one week stay.
The staff is friendly and helpful but there is only so much they can do to remedy problems of a fundamental nature.
The prices in the restaurant are ridiculous. The price of a coninental breaksfast, 180 dirhams, will buy you breakfast for a week in any café in town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear steenandersen


Thank you very much indeed for having taken the time to write your opinion on Tripadvisor.

I feel very much sorry for the inconveniences caused in the room.

I wish to assure you that I have taken the appropriate actions to make sure that no other guests experience those types of regretful.

Please accept our sincere apologies.

Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection

Address: Avenue Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#7 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#18 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#20 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a sumptuous Moroccan riad, the facade of the Sofitel Thalassa Essaouira is painted the traditional red of Mogador. Set on the coast, close to the medina, this charming luxury hotel furnished with thuja and lemon wood cabinets, provides direct access to a luxury thalassotherapy centre. Enjoy an unforgettable leisure and fitness break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea And Spa - Mgallery Collection
Accor Thalassa Essaouira
Sofitel Essaouira
Essaouira Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.