We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Simply the best!!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Perle d'Eau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Perle d'Eau to your Saves list
Riad Perle d'Eau
64 Rue Du Koweit, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 161 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
1 review
“"Simply the best!!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Do not miss this Riad its one of the best in Morocco - the owners have paid so much attention to the details when building and furnishing and now running it. From the design and artifacts inside to the view outside and the wonderful hospitality - you will not want to leave.

Room Tip: Pick the ocean view - its more expensive but worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    24
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
112
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This riad is stunning, tastefully decorated, and run by a delightful Swiss couple. In particular the husband is very entertaining especially in French, although his English is good too. It's a little tricky to find, but this place is just fantastic.

Room Tip: The rooms in the annex are large and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We arrived at Perle D'Eau mid afternoon the week before Christmas for a 4 day stay before heading to Marrakech. Not having been to Morocco before or stayed in a Riad, we didn't really know what to expect. And a week later we can say with confidence that Perle D'Eau must be one of the best Riads in the country. 

It's a wonderful combination of the beauty and friendliness of a Riad with the comfort and luxury of a hotel. Everything, from the lampshades in the room, to the beautifully restored courtyard, to the soap in the bathroom is beautiful. There is a roof terrace that displays the sea, crashing wildly against the wall of the Riad. The beds in the rooms are enormous, and I did wish I'd brought pyjamas as it gets cold in the evenings and the size of the bed makes it hard to snuggle! But everything is immaculate, with wonderful baths and gorgeous decorations in the room. It's just lovely and elegant. 

The other bonus of Perle D'Eau is Ernest and Gisele. They are really fun, full of tips and recommendations about Essaouira and Morocco, and will help you out with anything. And they have had really interesting lives - ask Ernest about being Carpenter of the Year in 1964! And I hope you are lucky enough to visit when Ernest makes his chocolate covered citrus fruit. They know all the restaurants, so get a couple of recommendations, and if you want to buy something in particular, or book a horse riding trip, just ask. They will be very helpful. And eat the fig purée at breakfast! I'm going to miss it - figs are delicious and not a lot of people try it. 

We had a Hamman with the Riad as being a couple, we wouldn't have been able to go into a public Hamman together. They have a heated room downstairs and bring local girls in from a spa in town to scrub you down, shampoo you then massage you with Argan oil. It's a very relaxing experience, and while it's more expensive than the local Hammans, if you are a couple, I recommend it. Ernest again was helpful on how much we should tip them! 

We simply had a wonderful stay and were really sad to leave. Essaouira is a very chilled place and it suited us, although after a while I think we might go a little crazy! We plan on returning, and I really wanted to give Perle D'Eau a bad review to put others off from booking because I think it's going to be hard to get a room soon! But we couldn't - if you want a relaxing weekend with the flavour of Morocco without the hassle you get in Marrakech, head straight to Perle D'Eau in Essaouira. You won't regret it. 

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

As you arrive and walk up the backstreet you come to this smart wooden door. As you go through the door you will be amazed at the contrast. It seems that no expense has been spared in taking a pile of rubble into a beautiful riad.

The owners, Giselle and Ernest both Swiss, spent 4 years creating a magnificent riad facing the sea wall of the Atlantic. We enjoyed breakfast on the roof terrace with the Atlantic sea waves crashing on the rocks below.

Ernest made recommendations each evening at which restaurant we should eat at, each was excellent.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, the one facing the sea must be the best but costs a bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This could be the best riad in the medina of Essaouira. The owners, both Swiss, gutted an old residence and created a magnificent riad facing the sea wall of the Atlantic. As others have written, everything about this riad is magnificent. We especially enjoyed relaxing on the rooftop terrace soaking up the sun, watching the waves crash into the offshore rocks, and listening to the sound of the ocean. What a wonderful way to spend our last days in Morocco.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The mayhem of the inner walls of Essaouira does not prepare you for what is behind one single door, absolutely lovely rooms particularly if you stay in the ones with a view of the Atlantic. Giselle and Ernest are very helpful, breakfasts adequate and plentiful but could just mix them up a bit with more variety. The hammam here is essential as if you have never had one please please try and you will feel a new person, had one together and it was a lovely experience.
Suggested restaurants provided by the owners were very good particularly the Le Sirocco, Restaurant d'Orient et d'Ailleurs (host Lawrence) and the very interesting Caravane Cafe (this is an excellent restaurant) but bookings are essential. All good value with the Caravane due to its eclectic worthwhile menu a little more expensive. Riad Perle is extra special and the owners have completed a wonderful renovation, lovely rooftop area but the views are worth the cost alone. Simply enjoy.

Room Tip: Worth the Atlantic Ocean rooms and the hammam is a very special treat with this lovely riad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I can only repeat what the other contributors have said. If you are staying in Essaouira Perle d’Eau is THE place to stay. Simply wonderful, great hosts where nothing is too much trouble and views to die for. Spend a bit more and get a room with a sea view, fantastic. The Riad is situated in the Medina and close to all you will want to see. Take a walk on the beach but be careful of the tide you will probably be on your own for miles. We enjoyed it so much we will be returning next year, can't wait.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Perle d'Eau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Perle d'Eau

Address: 64 Rue Du Koweit, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idéalement situé sur les remparts d'Essaouira dominant l'Océan, le Riad Perle d'Eau offre à ses hôtes le luxe d'un hébergement où tout est pensé pour leur confort et leur bien-être : quatre suites, dont trois directement sur l'Atlantique pour les amoureux de la mer, et quatre chambres spacieuses. Salles d'eau avec baignoire ou douche et sèche-cheveux, peignoirs dans les suites, produits d'accueil, coffre-fort. Un patio lumineux avec salon, salle à manger, bibliothèque avec télévision. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Prestigia so you can book your Riad Perle d'Eau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Perle d'Eau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.