We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Diamar

Save Saved
You added Dar Diamar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Diamar
BP Essaouira, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 158 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Dar Diamar is a stunning place to stay. Beautiful rooms, fabulous pool and wonderful views. It's located about 15 minutes via car from Essaouira and after the hustle and bustle of The Medina, it's the perfect place to unwind.

What makes it particularly special is the wonderful hosts and the amazing food. Mireille and Jerome made us feel so welcome and I could quite happily eat their chefs amazing food every day! I would definitely go back, but would hire a car as relying on taxis to get around can become quite expensive.

An absolute pleasure in every respect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed at Dar Diamar for two nights with a group of friends and we absolutely loved this place.
The lovely hosts created an European/oriental paradise where you feel at home right away.

We were welcomed late in the evening with an extraordinary menu at the terrace right under an old olive tree, charming conversations and great moroccan wine.

The rooms we stayed in (amande and paprika) have the benefit of an external entrance and private terraces. As the whole building, their decor is chic and elegant with lots of moroccan elements - all embedded in a beautiful garden. A perfect environment to relax.

The hosts and the whole staff were as helpful and hospitable as possible - explaining the area, giving advise on the best routes, making dinner reservations, preparing a delicious lunch and a rich breakfast (including homemade cake and morrocan pancakes).

Well yes, it's located in the middle of nowhere and you have to drive around 30 min. to Essaouira. However, you are surrounded by the beautiful, almost tuscany-like scenery and you hear nothing but a few donkeys during the night. :-) We did not miss the city for one second.

I therefore highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

My son and I stayed at Dar Diamar this past January and this was surely one of my best vacations. It was our first time in Morocco and we started a two week tour of the country by relaxing in Essaouira for a few days. It's hard to describe,one needs to experience the combined feeling of luxury, calm and overall well-being in this beautiful and relaxing environment. Beautiful house, cozy chic bedrooms, exquisite food and warm hosts eager to share their home and their love of Morocco with their guests. I highly recommend this as a place for a solo traveler, couples or small groups. I will surely return.

Room Tip: I would suggest arranging with the recommendation of the hosts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011 via mobile

We stayed for a week in august and loved it. Great location, easy to get to Essauira or Marakesh, fantastic house and very good food, in fact the best we had in morocco. The hosts are lovely, the pool is great, the room was beautiful. We had the most relaxing time and will go there again!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoLondon2603
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

I have stayed at Dar Diamar two weeks this summer and this was probably the best travelling experience I have had. The house is superb and uniquely mixes tradition and originality, the hosts are wonderful, the pool is perfect and above all the food was magical!
Dar Diamar is both a relaxing venue for some farniente holidays as well as a great base for some travelling around to Marrakech, Agadir, or the desert. Essaouira is I believe the best town in the whole country and an amazing spot for both cultural tourism and thrilling activities (quad biking, camel riding, kite surfing...).
This is a DEFINITE recommend!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Diamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Diamar

Address: BP Essaouira, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few kilometres from Essaouira and protected from the strong north winds, Dar Diamar overlooks the hills of Heharta.Its elevated position offers views of the Atlas mountains as well as glints of the Atlantic Ocean.Set in one hectare of walled gardens with century old olive trees this Maison d’Hôte is a fine example of local craftsmanship using tradition and materials in a harmonious dialogue with an architecture reminiscent of Frank Lloyd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Diamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Diamar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.