We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caravane Cafe

Caravane Cafe
2 bis, Rue du Qadi Ayad | Medina, Essaouira, Morocco
+212 5 24 78 31 11
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 191 restaurants in Essaouira
Price range: $14 - $27
Cuisines: Indonesian, Moroccan, Vegan, International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great find...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Didier and Daniel are excellent patrons and hosts of this unique and atmospheric restaurant hidden away in one of the side streets of Essaouira. We visited late at night (11pm) and early evening (7pm) and on both occasions had a fabulous meal, great live music and lots of laughter. A mild degree of chaos makes the place particularly fabulous, and Didier and Daniel made out party of 7 feel like lost friends found. Recommend the squid and the fishcakes, and the puddings were to die for.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    345
    128
    34
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Celle, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The atmosphere is magic, the cuisine excellent not to forget the wonderful artists and entertainment during the meal. A must for anyone visiting Essaouira.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Heaven on earth in 1 Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

If you want to check a Real Tradition Riad setting then this is the place to be.
The best food in town! On hell of a plate, big portion!
Great live band that makes you stay all night long inspired by the amazing decorations all around you. The owner has even painted some of the pictures himself.
The staff were really nice, fast service. The owner visited us to assure that everything was perfect... And indeed it was !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Had high hopes, but this place didnt deliver”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We arrived on a quite a busy Saturday night. We'd eaten elsewhere and so said we just wanted to have a drink rather than eat, the staff weren't particularly pleasant and seemed flustered ushering us to the top floor of the establishment away from any of the ambiance, they rushed our order, then didnt bring it for a long time, when we tried to get the tab, it seemed almost impossible to get their attention. Drinks werent amazing and were quite pricey.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essaouira, Morocco
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst and most over priced meal ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Beautiful setting and fun ambience, I would recommend this restaurant for a drink only.

Our meal was worse than average there were far too many different ingredients involved on the plate and there were sprigs of rosemary and grass poking out of everything. We were offered what I can only describe as a mush mash of an 'amuse bushe' and the Tahitian prawn entree was insipid and vastly overpriced. The main courses were over cooked and the catch of the day was not fresh and had a a serving of mango sorbet and a banana smoothie accompanying it, along with the obligatory grass and rosemary embellishments.

Please don't waste your money on dinner here!!
Although the magician did momentarily distract us from the dire state of the food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caravane Cafe also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Caravane Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caravane Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.