We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
living room
living room
living room
dining area
open plan landing area
landing area
upper landing
Essaouira
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Die_Hexe...
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Value and a Splendid Location in the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 for a stay in July 2012

Dar Nicola was everything that I imagined from the reviews and yet still better! The location was perfect, just off a small alleyway, and not noisy at all. It was cool and a good size, with two terraces off the kitchen, and a wonderfully decorated interior. The manager and his sister did a fantastic job of assisting us and the food that we asked for one of the nights was delicious. After that I prepared my own food or we ate out, and it was an experience buying fresh meat and veg in the Medina. Even though I buy organic at home, this food tasted far more real.. Perhaps as it was only just picked. What a wonderful holiday this was, and I would love to come back again, when I would not hesitate to hire Dar Nicola again if it is available.
Simply wonderful

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location and the interior
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2013
thankyou for your kind words, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and stay in our house, your comments mean a lot to us!!! Nicola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jackie M
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great property in an ideal location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Essaouira and Dar Nicola was a wonderful place to stay. It was really spacious and airy and beautifully decorated. The kitchen was really well equipped and the cleaner and manager were very helpful during our stay. Essaouira is full of charm and has a bohemian feel with lots of quirky shops, restaurants and cafes and a lovely beach right on its doorstep. I would definitely recommend

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Claire S
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We have been very fortunate to stay in some great houses in Essaouira but Dar Nicola is one of the best places that we have stayed in. I would highly recommend this property as you cannot fault it- staff are very friendly, beds are very comfortable, you have a great rooftop terrace, a great kitchen to cook in, lovely living area and Nicola has added some fantastic decoration pieces that make the house feel bright and welcoming!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: It hard to say one thing as everything was perfect!
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
marvinEng...
england
2 reviews
“Fantastic place to stay!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We have just spent 7 days in ESsaouira staying at Dar Nicola and had a wonderful holiday, ESsaouira is an intriguing place and Dar Nicola was the perfect place to stay. The house is in a great location close to everything but quiet at the same time, the house is beautifully decorated in a quirky wAy and fully equipped with everything you would need, we loved the private terraces enjoying meals each day.the staf were very accommodating and Nicola was really helpful organising us taxi transfers. Thanks to everyone-we will be back!!!!!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Private terraces/location
Liked least: Nothing!!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
flo-josh
northants
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely property - amazing value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Stayed for a week and the house exceeded our expectations. We travelled with our children and their friends so we had four 20 to 22 year olds with us. The property is beautifully decorated and a bit quirky. On four levels, so suitable for the more agile, but if you're over 5ft 3in watch your head on the doorways! The house was spotlessly clean and kept so by a cleaner each day, part of the rental so even better value for money. The roof terrace is a sun-trap and sheltered from the strong winds. Could see the sea and the port from the upper level. All the beds comfortable. Only one shower, but we coped as we were prepared for it. Sensibly equipped kitchen for a summer stay. Said, the local manager of the property, was incredibly helpful and available at the end of the phone. He arranged taxis, camel-rides, transfers and trips to Marrakesh. The location of the house is amazing - within the medina so close to all the most interesting parts of Essaouira, but also really quite and safe-feeling. We have rented properties in various European countries and have to say that this was one of the best, definitely the best value for money and one which we would recommend and return to.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location, roof terrace
Liked least: small saucepans
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
lhp3103
Les Abrets, France
1 review
“charmant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
Google Translation

Cette charmante maison est idéalement placée (plein de petit commerces pour la vie de tous les jours) et typique. Avons eu du mal à nous repérer au début avec ses 3 niveaux mais au bout de deux jours nous étions comme chez nous. Les enfants ont eu l'occasion de jouer avec des enfants de la rue et de partager des bons moments. Samira a été très agréable et souriante et en plus elle cuisine très bien. Je conseille vivement la médina pour un petit plongeon dans une atmosphère paisible et véritable. Essaouira est vraiment une ville agréable.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: la tranquilité
Liked least: la propreté de cette petit rue
Traveling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$85
/
Night
Week
Instant Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Nicola M
Speaks English
Listed since : Mar 2011
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 26 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing