We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini Moroccan Palace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Mumtaz Mahal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Mumtaz Mahal to your Saves list
Riad Mumtaz Mahal
1.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5, rue Youssef El fassi, Essaouira 44100, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 161 Essaouira B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mini Moroccan Palace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed in Essaouria for 4 days. Our car stopped outside the walls and from there we had a minute walk to the riad. We turned down an alleyway and our instant reaction was one or apprehension as we walked toward the door of the riad.
Our fears were quickly dispelled as we walked through the door to be greeted by a truly opulent courtyard. The decor is so rich and luxurious that it takes the eyes a few moments to take it all in. After the check in and customary mint tea welcome we were shown our room on the 2nd floor. Our host decided to show us another room which was even better than the one we had seen earlier and so we decided to go for that one without any costs. The suite we stayed in was Mandara on th first floor. It's a beautiful room, spectacularly over the top. The bathroom was enormous as well.
The only negative room was the shower. There is a separate shower and bath tub but the shower quickly turns the bathroom area into a wet room as the glass partition does not stop the water from flowing into the rest of the bathroom. So use the bathtub instead.
The roof terrace has a wonderful view of the sea and the rooftops. We had breakfast on the rooftop which was great but the variety of food is limited.
The wifi coverage is disappointing as this is only available in the courtyard downstairs and you have to come downstairs if you need to use it
The spa/pool area is nice but be aware that you have to pay to use the pool and sauna facilities.
One restaurant to eat in is El Minza which is just outside the doors of the riad. Wonderful food and great value

Room Tip: Have a look at all the rooms before choosing one that suits your taste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    12
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
4
31
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I felt like a princess while staying here, the rooms were decorated with such detail, we stayed in two, I would have loved to stay in them all, they are all decorated so differently and so luxurious. For the price they charge it is fantastic value for money. The bathrooms are amazing with the huge marble bath, a soak was perfect after a windy day outside. The bed was very comfortable, I loved the velvet covers. The staff were very friendly and so kind to us, breakfast was served at any time in the morning which was much appreciated. The wifi was only in the lounge, which was a beautiful room to be in so it didn't feel so bad. The Riad is located perfectly inside the old walls so you are near to the restaurants in town and just a 10 min walk to the beach. I loved my stay at this Riad

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, pick one that features your favourite colour
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed in Essaouira for 1 week. This riad is amazing, gorgeous decor and smiling and pleasent staff. The breakfast was lovely and we got the lift to the terrace most mornings.
Fateha, is a wonder woman and thanks for the morrocan cure for the bad sore throat I had.
We didn't try the spa as we had lots of souks to explore.
The bedroom was huge and included a gorgeous big bath to splash about in after a good shopping day.
I would come back here in a heart beat,
The resaurant I would recommend would be Elixir the best steak in balsamic and lamb and pear tagine we have ever tasted. The best stay.
Lu x

Room Tip: All rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incedo
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

While the design and build of the intricate design in the rooms and the common areas is an extraordinary achievement, the overall experience as a hotel was disappointing.

Firstly, while the intricate mosaics and other details are amazing, it does create a gloomy experience as it deprives the rooms of sunlight, in the common areas downstairs and the bedrooms. Secondly, some of the details were poorly done, such as the jams, honey and coffee served with breakfast being of the lowest quality. The jams came in little plastic cartons that you get on economy airlines!

Once again, this being Morocco, the staff were good with the lady in charge being excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

This was the splurge of our two-week trip to Morocco. The decor was a bit over-the-top for me, but it was beautifully done, quite luxurious, and very comfortable, plus there was a lift! Breakfast on the terrace the first morning resulted in cold food, but we ate in the lounge the second morning and all was fine. Essaouira is fantastic and I would go there again in a heartbeat; if I do, I'll stay here (and try out the spa!).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We enjoyed It so much, and thought It was the best place we have stayed in morocco. From being shown our room we thought it was great. superbly decorated. We had the green suite on the 1st floor facing the alley which was just lovely. Did not want to leave or go out as it was so nice. The staff and the lobby area were also very nice. And staff very helpful. Breakfast was very tasty and served in our room.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We just loved this place; looks like a movie set. It's a bit over the top but that is exactly what appealed to me. I found this on the internet by accident before the trip and was able to book the room I wanted in advance from the photos. The location is great, the riad is clean and quiet with luxurious beds and fabulous bathrooms. We had breakfast on the roof terrace the first morning and they seemed a little challenged by that; it took a while to get served. Second morning we stayed downstairs and no delays there. Wish we had had more time in Essaouira; would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Every room has a different decor, each one luxurious. Check the web site and pick the one that appea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Mumtaz Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mumtaz Mahal

Address: 5, rue Youssef El fassi, Essaouira 44100, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Riad Mumtaz Mahal 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Mumtaz Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Mumtaz Mahal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.