We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm, Grace, Taste,Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cle de Voute

La Cle de Voute
76 rue Laaloujj, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
+212 658-836496
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 221 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $17
Cuisines: French, Moroccan, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Restaurant decorated with gaiety. Home in simplicity and gentillese. Small menu card but regular suggestions.
New York City
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Charm, Grace, Taste,Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Madame Lili greets you at the door..she is gentle, elegant and kind. The restaurant is decorated very carefully in colors, paintings, carpets and most of all one has the feeling that you are dining in a lovely lit and cozy underground vault, thus the name. The food is a welcome surprise....duck parmentier, carbonara with smoked samon, veloute' de legumes, pastilla that is rich and soft plus many other extraordinary preparations. The service is kind, the restaurant is quiet with music that is always varied.
I highly recommend La Cle Voute for a relaxing, colorful evening with wonderful food, music and ambience.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    99
    15
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pisa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Easy job”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had ddinner in this small restaurant after reading the Tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed.
The place is small and clean, the menu simple but complete and the service fast and friendly.
Prices more than honest.
By the way in a place like Essaouira is not difficult to be a step up compared to the competition considering the quality level of the other hundred of places where you can eat in town.
Keep it up.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pieve di Cento, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Jokey waitress”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This restaurant right now is ranked #2 in Essaouria, run by the wife, while the husband runs the #1 which I could not try because warned by the waiter that the service was going to be slow since everybody had arrived pretty much at the same time. Good for them! many places would have you just sit and wait.
This couple knows how to cook and in general i don't like Tajine and couscous. We had scallops and crab salad for starters, both delicious, linguine with smoked salmon and seafood pastilla for entrees. All dishes were good, the waitress likes to tease you and play jokes, she also doubles as a belly dancer and although not beautiful she sure knows how to move! Nice experience I would return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“The Best is Essaouira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

we stayed in Essaouira for five nights. We ate here on the second night and loved it so much we came back for our last meal.
The food was excellent on both occasions, monkfish tagine was so delicious we want the recipe, grilled sea bream with rosemary creme fraiche sauce also excellent, as was the kefta tagine. Starters of scallops and a chicken pastilla really great. The food is unpretentious, but of top quality.
Service was very amusing, we had the jokey waitress and had some fun with her! The owner seems passionate about her restaurant, and it really shows.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The perfect evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had originally gone to the sister restaurant, "D'Orient et d'ailleurs", but it was fully booked. We went here instead and it was wonderful.

The food was creative, tasty and very affordable. We had a crab and avocado salad along with a chicken pastilla to start. Both were superb. Mains were a kefta tagine and a duck and potato dish that were excellent. The decor is quaint and tasteful. The service was perhaps the best that we had.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cle de Voute also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Cle de Voute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cle de Voute, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.