We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Asklou

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Essaouira
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Asklou
Rue Chbanate 190, Essaouira, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 148 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Sutton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Majid was the perfect host. This was a brilliant place to stay and I was sorry that we were not able to stay longer than one night. It is easy to find and nicely located, Essaouira is so much better than Marrakech, much less frantic and laid back. This is the best value for the money we paid and although a budget hotel, the service was the best I have experienced. I think we will skip Marrakech next time and head straight for Dar Asklou. I hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Excellent value. Nice room. Very helpful and friendly host. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Dar Asklou is a nice riad, where you'll find a good atmosphere. The owner (Majid) is very friendly and he knows lot of things about Essaouira. He gives goods advices for your visit, and if he as time, he also can show you some nice places in the medina. The riad is near all of the places to see : for example you are about 10 minutes by feet from the sqala (near the sea). You can also ask for eat at the riad for the evening, the cooking is delicious. The breakfasts are also good : for example, there is fresh juice every morning! I spend a really great moment in this place, and if I come back once in Essaouira, I'd definitely come back again at Dar Asklou!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

This is a great place to stay. The owners can give you really good advice of things to do and day trips from Essaouira that you would not find out by yourself. Also they know a lot about the history of the town that make looking around much more fun. Finally, breakfast is good and they vary the food everyday so you get something a bit different. I thoroughly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassel, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We had a wonderful time at this small house right in the middle of the Medina of Essaouira. The atmosphere is very private and friendly. We stayed in one of the 4 guestrooms that are nicely decorated, very clean and calm. The house is owend by a Belgian who has travelled to Morocco for more than ten years and run by a young Moroccan who is always open for questions. You won't feel as if you where in a "normal" hostel or guest house but rather at home. Once you step out of the small street it is not far to the busy streets with the small shops and the Market at Souq Jdid or the big square of Essaouira.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Asklou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Asklou

Address: Rue Chbanate 190, Essaouira, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Asklou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dar Asklou to your Saves list