We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saved Save
You added Dar 91 Wahed to your Saves list.
Dar 91 armchair
Dar 91 armchair
Dar 91 armchair
detail
Dar 91 Wahed dining area
Dar 91 Wahed kitchen
Dar 91 Wahed lounge
Essaouira
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mark b
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“quirky accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We stayed at dar 91 for 3 nights. we were welcomed by Hakim who showed us the accommodation - which seemed to go on and on! - and made us a mint tea.
the decor was very interesting and always something to look at
the location was great for us, although the narrow lanes can be a bit spooky when you arrive at night they seem much friendlier in the daylight!!
all the rooms are quite small, as is the roof terrace but we were only there for breakfast (which is bread and a sweet bun everyday) and then back later in the evening. i found the bed really comfy but the other 2 didn't - they are quite hard.
Essoueria is fascinating, which we could do it all again

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: great location, very local
Liked least: could have been cleaner
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Simon T
Ilkley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great way to dip your toe into authentic Essaouira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

A compact but extremely appealing house within the old Medina. Tall & thin, extremely characterful and definately NOT "Cod Riad" but decorated in a quirky mix of trad Moroccan and (many) other styles, which all work very well together. Easily accessed from the Medina gate/car park/taxi rank. Everywhere within the Medina is within a short(ish) walk, and the maze of alleys is a great challenge - though as my 11yr old lad observed, it's impossible to get lost as eventually you'll reach a "bab" (city gate) and get your bearings. Because you're in a real local house, fronting directly onto the street, local life in all its hues unfolds in front of you - kids playing football, the detergent seller, countless kiosk owners, people weaving miles of braid, horse taxis returning to their stables at the end of the day. (Though, mercifully, very few mopeds / scooters, officially banned in the Medina) You do get to connect with the locals a bit more because of this, but virtually without exception the reaction was accommodating and friendly, and at no point did I as a father taking his family a little further afield get any sense of threat or hostility. Point to note - whereas in Marrakech my 14year old (but looks older) daughter had the unwelcome attention of countless local youths, Essaouira was hassle-free in this respect. And the store owners were far less in-your-face too.
The property's best asset is perhaps its cleaner/manager/fixers and generally very helpful souls, Naima and Hakim, who were prepared to bend over backwards in any which way to help out - F'rinstance, I set out one morning, only to tear my shirt on a loose nail on a porter's cart. I went home to change, and Naima had the shirt repaired by the local tailor in time for lunch. The recommendations in the Dar 91 "things to do, places to visit" guide were comprehensive, and invariably well chosen and accurate. I would implore anyone to go to the Hammam - for the men it's an experience, for the women it's (apparently) something else still. The owners themselves seem to really have an interest in the community in Essaouira, and what contact we had with them was extremely positive and helpful - all round, we felt well cared for!
You could, quite easily, stay here and do nothing more than get a "grand taxi" to the beach each day, and find a restaurant to eat at in the evening. Personally, I enjoyed the opportunity to touch the real Morocco - shopping for groceries (really cheap!), playing football with the kids in the street, finding the cafes that the locals frequent, that sort of thing.
Finally - if you want camel riding, horse riding or quad biking, then DON'T go near the touts on the beach. Make the journey out to to Diabat (6km away) to the ranch there, where the animals are extremely well cared for, the guides competent and safe, and in possesion of (seemingly) the only motorcycle helmets in Morocco! Pricier than the beach touts but WELL worth it. Negotiate a deal for two hours, you'll go for miles through the dunes and along the beach.
To sum up the experience, I'll quote my 11yr old lad's words as we waited for our luggage at Manchester airport:-

"It's totally the best ever holiday I've ever had!".

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location, helpfulness of staff & owners, contact with the locals
Liked least: Nothing springs to mind!
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
bubaloo53
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous house, great location, beautiful Essaouira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

A lovely house full of quirks which my daughter and I enjoyed discovering.
We loved the terraces, the delivery of breakfast each morning was much appreciated, and we enjoyed being able to buy food in the local market to bring home to cook.
Naima & Hakim made us feel welcome and we knew they could be on hand if needed

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The decor
Liked least: we liked it all
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Gerold K
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Great location, excellent service in a wonderful city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

We´ve been guests at "DAR 91" for almost one week in July 2011. A warm welcome with tea. A wonderful house, the interior very family friendly. We felt like having somewhere to "come home" after a day in the city. Essaouira is fantastic - forget Marrakesh!
Learn to cook with Naima was something I will never forget,(Inclusive go and by the stuff at the local market )
Our family (2 adults + 4 children: 8,10,13,14) had enough space for sleeping and living.
Really near the center of the city, 3 minutes walk to the market.
Clean and well working bathrooms, the "master bedroom" the topfloor with a door to the roof. Stay there at the early morning and hear the city wake up and see the sun rise over the medina.
Really to recommend to others!

G.Kretschmar

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with teenagers
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$104
/
Night
Week
Book this property
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
Owner
Jeremy D
Speaks English, Spanish, French, Italian
Listed since : Dec 2010
Response Rate: 65 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 43 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing