We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky eclectic gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caravane Cafe

Caravane Cafe
2 bis, Rue du Qadi Ayad | Medina, Essaouira, Morocco
+212 5247-83111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 212 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $44
Cuisines: Moroccan, International, Indonesian, Vegan
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
London, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Funky eclectic gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

What a wonderful eclectic place in the heart of Essaouira! Great food in a beautiful funky riad setting. Highly attentive service and fabulous live music too. Definitely recommend this if you want an out of the ordinary experience and an escape from classic tourist fodder.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    489
    181
    38
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Köln, Deutschland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Please return to your old form - keeping my fingers crossed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I used to love and whole-heartedly recommend this restaurant with its eclectic menu and ecletic interior, both lively and tasteful/tasty and presented with a lot of care and creativity. Plus the people who work there and the owner, Didier, who welcomes you as if you came into his own home - which it actually is: Didier lives in the same Riad and it shows in the attention he gives to detail and astheticity - are warm and helpful even if maybe a little slow at times. Albeit my total enthusiasm from the beginning has withered. Domage! What started out in an elegant, easy way - freshly prepared food with unusual touches, combinations and flavours: fusion cuisine in the best sense of the word - has turned into something slightly pretentious. As if they tried to hard and wanted too much: too much on the plate, foods that - at least in my taste - do not fit together or are too complicated to be served at the same time... I will not give up hope though, there is so much potential...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Bohemian vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had a great time having dinner at the eclectic dinner spot. There was a live band playing a mix of music. We had wonderful food and the service was great. I will definitely come back here!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hurray for Caravane Cafe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Caravane Cafe is a joy. The food is not too cold, not burned, service not slow. The food was delicious, the wine excellent and the service marvellous. Nothing was too much trouble and it was evident how well all the staff, including the kitchen staff, worked so well as a team. My husband and I ate there five times whilst in Essaouira for a week, could not fault it, and were made extremely welcome each time. The ambience is wonderful and the live music excellent. Go - and enjoy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A me-too”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Feels like the cheap copy of Elizir. But to be fair, we only had a coffee there which was really good :-) ...

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caravane Cafe also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Caravane Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caravane Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.