We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Farachah

Al Farachah
24 , rue Iraq | Par Bab Marrakech 3eme Ruelle a Gauche Ferme Samedi, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
+212 654-480078
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 198 Restaurants in Essaouira
Cuisines: Moroccan, Tapas, Vegan, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: In a riad magnificent, a new cooking Moroccan but also traditional(nouvelle cuisine).Reservations from 4:30 am ferme le samedi soir
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A lovely evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a lovely meal at Al Farachah, even if it did test our school level French (the waitress spoke no English). The restaurant is one of the many in Morroco that is a hidden gem in an otherwise nondescript alleyway. Luckily the Trip Advidor directions were perfect and it was not hard to find. The decor was perfect; a mix of muted and vibrant colours, Moroccan charm with a contemporary twist. The menu had good choices for all courses with good seafood (as one would expect of a coastal town). Our waitress was charming and helped us to improve our French language skills! We picked the chef's selection of starters which did not disappoint; about five selections all tasty and just the right amount. We both had seafood main courses, one of which was a tagine. We shared a dessert of chocolate tart and nougat ice cream which was delicious.

All in all a thoroughly enjoyable evening which with wine was less than drms 1,000.

We would definitely go back again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    28
    11
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wemmel
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent new Moroccan cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This time we were there with friends and it was again a very nice experience. We enjoyed the food and the company of the owner who also gave us some very good tips that enhanced the pleasure of our stay in Essaouira. Regrettably we were the only guests and therefore the atmosphere was a little bit sad.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Modern take on traditional Moroccan cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Most places in Essaouira offer good quality, standard tagines and other Moroccan dishes, but Al Farachah offers a contemporary, experimental alternative.

Set in a beautifully converted riad with restaurant on the ground floor and a bar on the first floor (which we didn't visit), decorated in a slightly minimal yet traditional style.

We shared the first course, which was a tasting plate comprising a small onion tart, some soup, some tiny vegetable pastries and a selection of avocado, aubergine and olive 'dips', all of which were absolutely delicious.

My chicken and vegetable tagine was subtly flavoured and perfectly cooked, though as with every single piece of chicken I ate in Essaouira, it was really quite tough, which I presume is more to do with the chicken than the cooking. My husband was raving about his fish dish which again was incredibly tasty and very well cooked and presented.

The only thing that would have improved the visit was perhaps another waitress / waiter, as our hostess was delightful and very welcoming but a little stretched as the restaurant got busier.

Overall, a welcome change from the more traditional Moroccan experience with genuinely interesting food, stylish surroundings and a warm welcome.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely food with memorable decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

My father and I went for dinner on a Monday evening in January so busy it wasn't. However the we were warmly greeted by the French host and as we don't speak French we had a great time communicating. Our hostess was very understanding( we were the only customers in at this point). The starters were tasty and full of flavour and both our mains were succulent. I had a lamb tagine and father a fish dish. Good value dining and worth a visit. It would generate a great atmosphere when busy I am sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very lilac but good food and cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The service and hospitality was good. There was not a lot of English spoken by the owner and our french was minimal but we got by without any problems. The mojito was very good and the food was modern mixed with Morocco. It also had modern decor with small touches that made it individual.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Farachah also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Al Farachah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Farachah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.