We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caravane Cafe

Caravane Cafe
2 bis, Rue du Qadi Ayad | Medina, Essaouira, Morocco
+212 5 24 78 31 11
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 196 restaurants in Essaouira
Price range: $14 - $27
Cuisines: Indonesian, Moroccan, Vegan, International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Laguna Niguel, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had some cocktails and this really fun bar / restaurant and meet one of the owners who also is a musician there. The staff and patrons were very nice and friendly.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    365
    132
    34
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“we loved it so much!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Dinner at the Caravane Café was one of the highlights of our Moroccan trip - we were seated in the courtyard, we were looked after impeccably and had a thoroughly fantastic evening. The food was divine and the entertainment was simply wonderful.....a magician, 2 amazing live bands and very attentive staff and owner. The atmosphere was unforgettable - HIGHLY recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Having already had two really good dinners in Essaouira, this one surpassed all my expectations. It's set in an old riad with a beautiful courtyard and has been decorated with exotic colours, paintings and objects. You can dine in the courtyard or upstairs in one of the smaller rooms which feels very intimate (there was only one other table in our room). The food was nothing short of brilliant - we had Creole codfish cakes which were delicious, and then a fish dish which was both delicious and beautifully presented. There were musicians playing in the courtyard for someof the time which created a great atmosphere. Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful decor, romantic and quirky with great tasting food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

A unique restaurant which has a great atmosphere and the food to match! A great balance if romance with entertainment

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Eclectic Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

One year later I remember Caravane as an oasis among all the construction in Essouara. We ate at a pinic table style fish joint the previous day that had excellent varieties of grilled fish. But very local and very messy. Piles of discarded fish caucuses, shells, and napkins after eating.
Caravane is a rabbit warren of interestingly decorated and lit rooms. Lots of plants.
The price was reasonable. The menu a fusion of Europe and Morocco. Service good. Solo guitar a pleasant addition.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caravane Cafe also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Caravane Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caravane Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.