We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, food just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Rencontre

La Rencontre
88, rue Laaluj, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
+212 5 24 47 66 17
Update restaurant details
Ranked #150 of 175 restaurants in Essaouira
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Italian, Moroccan, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
uk
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
“Great view, food just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

This is a restaurant/cafe on multiple levels. When you go in, you have to climb 3 or 4 flights of stairs if you want to eat on the roof terrace, but it is worth it. The views are great. However, not all the tables are shaded so in the middle of the day, even in October, it was too hot to sit in for long and we had to move.

They offer a good value set menu which was perfectly acceptable, though nothing out of the ordinary. However they forgot about my dessert and had to be reminded. Very friendly, pleasant service though, if not exactly on the ball (but slow, relaxed service is the norm in Morocco, and it's not such a bad thing when you're on holiday.)

On the whole, I'd agree with other reviewers who have recommended this as more of a place to have a drink and a sit down rather than a full meal. But you could do worse than eat here.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

32% Recommend
    10
    8
    11
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
bavaria
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“better for just drinks on the terrace with a view of the sea and old city walls”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

funky modern decoration, which was unexpected of a "womens cooperative" (according to our guide), the resto is multilevel on the edge of town right by the canons of the old city wall.

The tagines were tiny (especially the shrimp tagine), pastilla bland and floppy, pizza burnt. But you can get cold drinks (my group was happy for a few of the small beers in the sunshine) and enjoy the view.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxor, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not so wonderful experiences...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

The service was poor. They seemed unsure who was going to serve as a waiter. Eventually a gentleman presented himself. He was adequate, however, with only three tables to wait, I would have expected better. The gentleman didn't even seem a waiter and there were two other waitresses. I will just say that my service wasn't quite right.

The food and drinks were not right. My wife complained about her orange juice, she said they added sugar to the fresh squeezed juice. I know there is a stereotype about moroccans loving sugar, but we have never experienced this one before with juice. Sugar is for tea or coffee.

The food, my pastilla was very adequate, everyone else was jealous. It was flaky, although layer wise it was questionable. But this is my first pastilla in Morocco, so maybe that is the way it is done. I had something simular before with many more layers. Overall I would say it was tasty but could have been a bit more on portion size.

The tangine my wife got was both bland and uninspiring. She was very underwhelmed. The taste I had was not awful but it was one of the worst we have had. The kids pizza was laughable. The sauce was a sugar tomato blend that they didn't even want to finish. I have had wonderful pizza in Essaouira, so there is no excuse for something that tasted so poor the kids didn't want to finish it. The price for the meal was on the medium to high side for Essaouira. So this isn't a value meal.

Overall I would say that the view is beautiful but the meal is poor.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essaouira, Morocco
2 reviews
“very bad restaurant that offers foodpoisoning”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

i am sorry to say that only the view in this restaurant is great. Unfortunately we went here to eat, to try it again with the new owners and we ended up with frequent trips to the bathroom. The atmosphere was also not nice and the staff not very interested in the guests; wearing earphones and no music. The food looked not very good, tasted even worse and the table was full of breadrests from previous guests. i would not advise you to go there even if you are extremly hungry.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very nice location on the roof terrace”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Especially the view was great overlooking the ramparts and the ocean. Food was OK

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Rencontre also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Rencontre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Rencontre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.