We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Dining Area with Local Music” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caravane Cafe

Caravane Cafe
2 bis, Rue du Qadi Ayad | Medina, Essaouira, Morocco
+212 5 24 78 31 11
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 196 restaurants in Essaouira
Price range: $14 - $27
Cuisines: Indonesian, Moroccan, Vegan, International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Lovely Dining Area with Local Music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We enjoyed our evening at this highly-advertised restaurant. The restaurant is in a restored riad so has a open to the sky hollow core that it lush with vegetation and is the main dining area, although there are also tables in the adjoining rooms as well as the upstairs rooms. While we wouldn't actually rave about the food, we had a most pleasant and enjoyable evening here. The portions are very large but the food was a little bit bland and lacked a sophistication that they seem to be trying hard to attain. The service was attentive and the owner-manager was eager to ensure that we were enjoying our evening. There were four young Moroccans playing guitars and percussion and singing that created a wonderful atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    367
    132
    34
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We were seated in one of the upstairs rooms, just the two of us. It was fab, the service was exceptional, the atmosphere was bohemian, the food was lovely and portions were big. The art work on the walls added to the opulence of the place. A band played some cool up tempo music and a magician came to our table to entertain us. All in all a top night.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had some cocktails and this really fun bar / restaurant and meet one of the owners who also is a musician there. The staff and patrons were very nice and friendly.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“we loved it so much!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Dinner at the Caravane Café was one of the highlights of our Moroccan trip - we were seated in the courtyard, we were looked after impeccably and had a thoroughly fantastic evening. The food was divine and the entertainment was simply wonderful.....a magician, 2 amazing live bands and very attentive staff and owner. The atmosphere was unforgettable - HIGHLY recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Having already had two really good dinners in Essaouira, this one surpassed all my expectations. It's set in an old riad with a beautiful courtyard and has been decorated with exotic colours, paintings and objects. You can dine in the courtyard or upstairs in one of the smaller rooms which feels very intimate (there was only one other table in our room). The food was nothing short of brilliant - we had Creole codfish cakes which were delicious, and then a fish dish which was both delicious and beautifully presented. There were musicians playing in the courtyard for someof the time which created a great atmosphere. Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caravane Cafe also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Caravane Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caravane Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.