We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jokey waitress” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Cle de Voute

La Cle de Voute
76 rue Laaloujj, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
+212 (0) 658 83 64 96
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 199 Restaurants in Essaouira
Price range: $6 - $11
Cuisines: French, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Closed on saturday & sunday lunch, open for lunch time and dinner
Pieve di Cento, Italy
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Jokey waitress”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This restaurant right now is ranked #2 in Essaouria, run by the wife, while the husband runs the #1 which I could not try because warned by the waiter that the service was going to be slow since everybody had arrived pretty much at the same time. Good for them! many places would have you just sit and wait.
This couple knows how to cook and in general i don't like Tajine and couscous. We had scallops and crab salad for starters, both delicious, linguine with smoked salmon and seafood pastilla for entrees. All dishes were good, the waitress likes to tease you and play jokes, she also doubles as a belly dancer and although not beautiful she sure knows how to move! Nice experience I would return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    87
    11
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“The Best is Essaouira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

we stayed in Essaouira for five nights. We ate here on the second night and loved it so much we came back for our last meal.
The food was excellent on both occasions, monkfish tagine was so delicious we want the recipe, grilled sea bream with rosemary creme fraiche sauce also excellent, as was the kefta tagine. Starters of scallops and a chicken pastilla really great. The food is unpretentious, but of top quality.
Service was very amusing, we had the jokey waitress and had some fun with her! The owner seems passionate about her restaurant, and it really shows.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The perfect evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had originally gone to the sister restaurant, "D'Orient et d'ailleurs", but it was fully booked. We went here instead and it was wonderful.

The food was creative, tasty and very affordable. We had a crab and avocado salad along with a chicken pastilla to start. Both were superb. Mains were a kefta tagine and a duck and potato dish that were excellent. The decor is quaint and tasteful. The service was perhaps the best that we had.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dakin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Quick lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Turned up at about 3pm just for a quick bite to eat. The staff and owner were very welcoming and also very funny- we had great scallops and a crab salad- simple but delicious.

Really enjoyed the food- lovely people too!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“High cuisine!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

An unexpected jewel in the Medina. We had the best scallops in years, the crab salad is also excellent, finally a good dinner after some lousy trendy places in Essaouira.
It is a small place with a lot of atmosphere, the service is excellent and veru fruendly, they do speak English fluently too.
Highly recommended

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cle de Voute also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Cle de Voute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cle de Voute, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.