We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Covered seating area on terrace
Covered seating area on terrace
Covered seating area on terrace
lounge area on ground floor
Patio, ground floor
Patio
Cozy TV room
Essaouira
|
Rental Home – 
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirsty B
Alyth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Everything we hoped for and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We have just returned from 10 days at Chez Dar Ma, having had a fantastic holiday in lovely Essaouira. The weather was lovely not too windy or too hot. The Riad is an oasis of beauty and calm in the old Medina and offers every home comfort alongside lovely interiors. Alison and Halima were kind and thoughtful in their care of us. They introduced us to the area and were always on hand to help us with any of our daft laddie questions about the area. The Riad is in the old Medina with all of the colour and interest you could wish for. The Riad gave our party of 11 plenty of room to enjoy group meals or to chill out in peace. A lot of love has obviously gone into the restoration of a lovely building. Alison's help was invaluable and she really went the extra mile to ensure that our stay was enjoyable and easy. Our best trip ever.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The well cared for house
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Veronica...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from Home - without the work!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 for a stay in July 2012

This was my second visit to Morocco as a solo traveller, and after the blistering heat of Marrakech the sea breezes of Essaouria were a welcome surprise. As was Chez dar Ma... The owner, an artist, has decorated it beautifully using locally sourced materials and artifacts. It was spotlessly clean and Hassan and Halima were a joy, ensuring my stay was a thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable experience. This included taking me to the souk , which is very close and on excursions. I was treated to exceptionally generous breakfasts on the terrace (which is the norm) and fabulous cooked meals in the evenings. Restaurants were recommended but I preferred the personal touch!
I would definately recommend the riad to anyone who asks and hope to return .

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Hassan and Halima and the location
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Axel L
Malmö
1 review
“Great place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Highly recommendable! Cosy, friendly, spacious and clean. Excellent breakfasts. Hassan helped us with everything we needed, including cooking a delicious Tajine and giving us directions to the best restaurants in town!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
GlennHeus...
Atlanta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Coastal Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Chez Dar Ma offers a brilliant casual and homey atmosphere- Allison and her staff (Helima) tend to our every need- providing excellent breakfast meals and clean, comfortable rooms.
Our hostess Allison provided top notch restaurant suggestions and local places of interest.
A fantastic "chill" spot from the craziness of Morocco.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jane F
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic riad; spacious and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

I booked the whole riad for three nights for a group of friends following a long weekend in Marrakech; Chez Dar Ma and Essarouira provided the perfect contrast to end our holiday. The accommodation was spacious and comfortable and well-suited for our group's needs. Allison was a source of excellent information about the town and offered very helpful advice about the town and its amentiies. Her restaurant recommendations were all fantastic. Halima's delicious breakfasts on the roof terrace provided a great start to each day, with a plentiful selection of fresh and delicious items. Our stay at Chez Dar Ma provided excellent value for money and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone thinking of visiting Essaouira.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Nil5
1 review
“Amazing Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

We rented Allison’s whole Riad for our family for 4 nights in March. We had a lovely welcome from Allison who guided us from the bus to the Riad and gave a good intro of the town and recommendations. The Riad was very homely, nicely decorated, clean, comfortable and bright!. Even though it wasn’t that cold we enjoyed fire place in the evening and had a great dinner in the Riad one evening. Our 3 year old daughter appreciated all the space and being able to run around. The location is good and it’s a quick walk to the beach and main shopping street (the town isn’t big anyway). We enjoyed putting together our own breakfasts on the sunny roof-top terrace. Would highly recommend!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
madrigalp...
penzance
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Riad with just the right amount of local help and support”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Breakfast in hot sunshine sitting on sofas on the roof terrace, early evenings by the log fire downstairs and all the wonders of beautiful, laid back Essaouira to enjoy and explore within a few minutes walk. Alison's Riad is beautifully designed and is well equipped with everything you'll need including an invaluable roof top kitchen for those cold beer and glass of chilled rose moments. The bedrooms are all large and comfortable and all with ensuite shower rooms so no-one got a raw deal! Thanks to Alison, Halima and Hassan for all their help and friendship and to Said for the great taxi service from Marrakesh. Look no further than Chez Dar Ma, its beautiful and you won't be disappointed!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Sitting in the sunshine on the topmost sun terrace as the seagulls wheeled over the roof tops al around me.
Liked least: Getting to the roof terrace and remembering I'd left something on the ground floor!!!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$73
/
Night
Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Allison J
Speaks English, Spanish, French
Listed since : Aug 2009
Response Rate: 90 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 42 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing