We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Bab Essaouira

Save Saved
You added Riad Bab Essaouira to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Hotelsclick.com
and 2 more sites!
Riad Bab Essaouira
35 biss derb Abderahman Eddakhil, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Coolest Essaouira Deal
Ranked #17 of 148 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A real treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This was our first visit to Morocco and Olivier, patron of Riad Bab, made everything so easy and welcoming with a string of friendly and helpful emails before we arrived and arranged for a driver to meet us at Marrakech airport and drive us to the beautiful fishing port of Essaouira, two and a half hours away. Momo and Yousef were waiting for the taxi and carried our bags through the medina to Riad Bab. And what a gorgeous place it was: a tiny but perfectly formed riad in the heart of the medina with three sets of rooms (bedroom, sitting room, bathroom) on each plus the communal breakfast area and beautiful sun terrace with views across the rooftops to the sea. The delicious -- and complimentary -- dinner cooked and served in the riad that first evening (a tagine of sardine boletti) and washed down with excellent local Morrocan wine was so good that we ate in for a further two nights. We were so well looked after and offered delicious freshly squeezed orange juice, mint tea or coffee whenever we appeared. Breakfasts were served at whatever time we woke up (one day 9am, another 10:30am) and were plentiful and tasty with croissants, pancakes, bread, omelettes and fruit -- yes, all of this! The rooms are spotless, the matresses firm and the bed linen crisp and good quality. Each bedroom has a huge flat screen TV which made my husband very happy. Wifi is free and fast throughout the building. Paintings by artist-in-residence Said are hung on every wall and decorate the doors, adding a special touch. We were always greeted with smiles and advised about the best hamam or restaurant, what we should pay for babouche in the souk or ride on the beach. Yousef came with me unbidden to the bus station to help me buy tickets to Marrakech and, when the legendary wind became too cool and we wondered whether we should leave a day early to enjoy two nights instead of one in the relatively warmer Marrakech, Olivier was completely unfazed and flexible and couldn't have been more willing to embrace our new plan. We were so well looked after we were made to feel like old family friends, and we shall definitely return.

Room Tip: All three were lovely. Those on the first and second floors are identical with larger shower/bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    1
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
28
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

I have just returned from my fourth trip to Morocco, having stayed yet another time in Riad Bab Essaouira. This unique Riad is comfortable and clean and is conveniently situated in the centre of the medina. The rooms are on individual floors and include seating areas, separate bedroom and shower room.....like a small apartment. The roof terrace with comfortable sofas has views looking out across the whole of Essaouira....beautiful at night.
My stay included a huge breakfast of fresh orange juice, eggs, Morroccan style crepes, and a selection of croissants and coffee......all delicious! I was invited to join Oliver and Said and some other guests for a meal one evening. We had a great night and it was the best food that I have had during my stay in Morocco.
I am a single woman travelling alone, and Oliver and Said were very welcoming and made me feel totally relaxed and at ease in their company....and I love it there!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We just left Bab Essaouira and were so happy with our stay we couldnnt wait till we got home to write a review. Definitely the best decor of any hotel we had in morocco. And the service was amazing. Very personal. Said picked us up at the bus and gave us a hug as we left three days later. It felt like we were leaving his home after a visit. Oliver was also very friendly and laid back. Great roof terrace and clean rooms. Nice sitting area with couches. There are only three rooms in the place and we had the place to ourselves for two nights.

They really made the end of our stay in morocco relaxing and fun.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We took this for New year and fllled it up with friends. I felt like we were at home. So relaxed - the staff all so friendly and great food. The design and artwork is so beautiful and unique. This is the ideal place to either rent the whole riad and take over as a party - or take just one room. Its small, intimate and very special indeed with a roof terrace that looks over the whole medina. Ive stayed all over essouria and this is up there in my favourites... we arrived for a night and stayed for a week... don't miss it!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

My boyfriend and I just spent 3 nights at this wonderful riad in Essaouira. The service was really great, Said helped us organise everything we wanted and showed us wonderful places to eat in Essaouira. The riad is in a great location in the centre of the medina and everything you want to see is within walking distance. The atmosphere at the Riad is very relaxed and laid back and you feel like you're staying in a good friend's home. We stayed in the owner's other Riad in Marrakech (Dar Najat) and LOVED it there too. The art work throughout all the Riad's is by a local artist and it's very unique and beautiful.

Overall, I would highly recommend staying here, we can't wait to return to the chilled out town of Essaouira and we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

My wife and I wanted a short break during our Marrakech holiday and decided to book a two night stay in Riad bab Essaouira. This turned out to be a fantastic decision and we wish that we had arranged more time in Essaouira. The riad is located in the middle of the old medina, some 5 min away from the beach, positioned in a quite side street; there was little noise in the daytime and absolutely none at night. We had booked the room at the top of the house which comprised of a large double bed, on-suite WC/shower, sitting area, and included a large flat screen TV, it also had its own small private terrace with a couple of sun lounges. There is an additional larger roof terrace with surrounding sofas. The riad contains four floors with rooms on levels 1, 2 and 4 with a kitchen and sitting/dining area on level 3 (There is also a kitchen on the ground floor). All rooms in the Riad bab Essaouira are superb, but for a family or small group requiring perhaps three rooms it would be a dream. We are certainly considering this option for our next visit.
This house is typical of an old medina converted establishment, the building being tall and narrow, so you need to be able to climb a number of stairs to access your room, but the climb is worth it. The standard of cleanliness and the quality of the décor was first class and the level of service provided by the staff (Siad in particular) was outstanding, they just couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was served efficiently and excellent in quality and quantity. We constantly felt that it was a privilege to be a quest. The location of the riad is ideal for everything, from restaurants, bars, markets, beach, and the fishing port, although you must appreciate that it is within the city walls and so cars/trucks are excluded (Nearest car park is at the port, approximately 2-3 minutes walk).

Essaouira (Old city only. I cannot comment on the new city development) is a charming venue with an extensive souk, large sandy beach and a fantastic old active fishing port. If you like seafood, as we do, it is heaven! The quality of the seafood is superb, taken straight from the boats as they arrive and served as you request it. If seafood is not your choice then there are plenty of restaurants serving every other type of food you can imagine. Bars are plentiful where you can sit drinking your soft drink or tea/coffee for as long as you wish without hassle.
There are numerous sporting/leisure activities available, with windsurfing being the most popular.

It is our view that if you are looking for a relaxing break in a fabulous riad with unbelievably good food and service then Riad bab Essaouira would be our recommendation.

Room Tip: Top floor if you want most privacy, but you need to be prepared to climb a number of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed at this riad for 3 nights, it was so relaxing there. The riad is located in the middle of the medina. We took the supertours bus from Marrakech and we were met at the coach station by a member of staff who took us to the riad.

The riad is located in a quite part of the medina, it was very nice and really peaceful there. The staff were very friendly and we were left to ourselves when we wanted, it almost felt like our own holiday home.

The riad is a 5 minutes walk away from the beach, there are lots of cafes nearby and you are a minutes walk away from the souks.

Essaouira itself is a very relaxing seaside town, nobody is rushing around and the relaxed atmosphere rubs off on you. By the end of the 3 days we felt so "chilled out" we nearly missed our coach back to Marrakech.

This is a great riad and credit has to be given to its owner, we will definetly be going back there on our next trip to Morocco.

Room Tip: You can book on the riads own website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Bab Essaouira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bab Essaouira

Address: 35 biss derb Abderahman Eddakhil, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essaouira’s best luxury guest house. Member of the "Coolest Riads" group. Fantastic location, design and team. Incredible 360° views on ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Riad Bab Essaouira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Bab Essaouira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.