We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saved Save
You added Dar_Zette to your Saves list.
Dar Zette, A special riad in the heart of Essaouira's Medina. Sleeps 8: 4 Dbl bedrooms,  3 bath
Dar Zette, A special riad in the heart of Essaouira's Medina. Sleeps 8: 4 Dbl bedrooms, 3 bath
Dar Zette, A special riad in the heart of Essaouira's Medina. Sleeps 8: 4 Dbl bedrooms,  3 bath
Courtyard with fountain and olive tre, leading into the salon
Looking upwards from the courtyard, riad split over 4 floors
First floor covered terrace, the riad is recently built but using traditional methods and materials.
One of the 4 double bedrooms, all with lots of light
Essaouira
|
Rental Home – 
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
picnic b
timaru
1 review
“Simply fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We recently enjoyed our second stay at Dar Zette. The place is peaceful, beautifully decorated, stunningly spacious and simply magical – after a day in Essaouira you can step off the bustling street into absolute calm either in the courtyard, the living room or one of the terraces.
The people looking after us at Dar Zette were wonderful, too. Foued was extremely helpful and was available whenever we needed him by phone or in person – most importantly he let us in on cultural customs of how to deal with tradesmen. Sadya kept the place lovely and cooked a fabulous tagine with us on our “night in”. The rest of the time we enjoyed the town’s varied and exceptional restaurants. Not much more to say really, the best value for money we have experienced yet in Morocco and we will be back!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Staff service, peacefulness
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Susie S
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

After the heat and bustle of Marrakech, it was a relief to arrive at Dar Zette. A rooftop for sunlovers but wonderfully cool shade and a refreshing breeze on the balcony and in the comfortable rooms so all we needed for a relaxing week. Lots of places to eat out within the colourful medina and loads of bargains in the souk.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everthing within walking distance
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
penny t
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A beautiful oasis of calm - ideal for relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011 for a stay in October 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We couldn't beleive our eyes when we came through the door into this wonderful courtyard and house. So light and many hidden areas to sneak away and read. Full of wonderful artefacts and beautifuuly laid out without being stuffy. Sadir who cooked for us when asked was full of smiles and Fouedd who met us from the taxi with perfect English was always on hand to organze trips and sort any problems. The six of us have already booked to come again next year - we can't recommend it highly enough.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Design of house; it was light and very peaceful
Liked least: seagulls waking us in the morning!
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
saraj12
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The perfect escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We were very spoilt from the moment we arrived. We flew in from Bristol, arrived 7pm in Marrakech. Penny had organised our collection and Foued met us at the Medina gates a few hours later. We had preordered dinner and what a lovely surprise. Sadiya had left a beautiful meal for us which remains unsurpassed in our entire trip. The riad is beautiful and a beautiful place to spend quiet time out from the hustle and bustle of all the shops and busy streets just outside. Would highly recommend Dar Zette!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Sadiya's tagines
Liked least: Could have done with more comfy seating
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Sandrine1...
Suisse romande
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Déception”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
Google Translation

Nous avons passé une semaine au terme de notre séjour de trois semaines au Maroc dans ce joli riad qui est bien situé dans la médina.
Tout s'est bien passé lors de la réservation avec Penny, la propriétaire du riad.
Par contre, nous avons déchanté lorsque le gérant sur place nous a accueili sur le parking de Bab Marrakech. Il était en retard, ne s'est pas excusé, ne nous a pas souhaité la bienvenue mais c'est immédiatement mis à insulter un porteur de bagage qui s'était proposé de nous amener nos bagages dans la médina. Il s'est également permis de nous engueuler du fait que nous acceptions de payer 20 dirhams au lieu de 10 dirhams cette prestation. Nous lui avons demandé de se calmer, que c'est nous qui devions payer cette somme et non lui. A noter que s'il avait été à l'heure, nous n'aurions pas eu besoin d'une charette pour y laisser nos bagages. Il s'est montré très grossier et tout cela devant notre fils de 4 ans. Ensuite, il nous a montré le chemin jusqu'au riad où il nous a laissé debout une bonne quinzaine de minutes dans la cour sans nous offrir de nous asseoir ou nous servir quelque chose à boire avant de nous remettre les clés du riad et de partir. Cela nous a surpris après plus de 2 semaines de vacances dans ce magnifique pays où nous avions partout été extremement bien accueili. De plus, nous avons eu le regret de constater que le riad était sale. La personne en charge de faire le ménage s'est contentée de passer tous les 2-3 jours pour y faire sa propre lessive mais sans procéder à aucun nettoyage alors que nous avions convenu qu'elle viendrai faire le ménage tous les matins. Tout cela est dommage car le riad est magnifique, joliment décoré, bien situé et la ville d'Essaouira est magique. Les lits sont très confortables. Il aurait suffit d'un bon accueil et que le ménage soit simplement fait. Vu les prix pratiqués, nous nous attendions à autre chose. Tant pis, ce ne sont pas les bonnes adresses qui manquent dans la région.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 1 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
2 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 2 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
1 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: l'architecture du riad
Liked least: l'antipathie du gérant et la saleté du riad et l'absence de nettoyage
Traveling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Non.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$809
/ Week
Book this property
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
Owner
Dan R
Speaks English, French
Listed since : Jan 2011
Response Rate: 60 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 48 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing