We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel at home in a luxury environment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caravane Cafe

Caravane Cafe
2 bis, Rue du Qadi Ayad | Medina, Essaouira, Morocco
+212 5247-83111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 228 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $45
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Moroccan, International, Indonesian, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Köln, Deutschland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Feel at home in a luxury environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Didier the owner is a lovely, attentive host, his Riad splendid and big (several rooms to eat in on several floors) and still: one feels like one is in one's own living room. The food is a mix of Moroccon, Asian and French and just wonderful, plus lots of variety. One can also got there during the day and just have tea and sweets. We live part-time in Essaouira and are glad that we found one more place we like to return to regularly - there aren't that many.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank meleone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Northants, England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great food, very pretty setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

The setting for this restaurant is a really stunning interior garden ( there are inside tables as well). It was especially beautiful at night with lots of subtle lighting. We did not think the food was quite as good as the Elizir, but it is a very very close second! The menu is in French but the staff were extremely friendly and spoke some English.

There was some live music when we went which we enjoyed and it did make it even more atmospheric. It does get very busy at night so probably best to book. It is open during the day and is a nice shady place to do lunch or afternoon tea.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kittybat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lunch in the Medina?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

A real melting pot of colours and styles with a far east influence.. A peaceful oasis from the hustle and bustle outside to relax and enjoy your lunch. An interesting selection on the menu again inluenced by Thailand. Worth a visit for lunch rather than dinner.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffers77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Shocking service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We waited for 20 minutes to have our order taken take the only english speaking waitert, who also happnend to be the French owner of the restaurant. After placing our order we then wiated a further 30 minutes without being provided with the drinks we ordered. When I wen to speak to the owner about getting our drinks, he was completely blasé about the fact that we had been sitting there for 45 minutes without any food or drinks. After a FURTHER 15 minutes our main courses arrived (befoer the wine) and were COLD. We could not believe it. At this point we simply asked for a cork for our wine and left the restaurant not before having to pay for the horrendous service we were given. The owner didn't seem to care about our well being in the least. I would advise you to avoid this place like the plague on a busy night. Beautiful lokoing restaurant but completely dragged down by it's terrible service.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merelbeke, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“exclusive exentric exellent exotic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

what a lovely restaurant with a very attentive & kind owner

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank RVSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caravane Cafe also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Caravane Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing