We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most perfect place, with stunning sea views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Perle d'Eau

Save Saved
You added Riad Perle d'Eau to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Perle d'Eau
64 Rue Du Koweit, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 158 Essaouira B&B and Inns
New Forest, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The most perfect place, with stunning sea views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We chose Giselle and Ernest's beautiful riad, based on the wonderful trip advisor reports - and without doubt they are all true.
I don't feel the need to repeat all the previously said superlatives, so in an effort to add to them, we can confirm that Giselle and Ernest (along with Hisham) are wonderful hosts, with a hands on approach, ensuring every guest felt comfortable and welcome.
We arrived early evening, on a rainy night, and not really wanting to explore the town, hunting for somewhere to eat, we enquired if it was too late to eat in. It was, but as we only wanted a light meal, Ernest was extremely accomodating and provided at a very reasonable cost, a soup along with a larger portion of the starter that the dinner guests were having, and it was sensational! - we did not go hungry that night!
This gave us a taster of what their excellent cook is capable of, so we decided to eat in again later in our stay, choosing what we might like to eat, and leaving it to Ernest and Cook to produce the most delicious 4 course meal. As we were the only guests dining in that night, Giselle and Ernest joined us, and we had a most memorable and lovely evening, learning so much about - well, everything!
Ernest's local restaurant recommendations are also spot on and worth trying.
All in all, we had a wonderful stay, and can thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in a good value room in the rear annex, which of course did not have sea views, but was ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    20
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
101
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We escaped the hectic frenzy of Marrakech and chose this riad. What a great choice! It is slightly tucked away so the first time finding it might be fun, but once you do you won't be disappointed. The owners have put a great deal of effort into the aesthetics of the riad, and it is beautiful. The roof terrace is refreshing and when the sun is shining is a great place to pick up a book. The breakfast was enough to fill me up for the morning and the owners were very attentive to our needs. We also indulged in a massage whilst we were there which was very good! They also have a dinner menu which we didn't have but I expect it would have been of a similar standard. Having stayed in other places in Marrakech which were around three times the price you are onto a winner here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Do not miss this Riad its one of the best in Morocco - the owners have paid so much attention to the details when building and furnishing and now running it. From the design and artifacts inside to the view outside and the wonderful hospitality - you will not want to leave.

Room Tip: Pick the ocean view - its more expensive but worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This riad is stunning, tastefully decorated, and run by a delightful Swiss couple. In particular the husband is very entertaining especially in French, although his English is good too. It's a little tricky to find, but this place is just fantastic.

Room Tip: The rooms in the annex are large and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We arrived at Perle D'Eau mid afternoon the week before Christmas for a 4 day stay before heading to Marrakech. Not having been to Morocco before or stayed in a Riad, we didn't really know what to expect. And a week later we can say with confidence that Perle D'Eau must be one of the best Riads in the country. 

It's a wonderful combination of the beauty and friendliness of a Riad with the comfort and luxury of a hotel. Everything, from the lampshades in the room, to the beautifully restored courtyard, to the soap in the bathroom is beautiful. There is a roof terrace that displays the sea, crashing wildly against the wall of the Riad. The beds in the rooms are enormous, and I did wish I'd brought pyjamas as it gets cold in the evenings and the size of the bed makes it hard to snuggle! But everything is immaculate, with wonderful baths and gorgeous decorations in the room. It's just lovely and elegant. 

The other bonus of Perle D'Eau is Ernest and Gisele. They are really fun, full of tips and recommendations about Essaouira and Morocco, and will help you out with anything. And they have had really interesting lives - ask Ernest about being Carpenter of the Year in 1964! And I hope you are lucky enough to visit when Ernest makes his chocolate covered citrus fruit. They know all the restaurants, so get a couple of recommendations, and if you want to buy something in particular, or book a horse riding trip, just ask. They will be very helpful. And eat the fig purée at breakfast! I'm going to miss it - figs are delicious and not a lot of people try it. 

We had a Hamman with the Riad as being a couple, we wouldn't have been able to go into a public Hamman together. They have a heated room downstairs and bring local girls in from a spa in town to scrub you down, shampoo you then massage you with Argan oil. It's a very relaxing experience, and while it's more expensive than the local Hammans, if you are a couple, I recommend it. Ernest again was helpful on how much we should tip them! 

We simply had a wonderful stay and were really sad to leave. Essaouira is a very chilled place and it suited us, although after a while I think we might go a little crazy! We plan on returning, and I really wanted to give Perle D'Eau a bad review to put others off from booking because I think it's going to be hard to get a room soon! But we couldn't - if you want a relaxing weekend with the flavour of Morocco without the hassle you get in Marrakech, head straight to Perle D'Eau in Essaouira. You won't regret it. 

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

As you arrive and walk up the backstreet you come to this smart wooden door. As you go through the door you will be amazed at the contrast. It seems that no expense has been spared in taking a pile of rubble into a beautiful riad.

The owners, Giselle and Ernest both Swiss, spent 4 years creating a magnificent riad facing the sea wall of the Atlantic. We enjoyed breakfast on the roof terrace with the Atlantic sea waves crashing on the rocks below.

Ernest made recommendations each evening at which restaurant we should eat at, each was excellent.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, the one facing the sea must be the best but costs a bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This could be the best riad in the medina of Essaouira. The owners, both Swiss, gutted an old residence and created a magnificent riad facing the sea wall of the Atlantic. As others have written, everything about this riad is magnificent. We especially enjoyed relaxing on the rooftop terrace soaking up the sun, watching the waves crash into the offshore rocks, and listening to the sound of the ocean. What a wonderful way to spend our last days in Morocco.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Perle d'Eau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Perle d'Eau

Address: 64 Rue Du Koweit, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idéalement situé sur les remparts d'Essaouira dominant l'Océan, le Riad Perle d'Eau offre à ses hôtes le luxe d'un hébergement où tout est pensé pour leur confort et leur bien-être : quatre suites, dont trois directement sur l'Atlantique pour les amoureux de la mer, et quatre chambres spacieuses. Salles d'eau avec baignoire ou douche et sèche-cheveux, peignoirs dans les suites, produits d'accueil, coffre-fort. Un patio lumineux avec salon, salle à manger, bibliothèque avec télévision. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Perle d'Eau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Perle d'Eau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.