We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good small restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caravane Cafe

Caravane Cafe
2 bis, Rue du Qadi Ayad | Medina, Essaouira, Morocco
+212 5247-83111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 194 Restaurants in Essaouira
Price range: $18 - $50
Cuisines: Indonesian, Moroccan, Vegan, International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good small restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Ambience and the welcoming spirit of the waitstaff was a great beginning of a lovely evening. The dinner was interesting and well prepared. We don't eat dairy products and they were helpful in adapting their options for us.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    143
    36
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Much more than we were expecting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My friend and I stopped by the restaurant in the late afternoon just to make sure they would be open that evening and spoke with the proprietor about dinner. We told him that we would likely be back for dinner, told him where we were from during a quick 2 minute conversation, then went back out to explore the city. When dinner time rolled around we mulled over a few options, then decided that we'd go back to the Caravane Cafe after all. When we arrived (a bit later than we said we would, by the way), the owner had set aside a beautiful table with a large flower arrangement and covered in rose petals in a corner of the main patio. The food was delicious, a small acoustic group played American (Jack Johnson and Ben Harper), French and Spanish pop songs, and the service was impeccable. The bill at the end wasn't small, but considering the quality of the food and the environment, it was well worth it. Would definitely come back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Funky eclectic gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

What a wonderful eclectic place in the heart of Essaouira! Great food in a beautiful funky riad setting. Highly attentive service and fabulous live music too. Definitely recommend this if you want an out of the ordinary experience and an escape from classic tourist fodder.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln, Deutschland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Please return to your old form - keeping my fingers crossed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I used to love and whole-heartedly recommend this restaurant with its eclectic menu and ecletic interior, both lively and tasteful/tasty and presented with a lot of care and creativity. Plus the people who work there and the owner, Didier, who welcomes you as if you came into his own home - which it actually is: Didier lives in the same Riad and it shows in the attention he gives to detail and astheticity - are warm and helpful even if maybe a little slow at times. Albeit my total enthusiasm from the beginning has withered. Domage! What started out in an elegant, easy way - freshly prepared food with unusual touches, combinations and flavours: fusion cuisine in the best sense of the word - has turned into something slightly pretentious. As if they tried to hard and wanted too much: too much on the plate, foods that - at least in my taste - do not fit together or are too complicated to be served at the same time... I will not give up hope though, there is so much potential...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Bohemian vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had a great time having dinner at the eclectic dinner spot. There was a live band playing a mix of music. We had wonderful food and the service was great. I will definitely come back here!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caravane Cafe also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Caravane Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caravane Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.