We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Dining Area with Local Music” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caravane Cafe

Caravane Cafe
2 bis, Rue du Qadi Ayad | Medina, Essaouira, Morocco
+212 5247-83111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 228 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $45
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Moroccan, International, Indonesian, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
371 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Lovely Dining Area with Local Music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We enjoyed our evening at this highly-advertised restaurant. The restaurant is in a restored riad so has a open to the sky hollow core that it lush with vegetation and is the main dining area, although there are also tables in the adjoining rooms as well as the upstairs rooms. While we wouldn't actually rave about the food, we had a most pleasant and enjoyable evening here. The portions are very large but the food was a little bit bland and lacked a sophistication that they seem to be trying hard to attain. The service was attentive and the owner-manager was eager to ensure that we were enjoying our evening. There were four young Moroccans playing guitars and percussion and singing that created a wonderful atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were seated in one of the upstairs rooms, just the two of us. It was fab, the service was exceptional, the atmosphere was bohemian, the food was lovely and portions were big. The art work on the walls added to the opulence of the place. A band played some cool up tempo music and a magician came to our table to entertain us. All in all a top night.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had some cocktails and this really fun bar / restaurant and meet one of the owners who also is a musician there. The staff and patrons were very nice and friendly.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“we loved it so much!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Dinner at the Caravane Café was one of the highlights of our Moroccan trip - we were seated in the courtyard, we were looked after impeccably and had a thoroughly fantastic evening. The food was divine and the entertainment was simply wonderful.....a magician, 2 amazing live bands and very attentive staff and owner. The atmosphere was unforgettable - HIGHLY recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michaela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Having already had two really good dinners in Essaouira, this one surpassed all my expectations. It's set in an old riad with a beautiful courtyard and has been decorated with exotic colours, paintings and objects. You can dine in the courtyard or upstairs in one of the smaller rooms which feels very intimate (there was only one other table in our room). The food was nothing short of brilliant - we had Creole codfish cakes which were delicious, and then a fish dish which was both delicious and beautifully presented. There were musicians playing in the courtyard for someof the time which created a great atmosphere. Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CLT725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caravane Cafe also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Caravane Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing