We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red Hotel in the White City” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection

Save Saved
You added Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Red Hotel in the White City”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The White City. For that to be a name for Essaouira is obvious looking down on it from a hillside viewpoint: dozens of white buildings, including a seaside line-up of modern hotels – all except our Le Medina Essaouira/Thalassa, [Boulevard Mohamed V. (212) 0525 07 2526. Its windows and entrance are outlned in red. It’s a serviceable elevator hotel with a pleasant pool and lunch area and the hotel makes an effort to welcome guests in a personal way, sitting down on a sofa to fill out forms. We had a nice little balcony overlooking the harbor and broad beach. But the service at the pool was both surly and nonexistent. It took three tries over an hour to get a drink. Overall it made us, well, homesick for La Maison Arabe in Marrakech.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are a long, long way around a semi-circle from the elevators. Ask for one close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Jack R

Thank you for taking time to write your review about your stay at Le Médina Essaouira Hôtel Thalassa sea & spa

I have taken note of your comments regarding all the issues you have mentioned and would like to express my sincerest apologies.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the very near future!

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    293
    246
    90
    33
    13
See reviews for
140
363
38
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antibes, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel is situated on the beach front only two minutes walk from the old town but although Le Medina boasts 5 stars and high prices it is not a luxury hotel. General maintnance and cleaning leave a lot to be desired. Tiles are falling out of the bathroom walls and the carpets are disgusting. Worst of all, the showers are not working, a fact that has also been commented on by other guests. My wife went to the hairdresser at the hotel to have her hair washed, they also had a problem with the water pressure so the problem seems to be general.
We had our young son with us and stayed three persons in one room but not once did we get three towels or three glasses. The floor in our room was never washed or sweeped during our one week stay.
The staff is friendly and helpful but there is only so much they can do to remedy problems of a fundamental nature.
The prices in the restaurant are ridiculous. The price of a coninental breaksfast, 180 dirhams, will buy you breakfast for a week in any café in town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear steenandersen


Thank you very much indeed for having taken the time to write your opinion on Tripadvisor.

I feel very much sorry for the inconveniences caused in the room.

I wish to assure you that I have taken the appropriate actions to make sure that no other guests experience those types of regretful.

Please accept our sincere apologies.

Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We booked 3 rooms, all of them were either stuffy and too hot to sleep in or freezing cold. Leaky pipes in the toilets and in the ceiling in one bedroom. Breakfast is rather unacceptable for 18 euros per person, cold coffee and watered down juice (from chemical powder anyway). At check-out we were charged for in room mini bar drinks that we had never touched...So all in all a nice hotel but be prepared for surprises, and it is by no means a 5 star de luxe hotel! I would advise to consider staying there only when the internet rates are reasonable and that guests keep copies of booking references, and keep track of every meal and drink at the hotel so as to prevent being overcharged. Excellent service and food at Dar Dada and Côté Plage.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms boosts extraordinary view, and the promenade in fairly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear flyinglizzie

First I would like to thank you for choosing Le Medina Essaouira Thalassa sea & spa MGallery Collection.

I have taken note of your comments regarding all the issues you have mentioned and would like to express my sincerest apologies.

Thank you for your message, I hope to welcome you home again.

your sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Very efficient check-in, room with sea view was spacious but would benefit from double glazing some nights. Very comfortable bed although bedding not changed in 4 nights! Good size bathroom, separate toilet, very good shower pressure. Excellent buffet choice at breakfast, hot & cold. Ate in the promenade restaurant with beach views, great service and good food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear gemma

First I would like to thank you for choosing Le Medina Essaouira Thalassa sea & spa MGallery Collection.

I have taken note of your comments regarding all the issues you have mentioned and would like to express my sincerest apologies.

Thank you for your message, I hope to welcome you home again.

your sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is spacious and clean, and well located across the road from the beach. Rooms are large and a bit dated. Nice linens and towels. Reception staff are all lovely we felt very welcome here. Nice pool area. Bar is dark and old fashioned.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Stuart A

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa MGallery Collection.

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel, I will transfer your compliments to my staff.
I note your comment about the bar and i will take the necessery actions.

Thank you for your message, I hope to welcome you home again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We had a nice time at the hotel, which has a really nice location, just by the beach, nice view if you have an ocean view room.
What ruined the vacation was that I left my coat in the room, as we left the hotel. I wrote an e-mail and asked the hotel to send it to me, but I didn't even get an answer, not to mention the coat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear AratoFlora

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa.

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel, I will transfer your compliments to my staff.

For your coat imy assistante will check with our housekeeper ,please contact her on +212524479002 or H2967-AM@accor.com for more information .

I would be very pleased to see you again on a next visit at Essaouira.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesund, Norway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

If you visit Essaouira, which I would recommend; this is the hotel. We arrived by bus from Marrakech, and the hotel is some minutes from the bus station. We didn´t know how far away the hotel was, so we needed someone to take our luggage and show the way. There were a horde of pushing porters, but we managed to walk a bit away and got got it much cheaper. When we left the hotel we took the luggage ourselves.
We stayed at the hotel for four days, and we felt we were in a kind of luxury heaven. The large room and bathroom, spotlessly clean. The balcony overlooking the pool and patio. nice breakfast every day outside or inside the restaurant. And excellent service the whole time, you were taken care of. perfect location for the beach and the Medina.
The hotel has two restaurants where to go to have dinner. Go to the one over the street! We tried the one for dinner at the hotel. Nice food,ok wine and entertainment, but where was the head waiter? I haven´t been to a more disorganized restaurant. We had to wait a long time for everything, and it wasn´t easy to get a waiter to come to your table.And it wasn´t too much to do, there were waiters standing doing nothing..It looked like they didn´t know what tables/tasks they were responsible for. Could this be a bad day because it wasn´t the standard of the hotel?
Essaouira has a more quiet medina, compared to the one in Marrakech, and I think a lot of things are cheaper there. It´s windy, but the hotel area and pool is great. I would also recommend Restaurant Sirocco just outside the Medina.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the pool. Nice to sit on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Google Translation
Cher herodot,

Tout d'abord je tiens à vous remercier d'avoir choisi notre hôtel pour votre séjour à Essaouira.

Je suis sincèrement touché par votre commentaire .

je vous présente mes sincères excuses pour les points que vous avez cité,sachez que toutes les mesures nécessaires ont été prises par nos services .

A très bientôt au Médina Essaouira Hôtel Thalassa sea & spa.

Bien à vous
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection

Address: Avenue Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#7 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#18 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#20 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a sumptuous Moroccan riad, the facade of the Sofitel Thalassa Essaouira is painted the traditional red of Mogador. Set on the coast, close to the medina, this charming luxury hotel furnished with thuja and lemon wood cabinets, provides direct access to a luxury thalassotherapy centre. Enjoy an unforgettable leisure and fitness break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea And Spa - Mgallery Collection
Accor Thalassa Essaouira
Sofitel Essaouira
Essaouira Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.