We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm, Grace, Taste,Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cle de Voute

La Cle de Voute
76 rue Laaloujj, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
+212 (0) 658 83 64 96
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 192 restaurants in Essaouira
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: French, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Closed on saturday & sunday lunch, open for lunch time and dinner
New York City
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Charm, Grace, Taste,Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Madame Lili greets you at the door..she is gentle, elegant and kind. The restaurant is decorated very carefully in colors, paintings, carpets and most of all one has the feeling that you are dining in a lovely lit and cozy underground vault, thus the name. The food is a welcome surprise....duck parmentier, carbonara with smoked samon, veloute' de legumes, pastilla that is rich and soft plus many other extraordinary preparations. The service is kind, the restaurant is quiet with music that is always varied.
I highly recommend La Cle Voute for a relaxing, colorful evening with wonderful food, music and ambience.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    219
    76
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pisa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Easy job”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had ddinner in this small restaurant after reading the Tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed.
The place is small and clean, the menu simple but complete and the service fast and friendly.
Prices more than honest.
By the way in a place like Essaouira is not difficult to be a step up compared to the competition considering the quality level of the other hundred of places where you can eat in town.
Keep it up.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pieve di Cento, Italy
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Jokey waitress”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This restaurant right now is ranked #2 in Essaouria, run by the wife, while the husband runs the #1 which I could not try because warned by the waiter that the service was going to be slow since everybody had arrived pretty much at the same time. Good for them! many places would have you just sit and wait.
This couple knows how to cook and in general i don't like Tajine and couscous. We had scallops and crab salad for starters, both delicious, linguine with smoked salmon and seafood pastilla for entrees. All dishes were good, the waitress likes to tease you and play jokes, she also doubles as a belly dancer and although not beautiful she sure knows how to move! Nice experience I would return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“The Best is Essaouira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

we stayed in Essaouira for five nights. We ate here on the second night and loved it so much we came back for our last meal.
The food was excellent on both occasions, monkfish tagine was so delicious we want the recipe, grilled sea bream with rosemary creme fraiche sauce also excellent, as was the kefta tagine. Starters of scallops and a chicken pastilla really great. The food is unpretentious, but of top quality.
Service was very amusing, we had the jokey waitress and had some fun with her! The owner seems passionate about her restaurant, and it really shows.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The perfect evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had originally gone to the sister restaurant, "D'Orient et d'ailleurs", but it was fully booked. We went here instead and it was wonderful.

The food was creative, tasty and very affordable. We had a crab and avocado salad along with a chicken pastilla to start. Both were superb. Mains were a kefta tagine and a duck and potato dish that were excellent. The decor is quaint and tasteful. The service was perhaps the best that we had.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cle de Voute also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Been to La Cle de Voute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cle de Voute, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.