We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, terrific food, lovely staff. Some drawbacks.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa to your Saves list
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Domaine Mogador, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
save up to 35%
Ranked #29 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Paris
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, terrific food, lovely staff. Some drawbacks.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed for five nights. The hotel is about ten minutes by car outside of the village of Essaouira and is beautifully designed with lovely use of blue tiling and European and Moroccan influences. It is set back from the beach (a 25 minute walk across the golf course) and blends in nicely with the coastline. The hotel itself is nicely laid out around one of the principal outdoor swimming pools (which is heated). The poolside is perfect for lounging around on nice sun beds, and the pool great for kids messing about as well as for doing lengths. There is another great pool which is natural (bio, not chlorinated and also not heated) which is a little fresh in April and hence quieter.

The rooms in the hotel are very nice from a visual perspective with terrific balconies, and also very comfortable. From a practical perspective the rooms are not perfect. For example, the bathroom opens into the bedroom, and is separated only by latticed woodwork door panels or a screen which can be lowered. Nevertheless we felt that the privacy and intimacy of the bathroom is compromised. It is probably fine for people who have no issues in this regard but we had two rooms and our three children sharing the second room were not too keen at all on this as they felt very exposed when doing anything in the bathroom. Even taking a shower for example. So they set up all kinds of tactics of barricades and draping towels in strategic locations! We also noted some noise from the rooms above ours, which was rather bothersome. The hotel took this seriously and tried to find solutions.

The beds are very comfortable and feature the lovely Sofitel bed. The feather under-quilt does however have a tendency to create a kind of mountain (and therefore natural barrier) in the middle of the double bed, which kind of runs contrary to the intimacy created by the open plan bedroom/bathroom! Ask the chamber maid or housekeeping to flatten it down now and then.

We thought the food was terrific. There was plenty of choice at the breakfast buffet with something for everyone. For some of our lunches we ate in the Atlantique or at the poolside bar. These were both excellent. The tajine at the Atlantique was the best we ate in Morocco during our stay there. It is also possible to order from both the poolside menu and the Atlantique menu whilst eating at the Atlantique. We were also lucky enough to eat in the gastronomic restaurant 'L'atelier des Epices' and it was very very good and tasty. Copious though!

From a kids entertainment perspective there is a kids club for kids up to the age of 12. There was nothing however for teenagers and ours were disappointed by this. It seems that there is a teenage club in August for the peak holiday season.

There was free wi-fi and this was very much appreciated by all in our family what with all the devices we had.

The Spa is also gorgeous. Worth a visit and the treatments were very nice indeed. There is a third pool in the spa where you can swim against the current if you are up for that.

Finally, we found the staff very friendly and helpful. Granted service was sometimes slow - and it is advisable to get the waiters to double-check the order each time as they do not all speak perfect French or English, but all of the staff really are kind and welcoming.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors to avoid noise from neighbors above and to have a better view fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edoardo G, General Manager at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear guests,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive such a positive feedback: thank you for all the nice comments, which we will definitely share with our team.

I am sure that this feedback will be an encouragement to all of our ambassador team, as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our hotel.

Concerning the few drawbacks you noted, please accept our sincerest apologies: we take your remarks into account concerning the slow service and the absence of a real teenagers' club. However, regarding the last point, I would like to specify that all sportive, cultural and outdoor activities of our "Maginfique Leisure" program are accessible to your teenagers!

Please, feel free to contact us on the topic if you want more details: we can, upon request, cococt you a tailor-made program for your next stay among us!

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best regards,

Edoardo GIUNTOLI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    231
    90
    39
    21
See reviews for
255
365
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights before heading down to Marrakech. We used the hotel transfer to collect us from Marrakech airport which was very efficient. We arrived early but the front desk were very quick in trying to get a room ready for us despite it being 10am and check out isn't until noon. That was greatly appreciated as we had been up since 2am. The rooms are very spacious and modern decor. The floor is the only thing that let's it down as it looks a bit a tatty. The restaurants in the hotel are very expensive and to be honest not worth it when you compare the price and quality you get in the town. Gym is small, has the basics. Would expect more from a Sofitel gym but perhaps they don't have the clientele to use it hence why it's minimal. The courtesy shuttle is great, the 7pm bus is really busy so make sure you get there early if you wish to get on the bus as it's only a small bus. Breakfast is a disaster! Service is poor, it's chaos everyone is all over the place, they sat us down at a dirty table and then we didn't get served. The food is dry, had been left out too long. And prices are a rip off! Do not waste your time eating there. Much nicer places in the town better food and at decent prices. They capitalise on the fact that it's the only place to eat breakfast and you just don't get the service or quality. Overall lovely hotel, service needs to be Improved on throughout. It's not quite Sofitel standard that you would get in European sofitels. In the main enjoyable but certainly room for improvement if It wants to market itself as 5star.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edoardo G, General Manager at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for staying at the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa and for taking the time to share your impressions concerning your vacations.

We were pleased to read your positive feedback concerning the efficiency of the transfers, the quick check-in, and the beauty and the comfort of the rooms.

With regards to your constructive feedback, we are really sorry to read that part of our services did not match your expectations.
Your comments don’t correspond with the experience we wanted you to have, and we sincerely apologize for that.

With regards to the food, our prices are in line with those of the other 5 stars hotel of the destination and mainly due to the high quality of the raw materials and the high hygiene standards applied in our hotel.

We appreciate however your concerns and thank you once again for bringing them to our attention.


Kind regards,

Edoardo GIUNTOLI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

The hotel has a very modern design and has been well thought through. The pool area is central and has great views across the golf course and woods to the sea. The rooms are very cool. Large tub stone baths , dressing area, rainfall shower , large comfy beds and good size balcony - really top quality. We had interconnecting rooms with children and these were available on our arrival at around 1 pm.
The only real criticism of the hotel is the breakfast is a bit chaotic - the food quality is good but the service is haphazard - not what you would expect of top class hotel.
The free shuttle bus into town is great - don't be put off by some reviews complaining about the distance from town - it takes less than 10 mins.
Some excellent restaurants - in particular would recommend the Cafe Caravane - good food plus music , magician, and fire eater!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edoardo G, General Manager at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, thanks a lot for sharing your impressions concerning your stay at the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa with us.

We are delighted to read to you spent a really nice stay among us, and that you enjoyed our rooms designed by Didier Gomez, the pool area, and the views across the golf, the woods, and the ocean.

We take note of your constructive remark concerning the breakfast, and will do our very best to improve this point with our teams.


Thanks again for sharing your impressions,

Kind regards,

Edoardo GIUNTOLI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

After the madness of Marrakech, Essaouira was a revelation with its sweeping beaches and laid back atmosphere. The Sofitel got us off to a lovely relaxing start after our long drive with a welcoming mint tea and raspberry macaroon. The two bedroom pool villa was fantastic and a great place to relax and enjoy the incredibly good (non windy) weather. Great gardens, communal pools and open spaces and lots for children to do. The absolute highlight was a camel ride across the sand dunes and the beach organised through the hotel at the nearby ranch with reassuring guide Hassan.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edoardo G, General Manager at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear guests,


First of all, thanks a lot for taking the time to share your impressions concerning your experience at the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa. It is indeed always a pleasure to be praised, as we consider our guest's feedback as very important.

We are delighted to read that you liked both the lovely Essaouira and its laid back atmosphere and our magnifique hotel. We are really glad to learn that you enjoyed staying in a villa: this is indeed an amazing option for families looking for privacy and great outdoors. We are also very satisfied that the gardens, the pools, and the numerous activities for children matched with your expectations. We are looking forward to see you again.


Thanks again for your nice comment,


Kind regards,


Edoardo GIUNTOLI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalter, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We just came back from a 3 night stay in this hotel. Positive experience In Globo.
Positive is:
- ideal location when you fly with Ryanair on airport essaouira : 15 km from hotel, taxi immediately for 15 euro to the hotel .
- friendly reception, beautifull hall
- standard room we had, is spacious (46 m2), and very good shower. Marrocan bath is nice accent and atmosphere. Very nice lightning concept in and outside everywhere. Beautiful view from every room. We had room 168. view ocean en nice garden ( interesting when you bring kids along)
Choice of materials is beautiful, but after 3 years you see already problems: for example floor doesn't bear water, lavabo has black spots.
Bed is very good quality !

About staff:
In general:
+ Staff is friendly and professional in communication
- staff is slow: you have to wait long before you get what you ask, especially around the pool. So do calculate enough of time when you ask something. They need more training in seeing work , as in combining things on their way. For example: Our plateau from room service stood in the hall way from 8 pm till 10 am in the morning. Also cushions from chairs at the pool were blown away into the water and again, nobody came. You see very rare staff at the natural pool. Even the gardeners passed by and nothing happened.
They should walk around more to see those things, now they often just hang around together . We asked a bottle of rose wine at the pool but the wine was not cooled, they just put it in ice but the temperature for drinking wine was to hot. They couldn't offer us a cold bottle... That was unacceptable.

About- cleaning personnel:

Room is clean enough but not thorough: we missed a little sun cream by mistake on the mirror, and 2 days later it still wasn't cleaned.
They are indeed very friendly and helpfull when you ask something.


What was very weird is that personnel often come at the worst hours : the last evening someone came to check the minibar and give the letter of the day at 10 PM ! The morning after at 9.30 am again, just when you want to get ready.

- Personnel at the reception were well trained: searching for solutions, friendly, thorough ... As well as baggage and door man.

About food:
Breakfast is perfect. Lots of choice, for everybody: adults, kids, vegetarians. Very well. Really good is they have a combination of French as maroccan influences. Try the maroccan pancakes and their homemade honeys and jams: delicious !

The environment was very nice: beautiful gardens. Gardeners are there every day and work hard. Bicycles were out of order during our stay but certainly something to do (600 ha. nature).

About weather : always sunny, 20-25 degrees end of March but very windy. Dining outside for breakfast (except from 10 am) and evening is not possible due of weather this time of the year.

So positive weighs definitely because negative things are small things .
One advice for Sofitel: let local staff see how fast and good service staff is possible, for example by coaching on the job with experienced staff or service oriented staff (mixed cultures) from who locals can see and learn from.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edoardo G, General Manager at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Sir & Madam,


Firstly, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience and impressions about your stay at the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa.

We are absolutely pleased to read that you have had an excellent "short winter break", and that you enjoyed the beauty of the rooms designed by Didier Gomez, the magic of our magnifique Lobby, the quality of MyBed, and the kind temper and helping hand of our staff.

Concerning the other points, please be ensured that we wil spread the word to the relevant departments concerning your remarks: contructive feedback are always well-appreciated and taken into account! We are really glad that, despite these small inconveniences, you enjoyed the hotel and have had a very positive experience!

Thank you again for you nice comments,

We are looking forward to welcome you again at the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa,


Kind regards,



Edoardo GIUNTOLI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed march 2014
Family with young children
Weather was good

Good points:
Was upgraded
Room size
Room style
Gardens
Pool
Spa
Gym
Some staff
Shuttle service

Points that are not my favourite:

Location quite far- however offers free shuttle.
Breakfast not as varied as agadir sofitel
Some people look abit annoyed that children are here..

So overall good outweighs the bad by far
If I was in essaouria again would stay here

Tip: personally I think agadir souk el ahad obviously is the best and biggest market by far to shop with very good prices.

Then marrakech souk I would 2nd
And last essaouria although it is much less hectic than marrakech and to me a mix of agadir and marrakech.

Room Tip: I booked the cheapest room But kindly was upgraded The room had good views of the unheated pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edoardo G, General Manager at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to send a comment and to share your impressions concerning your stay at the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa.

We are really glad that you chose to spend time at our hotel with your family and that you appreciated the experience here.

We were pleased to read that you loved the weather, the room you were upgraded in, the gardens, the pool, the gym, the spa, and the shuttle system, which is indeed very useful to go directly to Essaouira's old Medina!


Thank you again for sharing your feedback with us and for your interest in our hotel,

Kind regards,

Edoardo GIUNTOLI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed for three nights in March in the Sofitel Essaouira and it really is a beautiful hotel. Very lovely and scenic.

The best part for us was the room - decorated to an outstanding standard with a wonderful blue tiled bath. The balcony was a perfect sun trap as it was very windy when we stayed so perfect to sunbathe on your own private balcony. TV and Bose sound dock were nice touches too.

The rest of the hotel was great, but the restaurants were slightly hectic. The prices are much higher than you would expect to get in Essaouira in the Medina but the food is excellent. The prices in the bar are also astronomical.

However for breakfast the restaurant was a disaster area. Lots of staff walking around but not cleaning tables or helping people. It was hectic and utter chaos. So the food was good but the atmosphere was very strained as there were lots of complaining guests.

The bus into the town was very useful - goes every hour but get there early if you want a seat because when it's full it will go without you as we found to our detriment.

All in all a lovely hotel, very relaxing but watch out for busy times in the restaurant and eat elsewhere if you want to save money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edoardo G, General Manager at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Madam and Sir,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us. Having your feedback is indeed very important to us.

We are glad that you enjoyed the setting of the hotel, the amazing view over the golf and the ocean, and the beauty of the room design.

Please accept our sincere apologies concerning the unpleasant experience you have had with the restaurant for breakfast: I will definitely inform our teams of your feedback, so that we can take the required measures to improve ourselves concerning the points you mention.

I am nevertheless very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay among us despite these inconveniences, and that you keep a positive memory of our hotel.


Thanks again for your constructive feedback,

Kind regards,

Edoardo GIUNTOLI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa

Address: Domaine Mogador, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#8 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#12 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Escapio, EasyToBook, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf Hotel Essaouira
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.