We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Thais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Thais to your Saves list
Riad Thais
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   181 Avenue Sidi Mohamed ben Abdallah | (Ancienne Medina), Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 164 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

we stayed 9 wonderful nights in this beautiful riad, breakfast was wonderfully prepared by Fatima, and taken on a long table with the other guests, which was very social and interesting. The owner was great, always on hand with help and advice, and she arranged car hire for us so we could spend a great day out in Safi, with a lovely couple we met that were also staying in the riad. We walked to the beach and harbour every morning which was only 10mins away, and there were loads of reasonable places to eat around. All in all a fabulous place to stay!

Room Tip: each room is different, you can either book a quiet room, or if you want a room with atmosphere ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    22
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
71
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The bedding, best I've experienced in Morocco. Amazing pillows from a special place in Casablanca it turns-out. The bed also is wonderful. And Thais' breakfasts are beyond fantastic, I hope she opens a cafe next! And you can't beat the location. Plus her intentional avoidance of economic/florecent lights make the ambiance quite delightful.

Being over 6' tall will have serious disadvantages as the rooms are a tad small. Not sure if I was sleeping in a bathroom or bathing in a sleeping room. If there are noisy guests you will hear them very clearly. Especially if they are watching the TV downstairs. Why any Riad would have a TV is beyond me.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Hello

This is a very very beautiful rihad, warm and amazing. We were impressed!! I'll absolute recommend it! Thank you very much Thais!! I'll go back for sure next season. As Essaouira is a nice place to visit and Thaïs rihad the best one to share the experience with family or friends. Also important! They are friendly to pets and that's a very good point for me.
Best regards
Mercè

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayreuth, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We booked the Riad for 2 nights as a group of 11 friends.
Felt like home from the first moment! Very friendly staff and very helpful owner.
GREAT breakfast service and delicious lunch!!!!
Will definitely book it again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Riad Thais is owned by a sweet European couple with a cute little boy. It's fairly new (I heard its generally preferable with Moroccan places to stay), bright and cosy. Our room was minimalistic and stylish. I think it's ideal for 1-3 nights stay. We had two windows, one inside the house and one outside, which overlooked a busy(ish) medina's street below, and I really liked that atmosphere. The bathroom is also perfectly fine. They have a hammam, which you can use free of charge yourselves or for a really small price have someone local to help you -that was one of the nicest experiences for us in Essaouira. What is really nice about riads vs. hotels is that they're usually small so the owners look after you on some way. They can tell you what to do in town, etc. Ours told us about quad biking through beach dunes nearby essaouira and even called to organise a tour. The taxi was called for us, all we had to do us to get in the taxi and pay just for the tour itself on the site, and have a free taxi back. The quad experience by itself was amazing, so I was do grateful to the guys from the Riad for that. All in all, lovely hotel to stay in essaouira with no noticed downsides.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The riad is well located in the Medina and easy to find. The included breakfast was very well prepared by the friendly housekeeper. Another member of staff was very helpful in organising us a taxi back to Marrakech.

The room we stayed in was unfortunately a disappointment.
- The bathroom was located directly in the room meaning it was not very private.
- There were unpleasant smells emanating from the shower drain and mould around the shower.
- There were cockroaches in the bathroom area of the room (we saw 3 of them).
- The room was incredibly warm at night with no air-con or fan (which meant sleeping with the window open and it then being noisy).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

we loved our stay at riad thais! it is conveniently located within the medina, just a few minutes to the beach and plenty of restaurants and cafes on foot.

the ground floor has an open concept layout that makes you feel like you're at home, and the decor is done in excellent taste. our room was really comfortable and the shower design was really cool, however the only thing is that they don't have doors to separate the bathrooms, so it's weird to use the toilet "openly," and water from the shower spills out all over the floors of the room.

but all in all, we loved the look and feel of the place, and the breakfasts were extremely generous and delicious. it's very quiet in the riad, and the kitchen and living room areas are open for the guests to use as they wish. we'd stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Thais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Thais

Address: 181 Avenue Sidi Mohamed ben Abdallah | (Ancienne Medina), Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Thais 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Thais is a charming house in the heart of the Medina of Essaouira perfect to couples, welcome groups of friends or families. Modern in style with a mix of Moroccan and contemporary style, it boasts clean lines, high technology and all the comforts you could require for a memorable stay. The property has been recently completely restored and offers an elegant and comfortable environment. Located on a quiet side street off the main souk area within 5 minutes walk from the splendid white beaches and Moulay Hassan square and a guarded parking area, is an oasis of calm where you can recharge your batteries. There are also several restaurants to hand. The villa has an area of 260 m2 on two floors. There are 5 double bedrooms, 3 on the first floor around the patio and two on the second floor. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms and are differently decorated. There is a spacious dining room, living room, chimney, chill-out corner, kitchen, wall fountain, satellite TV, traditional Hammam and a large roof terrace with a stunning town view and a complimentary wi-fi. A chauffeur can be provided if you wish to visit the beautiful surrounding areas as well as your own chef who can prepare you whatever you want whenever you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Thais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Thais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.