We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, needs updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection

Save Saved
You added Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good location, needs updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We have stayed at this property previously when it was known as the Sofitel. The Sofitel chain has since opened a new super-luxury hotel just outside Essouira so this hotel was renamed and passed to another of their brands, probably to avoid confusion of the two. Anyway we decided to try it under the new ownership. In fact not much has changed except that with the passage of time the hotel has become a bit more run down, while its prices have gone up. It is still a very comfortable and convenient place to stay if you prefer a modern hotel to the many riads in Essaouira. The location is good, right across from the beach and a short walk into the old medina. There is a new associated restaurant on the beach across from the hotel. We preferred it to the hotel restaurant. As with all Sofitel - brand hotels world wide there is an outrageous charge to use the hotel internet. But some of these profits need to be put back into modernizing the hotel. (It would also be a good idea when modernization comes to change the colour of the outside. Everything else in Essaouira is white with yellow and blue trim, but somehow this place is pink and sticks out like a sore thumb!) So it's an OK place to stay, but nothing special. It could be a great hotel though if some money was put into improving it. If you stay there try to get a sea view room.

Also we were disappointed to see that the problem of motor cycles in the old medina has got even worse than on our last trip two years ago. Supposedly the medina is for pedestrians only but nobody enforces this rule any more so there are motor cycles buzzing around the narrow lanes all the time. At night it can be quite dangerous. This terrible nuisance spoils the peace and charm of the medina which has always been its main attraction. Everybody was complaining about it two years ago and they are stil complaining about it now but nothing is done about it. Shame on the Essaouria authorities for allowing this lovely World Heritage Site to be desecrated like this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Martha ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Medina Essaouira

Hotel Thalassa sea & spa.

The internet is free available through a secure cable connection in your room,and it is free in all

public areas of the hotel.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your comment

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    266
    227
    83
    32
    13
See reviews for
127
335
34
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The White City. For that to be a name for Essaouira is obvious looking down on it from a hillside viewpoint: dozens of white buildings, including a seaside line-up of modern hotels – all except our Le Medina Essaouira/Thalassa, [Boulevard Mohamed V. (212) 0525 07 2526. Its windows and entrance are outlned in red. It’s a serviceable elevator hotel with a pleasant pool and lunch area and the hotel makes an effort to welcome guests in a personal way, sitting down on a sofa to fill out forms. We had a nice little balcony overlooking the harbor and broad beach. But the service at the pool was both surly and nonexistent. It took three tries over an hour to get a drink. Overall it made us, well, homesick for La Maison Arabe in Marrakech.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are a long, long way around a semi-circle from the elevators. Ask for one close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Jack R

Thank you for taking time to write your review about your stay at Le Médina Essaouira Hôtel Thalassa sea & spa

I have taken note of your comments regarding all the issues you have mentioned and would like to express my sincerest apologies.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the very near future!

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel is situated on the beach front only two minutes walk from the old town but although Le Medina boasts 5 stars and high prices it is not a luxury hotel. General maintnance and cleaning leave a lot to be desired. Tiles are falling out of the bathroom walls and the carpets are disgusting. Worst of all, the showers are not working, a fact that has also been commented on by other guests. My wife went to the hairdresser at the hotel to have her hair washed, they also had a problem with the water pressure so the problem seems to be general.
We had our young son with us and stayed three persons in one room but not once did we get three towels or three glasses. The floor in our room was never washed or sweeped during our one week stay.
The staff is friendly and helpful but there is only so much they can do to remedy problems of a fundamental nature.
The prices in the restaurant are ridiculous. The price of a coninental breaksfast, 180 dirhams, will buy you breakfast for a week in any café in town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear steenandersen


Thank you very much indeed for having taken the time to write your opinion on Tripadvisor.

I feel very much sorry for the inconveniences caused in the room.

I wish to assure you that I have taken the appropriate actions to make sure that no other guests experience those types of regretful.

Please accept our sincere apologies.

Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We booked 3 rooms, all of them were either stuffy and too hot to sleep in or freezing cold. Leaky pipes in the toilets and in the ceiling in one bedroom. Breakfast is rather unacceptable for 18 euros per person, cold coffee and watered down juice (from chemical powder anyway). At check-out we were charged for in room mini bar drinks that we had never touched...So all in all a nice hotel but be prepared for surprises, and it is by no means a 5 star de luxe hotel! I would advise to consider staying there only when the internet rates are reasonable and that guests keep copies of booking references, and keep track of every meal and drink at the hotel so as to prevent being overcharged. Excellent service and food at Dar Dada and Côté Plage.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms boosts extraordinary view, and the promenade in fairly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear flyinglizzie

First I would like to thank you for choosing Le Medina Essaouira Thalassa sea & spa MGallery Collection.

I have taken note of your comments regarding all the issues you have mentioned and would like to express my sincerest apologies.

Thank you for your message, I hope to welcome you home again.

your sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Very efficient check-in, room with sea view was spacious but would benefit from double glazing some nights. Very comfortable bed although bedding not changed in 4 nights! Good size bathroom, separate toilet, very good shower pressure. Excellent buffet choice at breakfast, hot & cold. Ate in the promenade restaurant with beach views, great service and good food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear gemma

First I would like to thank you for choosing Le Medina Essaouira Thalassa sea & spa MGallery Collection.

I have taken note of your comments regarding all the issues you have mentioned and would like to express my sincerest apologies.

Thank you for your message, I hope to welcome you home again.

your sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is spacious and clean, and well located across the road from the beach. Rooms are large and a bit dated. Nice linens and towels. Reception staff are all lovely we felt very welcome here. Nice pool area. Bar is dark and old fashioned.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Stuart A

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa MGallery Collection.

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel, I will transfer your compliments to my staff.
I note your comment about the bar and i will take the necessery actions.

Thank you for your message, I hope to welcome you home again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We had a nice time at the hotel, which has a really nice location, just by the beach, nice view if you have an ocean view room.
What ruined the vacation was that I left my coat in the room, as we left the hotel. I wrote an e-mail and asked the hotel to send it to me, but I didn't even get an answer, not to mention the coat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear AratoFlora

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa.

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel, I will transfer your compliments to my staff.

For your coat imy assistante will check with our housekeeper ,please contact her on +212524479002 or H2967-AM@accor.com for more information .

I would be very pleased to see you again on a next visit at Essaouira.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection

Also Known As:
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea And Spa - Mgallery Collection
Accor Thalassa Essaouira
Sofitel Essaouira
Essaouira Sofitel
Address: Avenue Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#18 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#37 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a sumptuous Moroccan riad, the facade of the Sofitel Thalassa Essaouira is painted the traditional red of Mogador. Set on the coast, close to the medina, this charming luxury hotel furnished with thuja and lemon wood cabinets, provides direct access to a luxury thalassotherapy centre. Enjoy an unforgettable leisure and fitness break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Agoda, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.