We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caravane Cafe

Caravane Cafe
2 bis, Rue du Qadi Ayad | Medina, Essaouira, Morocco
+212 5247-83111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 211 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $43
Cuisines: Moroccan, International, Indonesian, Vegan
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Ate here on our last night in Essaouira - absolutely amazing. Food was delicious, loved the live music and the magician was a great touch! Very good value for the price even if it is on the more pricey side for Essaouira. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    452
    164
    37
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Fantastic food, great people (Didier took so much take care of us... and of the other guests!). Music is great (local band) and so many other reasons to love this place. All the very best to the staff from... a Swiss woman and her Belgian husband!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful, creative location _ 1001 Roses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We, a young couple from Berlin, loved Caravan Cafe.
It's located in an old Riad in the old town, every floor and every room is decorated unique and very creative with art and flowers.
There was a vase with over 20 beautiful roses on our small table!
Extremely friendly service, very international, open-minded flair... great music.
The food was very good. I was hoping they had a few more 'traditional dishes with a modern twist' on the menu but there was enough to choose from.

We'll be back.

B/T

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My friend and I went for lunch here, we both went for fish as it seemed rude not too, especially being in a fishing village ! I had the Gambas and my friend had the Squid, it was beautifully presented and was also very yummy! The waiter was very friendly and also very kind as we asked for frappuccino's and although he didn't know what it was, he went out of his way to make us one once we explained to him. The owner was also very friendly and polite, you would not believe you we're in the middle of the medina as you really felt like you were out of the way of all the hustle and bustle ! Definitely worth the visit !

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Truly Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Gorgeous restaurant situated in the walls of the Medina. Each room has a different vibe. Food was fabulous especially the chicken. the service & staff where fantastic.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caravane Cafe also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Caravane Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caravane Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.