We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautful retreat from the busy streets!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Thais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Thais to your Saves list
Riad Thais
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   181 Avenue Sidi Mohamed ben Abdallah | (Ancienne Medina), Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 171 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautful retreat from the busy streets!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Absolutely fantastic Riad! Thais (the owner) is just so helpful and friendly. We couldn't find the Riad so we called her and she came and met us to bring us there herself (and she speaks english, french and spanish)! The rooms are so beautiful and peaceful. Each one has a different feel and all are just stunning. It is the nicest escape from the hustle and bustle madness that can be Morocco :) The breakfast is so delicious and the Riad itself is located on one of the two main streets of the Medina so it's so easy to find it once you know the basic layout of the city. We just cannot recomend this Riad enough (and the hammam they have too!) for location, value for money and just how nice it is to be there! I wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    22
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
71
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rabat, Morocco
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Possibly the best mid-range riad in town... rooms have been arranged creatively to max out space and we loved them all. This is a riad like no other, we loved the creative design, the tadelakt walls and the feel of casual elegance. It was an absolute pleasure to meet Thais and sharing lovely conversation and life stories! Her recommendations are all great, and she has a good feel for what guests expect, so her suggestions are always tailored to individual needs.
All in all, it is an ideal midrange option, providing contemporary and creative interior design worth glossy magazine pictures!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

When you first step into Riad Thais, you feel a warm fuzziness and a sense of calm. This Riad had the clean lines and details of a hip spa with the centerpiece being Fred Flintstone's 21st century fireplace and great chill music in the background to soothe any nerves you may have had while getting off at the bus station.

Thais herself was there to greet us, however a bit of a mix up as she was at the bus station and we were already in the Riad. Nonetheless, an A for effort trying to meet with us at the station. Thais was full of energy and gave us the lowdown of her Riad as well as places to visit and where to eat. She was the perfect host.

We had 2 rooms on the top floor and helpful if you can deconstruct your luggage before making your way up the stairs. The rooms were cozy, clean and quiet. The showers were hot although the water leaked a bit outside of the shower. Besides that, the rooms were comfortable and quiet during the night.

Breakfast was additional and was a combination of juice, local pastries, crepes, fruit and home made yogurt. Great if you had a huge appetite! We were only there for one night, which was a bit unfortunate. Thais was kind enough to help us get a porter and off we went down the wobbly streets of the medina with a nice memory of Riad Thais and Essaouira.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed with Thais for 2 nights after a bit of tripadvisor searching for good places to stay in Essaouira. Thais came across town to meet us when we arrived and took us through Essaouira to her beautiful Riad, a good start!

The Riad itself is convenienty located (everything in Essaouira is quite close together, which helps). Our first impression of the place was very positive - you can tell that a lot of work has gone into this place as attention has gone into many of the details and everything looks neat and tidy. The downstairs area has an open kitchen and a long table to sit at as well as comfortable sofa's on which to lounge or watch TV. There is also an open fireplace, nice to sit close to when it gets a bit colder in the evenings.

When we stayed it was not too busy so we got the chance to see all the rooms and pick which to stay in. All looked great and we ended up staying on the second floor because we liked looking out onto the street.

The rooms are not that big, but given that we spent most of the day exploring, they didn't need to be. The shower and bathroom very perfect for our stay and the bed was extremely comfortable! There was also a little heater in the room which we turned on during the nights, as it can get cold in winter. Most other places we stayed at didn't have any heating so it was quite a luxury!

In the mornings you get a very nice breakfast with fresh fruit, home-made yoghurt, pancakes, bread and tea/coffee.

Finally it must be said that Thais was a fantastic host. She really took her time explaining where everything was and what places were good to eat at etc. Her English is fantastic (she is from Spain originally) and very willing to do anything to make your stay more comfortable. If we came back to Essaouira we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This Riad was one of the best places I've ever stayed at. It has really pretty en luxurious rooms with beautiful furniture. The Hostess is warm and friendly and she's really concerned about the quality of your stay in Essaouira. She knows all the good places. It's also perfectly clean and home-like.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heusden, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed in Thais' house for 5 nights.
The house is beautifully decorated and built, with warm bleached stone walls and a big fireplace. Downstairs there's a long table, a kitchen and seats and a television.
We stayed in the Berber room, on the first floor, a room with a the most beautiful bath i have ever seen, with a faucet in golden iron; very elegant.
On top of the house there's a beautiful terras, where you can take sun, breakfast or read or drink or talk.
I had a fantastic time, in bed, bath, terras and by the fireplace.
Also, you can use the kitchen to cook your food, which you can buy cheaply in the market.
Thank you, Thaïs XXX

Room Tip: The berber room has got a beautiful bath and bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

we stayed 9 wonderful nights in this beautiful riad, breakfast was wonderfully prepared by Fatima, and taken on a long table with the other guests, which was very social and interesting. The owner was great, always on hand with help and advice, and she arranged car hire for us so we could spend a great day out in Safi, with a lovely couple we met that were also staying in the riad. We walked to the beach and harbour every morning which was only 10mins away, and there were loads of reasonable places to eat around. All in all a fabulous place to stay!

Room Tip: each room is different, you can either book a quiet room, or if you want a room with atmosphere ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Thais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Thais

Address: 181 Avenue Sidi Mohamed ben Abdallah | (Ancienne Medina), Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 171 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Thais 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Thais is a charming house in the heart of the Medina of Essaouira perfect to couples, welcome groups of friends or families. Modern in style with a mix of Moroccan and contemporary style, it boasts clean lines, high technology and all the comforts you could require for a memorable stay. The property has been recently completely restored and offers an elegant and comfortable environment. Located on a quiet side street off the main souk area within 5 minutes walk from the splendid white beaches and Moulay Hassan square and a guarded parking area, is an oasis of calm where you can recharge your batteries. There are also several restaurants to hand. The villa has an area of 260 m2 on two floors. There are 5 double bedrooms, 3 on the first floor around the patio and two on the second floor. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms and are differently decorated. There is a spacious dining room, living room, chimney, chill-out corner, kitchen, wall fountain, satellite TV, traditional Hammam and a large roof terrace with a stunning town view and a complimentary wi-fi. A chauffeur can be provided if you wish to visit the beautiful surrounding areas as well as your own chef who can prepare you whatever you want whenever you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Thais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Thais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.