We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol E Luna Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sol E Luna Hotel to your Saves list
Sol E Luna Hotel
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   BP 139 Km 7 Route d'agadir | El Ghazoua, Essaouira 44002, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 160 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Budaors, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A friendly place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our small group was on a birdwatching trip in Morocco and spent five days in Essaouira. Hotel Sol E Luna was a perfect choice to stay. We returned like home every evening after our day trip. The house has got a nice Moroccan style interior design, very clean. Our room was spacious with a terrace looking to the garden. We gathered there every evening after a tasty three course dinner Mona cooked for us. Emilie and Christophe were very nice and friendly hosts, providing us with valuable local information and made our stay relaxed. We would definitely return. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
19
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

clean, cutty, perfect stay in a polite and helpfull place,
you can have pizzas made at the moment
perfect breakfast
perfect communication with the manager,
I would recomend this hotel to my friends
the medina is in 5 minutes by car, and always are coming taxis,
the place allows you go to the medina and the port, and at the time you feel not exhausted because of the locals trying to sell you things, so you can stay quiet.
Very clean and large.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Without knowing anything about this place (although staying in a house in Ghazoua), we knocked on the front door one evening, in the mood for pizza. "We" being two adults and five adolescent girls. And we immediately touched by the warm, open and friendly atmosphere created by the French couple running this place. The food was excellent, and we had such a nice evening there all seven of us. We spent also our last evening in Essaouira at Sol E Luna, as were met by Emilie, Christophe and their little Betty as old friends.

We were also shown the rest of the hotel and the rooms, and it was easy to conclude that on our next stay in Essaouira, we definitely want to stay at Sol E Luna.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying with Emilie et Christophe while staying in Essaouira for 5 nights.

They greeted me like family and were kind and hospitable for me throughout my stay.

I arrived an exhausted Londoner and left relaxed and rejuvenated thanks to their hospitality.

Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol E Luna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol E Luna Hotel

Address: BP 139 Km 7 Route d'agadir | El Ghazoua, Essaouira 44002, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sol E Luna Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol e Luna Hotel is situated 10 minutes from Essaouira's Medina, the old city. It is a part of a real Moroccan village with small local shops, petits taxis, donkieys, sheep and local buses offering fast and exotic rides to the city of Essaouira.Sol e Luna offers six welcoming rooms, each guest will find her favorite color as well as a spacious bathroom and toilette - which is not the case in many local hotels!Sol e Luna has also a secret weapon, Halima, a local farmer's wife, who cooks wonderful meals from spicy to sweet. Families with kids can also easily put together their own pizza or order a tasty French meal.The owners of Sol e Luna, Emilie and Christophe, make you feel at home as soon as you open the door. The cat comes to say hello too, as well as some turtles and budgericar - Sol e Luna also welcomes and takes care of children of all age; Babysitting service available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sol E Luna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol E Luna Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.