We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb, couldn't fault in any way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cle de Voute

La Cle de Voute
76 rue Laaloujj, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
+212 658-836496
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 218 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $17
Cuisines: French, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Restaurant decorated with gaiety. Home in simplicity and gentillese. Small menu card but regular suggestions.
Newbury
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Superb, couldn't fault in any way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Came across this restaurant by chance, and what a find! Cosy and friendly atmosphere, made to feel very welcome as if it was our home. Fantastic food, I even left with one of their recipes which the owner wrote out for me by hand and then talked me through! I don't normally write review for the places we eat though this one is a must if you're in town. We booked to go back again later in the week...,,

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    97
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best meals in Essaouira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Hidden treasure in the narrow, busy streets of Essaouira. Very small but cosy with lots of candles and beautiful paintings. Both the owner and our waitress spoke good English and could not have done more for us, without being too 'in your face'. Food is incredible, the vegetable tart and monkfish tagine were to die for! My partner had steak that was HUGE and cooked to perfection. Good wine list, the house wine is great too. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Another great little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Sister restaurant to the equally excellent D'Orient et D'ailleurs, we had probably our best meal of our stay in Essaoiura here. 5 in our party (aged 18-54) and everyone chose differently but was delighted with their meal. Fish and lamb tajines were the best we had in Morocco. Highly recommended. Helps if you speak French.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Having checked out Trip Advisor we visited this restaurant and were not disappointed. The ladies were charming and helpful, the ambience really nice. It was the most European surroundings we saw, very clean and light, but with delicious, beautifully presented Moroccan food at good prices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The Best Restaurant in Essaouira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Where else in Essaouira are you able to call for a reservation for 10 people 35 minutes before restaurant opening? Received always graciously La Cle de Voute is very busy nightly. Charming reception at the door, table and throughout the dinner by the owner LiLi sets this restaurant apart from other good choices in Essaouira. The menu has been carefully assembled. The best Pastilla I have ever tasted..the "Best" category includes her steak, Kefta and lamb tanginges, her soups and a stand alone amazing Thai Shrimp dish, if you are lucky you will catch her on a night when she is serving spaghetti carbonara with smoked salmon.The vaulted room is elegantly decorated, the music is soft and includes the best of Arabic vocalists, the lighting consists of candlelight and soft spot lighting all adding up to what I think is now the best restaurant in Essaouira. Sress free,great comfort, great food all at great value..Lili really knows how to run a restaurant!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cle de Voute also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Cle de Voute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cle de Voute, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.