We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOTS OF LITTLE NIGGLES BUT UNDISTURBED OCEAN VIEW” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection

Save Saved
You added Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Rabat, Morocco
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“LOTS OF LITTLE NIGGLES BUT UNDISTURBED OCEAN VIEW”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We booked 3 rooms, all of them were either stuffy and too hot to sleep in or freezing cold. Leaky pipes in the toilets and in the ceiling in one bedroom. Breakfast is rather unacceptable for 18 euros per person, cold coffee and watered down juice (from chemical powder anyway). At check-out we were charged for in room mini bar drinks that we had never touched...So all in all a nice hotel but be prepared for surprises, and it is by no means a 5 star de luxe hotel! I would advise to consider staying there only when the internet rates are reasonable and that guests keep copies of booking references, and keep track of every meal and drink at the hotel so as to prevent being overcharged. Excellent service and food at Dar Dada and Côté Plage.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms boosts extraordinary view, and the promenade in fairly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear flyinglizzie

First I would like to thank you for choosing Le Medina Essaouira Thalassa sea & spa MGallery Collection.

I have taken note of your comments regarding all the issues you have mentioned and would like to express my sincerest apologies.

Thank you for your message, I hope to welcome you home again.

your sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    266
    227
    83
    32
    13
See reviews for
127
335
34
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Very efficient check-in, room with sea view was spacious but would benefit from double glazing some nights. Very comfortable bed although bedding not changed in 4 nights! Good size bathroom, separate toilet, very good shower pressure. Excellent buffet choice at breakfast, hot & cold. Ate in the promenade restaurant with beach views, great service and good food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear gemma

First I would like to thank you for choosing Le Medina Essaouira Thalassa sea & spa MGallery Collection.

I have taken note of your comments regarding all the issues you have mentioned and would like to express my sincerest apologies.

Thank you for your message, I hope to welcome you home again.

your sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is spacious and clean, and well located across the road from the beach. Rooms are large and a bit dated. Nice linens and towels. Reception staff are all lovely we felt very welcome here. Nice pool area. Bar is dark and old fashioned.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Stuart A

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa MGallery Collection.

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel, I will transfer your compliments to my staff.
I note your comment about the bar and i will take the necessery actions.

Thank you for your message, I hope to welcome you home again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We had a nice time at the hotel, which has a really nice location, just by the beach, nice view if you have an ocean view room.
What ruined the vacation was that I left my coat in the room, as we left the hotel. I wrote an e-mail and asked the hotel to send it to me, but I didn't even get an answer, not to mention the coat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear AratoFlora

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa.

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel, I will transfer your compliments to my staff.

For your coat imy assistante will check with our housekeeper ,please contact her on +212524479002 or H2967-AM@accor.com for more information .

I would be very pleased to see you again on a next visit at Essaouira.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesund, Norway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

If you visit Essaouira, which I would recommend; this is the hotel. We arrived by bus from Marrakech, and the hotel is some minutes from the bus station. We didn´t know how far away the hotel was, so we needed someone to take our luggage and show the way. There were a horde of pushing porters, but we managed to walk a bit away and got got it much cheaper. When we left the hotel we took the luggage ourselves.
We stayed at the hotel for four days, and we felt we were in a kind of luxury heaven. The large room and bathroom, spotlessly clean. The balcony overlooking the pool and patio. nice breakfast every day outside or inside the restaurant. And excellent service the whole time, you were taken care of. perfect location for the beach and the Medina.
The hotel has two restaurants where to go to have dinner. Go to the one over the street! We tried the one for dinner at the hotel. Nice food,ok wine and entertainment, but where was the head waiter? I haven´t been to a more disorganized restaurant. We had to wait a long time for everything, and it wasn´t easy to get a waiter to come to your table.And it wasn´t too much to do, there were waiters standing doing nothing..It looked like they didn´t know what tables/tasks they were responsible for. Could this be a bad day because it wasn´t the standard of the hotel?
Essaouira has a more quiet medina, compared to the one in Marrakech, and I think a lot of things are cheaper there. It´s windy, but the hotel area and pool is great. I would also recommend Restaurant Sirocco just outside the Medina.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the pool. Nice to sit on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Google Translation
Cher herodot,

Tout d'abord je tiens à vous remercier d'avoir choisi notre hôtel pour votre séjour à Essaouira.

Je suis sincèrement touché par votre commentaire .

je vous présente mes sincères excuses pour les points que vous avez cité,sachez que toutes les mesures nécessaires ont été prises par nos services .

A très bientôt au Médina Essaouira Hôtel Thalassa sea & spa.

Bien à vous
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife and I agree: Best hotel experience so far in Morocco.
The hotel staff was particularly hight class and very helpful. The room was clean and tidy and the breakfast by the pool was quite satisfactory.
The location by the beach and the close proximity to the medina of Essaouira added to the positive impression.
But is was the staff that impressed us most. Calm, collected and always helpful. Something we have only experienced in boutique hotels in Asia.

Room Tip: If you like the sound of waves and a magnificent view: Ask for ocean view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Google Translation
Cher FHN21,

Je suis ravi de constater que vous êtes heureux de votre choix ,et que vous apréciez la qualité de service que nous proposons .

J'ai eu le plaisir de partager vos agréables commentaires avec nos équipes ,chose qui represente une récompense à leurs efforts quotidiens .

Notre satisfaction c'est de rendre votre séjour dans notre hôtel magique et inoubliable.

Je souhaite vivement vous acceuillir prochainement dans votre hôtel Le Médina Essaouira Hôtel Thalasa sea & spa .

Bien à vous
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is an above average hotel, but not worthy of top spot. Right by the sea (but across a main road), with its own restaurant (but its associated restaurant across the main road was better. Breakfasts, in the main hotel, outside by the swimming pool (in November) appealed also to the sea-gulls and small birds, who were a nuisance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACHID B, Directeur général at Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Google Translation
Cher stuart B,

Je vous remercie d'avoir choisi de séjourner dans notre établissement , et d'avoir pris le temps de partager avec nous vos commentaires , ceux-ci est très importants car ils nous encouragent pour mieux vous satisfaire.

Je souhaite avoir le plaisir de vous acceuillir lors d'un prochain séjour ,je reste à votre disposition pour toute information complémentaires.

Bien à vous.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection

Also Known As:
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea And Spa - Mgallery Collection
Accor Thalassa Essaouira
Sofitel Essaouira
Essaouira Sofitel
Address: Avenue Mohamed V, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#18 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#37 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a sumptuous Moroccan riad, the facade of the Sofitel Thalassa Essaouira is painted the traditional red of Mogador. Set on the coast, close to the medina, this charming luxury hotel furnished with thuja and lemon wood cabinets, provides direct access to a luxury thalassotherapy centre. Enjoy an unforgettable leisure and fitness break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Agoda, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa sea & spa - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.