We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Surf & Chill Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Surf & Chill Camp to your Saves list
Surf & Chill Camp
16 Rue Algerie (Bab Marrakech) Old Medina Essaouira, Essaouira 44000, Morocco (Formerly Surf & Lounge Hostel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Oxford
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not as expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed in a lot of hostels around the world & this unfortunately is not the best as previous reviews suggest. Although the location is very good - near main square with cafes, restaurants and beach close by, the facilities were poor.
The kitchen was generally very dirty. One morning we couldn't even get in the kitchen as there was rubbish including food waste and chicken bones as well as a well fed mouse on the floor! Dishes piled up in the sink (you get the idea!). The bedrooms were damp (not just smell but bedsheets were damp to the touch).
However, the shower was hot and the toilet was clean (with plenty of toilet roll!).
For around £7 a night it's difficult to rate this place as its so cheap. We did however, have to eat out 3 times a day which increases costs! I would say its fine for a couple of days, but not for a long period. I cant say I'd stay here again.
Simo the hostel manager is very relaxed & full of useful info. His English is excellent and his day surf trip we'd recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    6
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
8
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The atmosphere is great, not like staying in a hostel/hotel but more like staying at a good freinds house. The host, simo, ist really really kind and if you need help he will be always there to ask. The riad is nice and there is a common kitchen where you can cook.
Its located in the heart of the medina, 5 min to the souks and 5 min to the beach.
I loved to stay there and i will definitely come back in the next time!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, null, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

surf and chill certainly lives up to the name , i intended to spend two days ended up spending four or maybe five cant remember haha , simo the manager is an excellent host , and is always ready to help with anything you need , surf boards are readily avialable and simo is more than happy to show you the best places to surf eat drink party in essaouira which is a very layed back place with a nice vibe and awsome food , s and c attracts a cross section of people , caiters for all levels of surfer or if you just want a relaxing break , no problem , a great hostel i fully recomend it i hope to return someday , enjoy!!

Room Tip: take a hoody or sweater as gets quite cool in the evening , early summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We had randomly chosen the surf and chill hostel and it was a great fluke. At last we spent more days than planned there - with the much-loved Simo ;) and the other guests.
The hostel is clean, there are two bathrooms, the beds are quite comfortable, the staff is really nice so you can ask for everything anytime and it takes just 5 minutes to the beach (across the medina).
I just recommend this great place and will definitely go there again!
best wishes
Kai

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Surf and Chill hostel is a really great place. The location is very nice, close to the sea (5min walking) and the atmosphere ist really pleasent, too- especially because of Simo- he´s the best host! He can show you nice places and locations and helps you with any questions or problems. We stayed longer than planned in the beginning, cause it was the best place we´ve been during our travel. I will definitely come back!
Lisa

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Very friendly atmosphere with the best host SIMO!!! if you ever need any help with anything he will not hesitate to help you out! He's got few attractions in store and always knows the best spots to go to! ('whole in the wall' personal favorite) ;)
The accommodation itself is also very good.
Location is also very convenient with shops all round and 5min walk from the sea!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Had a really good time, Very friendly hostel. Simo is is a great help

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf & Chill Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf & Chill Camp

Address: 16 Rue Algerie (Bab Marrakech) Old Medina Essaouira, Essaouira 44000, Morocco (Formerly Surf & Lounge Hostel)
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf and Chill Hostel offers clean, comfortable accomodation in the medina of Essaouira. Free wifi, healthy breakfast and bath towels provided for all guests. Surf trips, lessons, equipment hire and guiding available as well as evening yoga sessions. Fantastic staff available to advise on surf conditions and where to find the best breaks. Free tea and coffee making facilities as well as hairdryers available on request. Roof terrace with stunning views over Essaouira. Surf and Chill Hostel is located just a short walk from the beach and many of Essaouiras best cafes, restaurants and bars. It is the perfect place to surf or just Chill! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Surf & Chill Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf & Chill Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.