We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST RIAD IN ESSAUIRA!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Bab Essaouira

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Bab Essaouira to your Saves list
Riad Bab Essaouira
35 biss derb Abderahman Eddakhil, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Coolest Essaouira Deal
Ranked #39 of 160 Essaouira B&B and Inns
LONDON
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“BEST RIAD IN ESSAUIRA!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We took this for New year and fllled it up with friends. I felt like we were at home. So relaxed - the staff all so friendly and great food. The design and artwork is so beautiful and unique. This is the ideal place to either rent the whole riad and take over as a party - or take just one room. Its small, intimate and very special indeed with a roof terrace that looks over the whole medina. Ive stayed all over essouria and this is up there in my favourites... we arrived for a night and stayed for a week... don't miss it!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    3
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
35
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

My boyfriend and I just spent 3 nights at this wonderful riad in Essaouira. The service was really great, Said helped us organise everything we wanted and showed us wonderful places to eat in Essaouira. The riad is in a great location in the centre of the medina and everything you want to see is within walking distance. The atmosphere at the Riad is very relaxed and laid back and you feel like you're staying in a good friend's home. We stayed in the owner's other Riad in Marrakech (Dar Najat) and LOVED it there too. The art work throughout all the Riad's is by a local artist and it's very unique and beautiful.

Overall, I would highly recommend staying here, we can't wait to return to the chilled out town of Essaouira and we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

My wife and I wanted a short break during our Marrakech holiday and decided to book a two night stay in Riad bab Essaouira. This turned out to be a fantastic decision and we wish that we had arranged more time in Essaouira. The riad is located in the middle of the old medina, some 5 min away from the beach, positioned in a quite side street; there was little noise in the daytime and absolutely none at night. We had booked the room at the top of the house which comprised of a large double bed, on-suite WC/shower, sitting area, and included a large flat screen TV, it also had its own small private terrace with a couple of sun lounges. There is an additional larger roof terrace with surrounding sofas. The riad contains four floors with rooms on levels 1, 2 and 4 with a kitchen and sitting/dining area on level 3 (There is also a kitchen on the ground floor). All rooms in the Riad bab Essaouira are superb, but for a family or small group requiring perhaps three rooms it would be a dream. We are certainly considering this option for our next visit.
This house is typical of an old medina converted establishment, the building being tall and narrow, so you need to be able to climb a number of stairs to access your room, but the climb is worth it. The standard of cleanliness and the quality of the décor was first class and the level of service provided by the staff (Siad in particular) was outstanding, they just couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was served efficiently and excellent in quality and quantity. We constantly felt that it was a privilege to be a quest. The location of the riad is ideal for everything, from restaurants, bars, markets, beach, and the fishing port, although you must appreciate that it is within the city walls and so cars/trucks are excluded (Nearest car park is at the port, approximately 2-3 minutes walk).

Essaouira (Old city only. I cannot comment on the new city development) is a charming venue with an extensive souk, large sandy beach and a fantastic old active fishing port. If you like seafood, as we do, it is heaven! The quality of the seafood is superb, taken straight from the boats as they arrive and served as you request it. If seafood is not your choice then there are plenty of restaurants serving every other type of food you can imagine. Bars are plentiful where you can sit drinking your soft drink or tea/coffee for as long as you wish without hassle.
There are numerous sporting/leisure activities available, with windsurfing being the most popular.

It is our view that if you are looking for a relaxing break in a fabulous riad with unbelievably good food and service then Riad bab Essaouira would be our recommendation.

Room Tip: Top floor if you want most privacy, but you need to be prepared to climb a number of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed at this riad for 3 nights, it was so relaxing there. The riad is located in the middle of the medina. We took the supertours bus from Marrakech and we were met at the coach station by a member of staff who took us to the riad.

The riad is located in a quite part of the medina, it was very nice and really peaceful there. The staff were very friendly and we were left to ourselves when we wanted, it almost felt like our own holiday home.

The riad is a 5 minutes walk away from the beach, there are lots of cafes nearby and you are a minutes walk away from the souks.

Essaouira itself is a very relaxing seaside town, nobody is rushing around and the relaxed atmosphere rubs off on you. By the end of the 3 days we felt so "chilled out" we nearly missed our coach back to Marrakech.

This is a great riad and credit has to be given to its owner, we will definetly be going back there on our next trip to Morocco.

Room Tip: You can book on the riads own website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We had a 2 night break at this riad, it was all organised Oliver (the owner) whilst we were in Marrakech staying at his other riad (riad dar najat). This riad is so nice, it is in a very peaceful part of the medina, it is far away from any noise but close enough to the shops and all of the main attractions.

Essaouira is known as the sleepy coastal town, the name is so true as everything is so peaceful and relaxing here. The people of the medina are so friendly, everything is cheap and the food is great.

Our room had a double bed and had a private bathroom, it also had a flat screen tv and free WIFI. We also had our own private lounge which was a nice touch. There were 2 kitchens at the riad and we could use any of the facilities as we wanted. The riad has a lovely roof terrace were you can relax and watch the sun go down over the Atlantic Ocean.

We tried out the quad biking in Essaouira, we used Palmaquad and we would recommend them as they were very safety consious and had new quad bikes.

We loved Riad Bab Essaoira and will be returning there on our next visit to Essaouira.

Room Tip: Book directly with the owner, Oliver
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed at this riad for 3 nights, and wow what an experience is was. The location was great, it was in a quite street but still in the middle of the old medina of Essaouira. The riad itself was really nice, it is decorated all over with original African artwork. The riad was clean and kept to a high standard.

The staff at this riad are very friendly, they were happy to assist us with whatever we needed. They were even happy to take us around the medina to help us get our bearings, a really nice touch.

Our room was really nice, it had a flat screen TV fitted on the wall and its own bathroom. There was a really nice roof terrace at the riad which was great to chillout on in the evening and to watch the sun come down over the Atlantic Ocean, an experience not to be missed.

The riad is close to everything is Essaouira, the cafes, the beach, the old fort. We will definitely go back and stay at this riad, it is great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

The service was excellent and staff went out of their way to be helpful. I found the rooms quiet, clean and well maintained. The splendid view from the riad’s terrace of the quaint and historical city of Essaouira and the ocean is a must see. The owner, Olivier, is super helpful and will arrange trips, guides, transport and even introduce you to business contacts if that is what you are looking for (the city has many very talented artisans). Additionally, the riad offers a self-catering facility so you’re really flexible. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Bab Essaouira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bab Essaouira

Address: 35 biss derb Abderahman Eddakhil, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essaouira’s best luxury guest house. Member of the "Coolest Riads" group. Fantastic location, design and team. Incredible 360° views on ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Bab Essaouira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Bab Essaouira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.