We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish restaurant and golf course though overall somewhat overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa to your Saves list
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Domaine Mogador, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
save up to 35%
Ranked #28 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great fish restaurant and golf course though overall somewhat overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were a good size and very well designed as many were interconnecting thus perfect for travelling with children. The outdoor terrace was lovely and very spacious. The only complaint was the bathroom with lack of shower enclosure which left the bathroom a swampland in minutes.

The international buffet was very good with plenty of choice. The only complaint in this regard was that I had warned the hotel that I was severly dairy, gluten, and egg intolerant and requested they obtain gluten free bread etc..which despite further requests while we were there never was fulfilled.
Overall lovely place and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edoardo G, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Madame,

Thank you for your review of the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa on Tripadvisor.

I was surprised to read your comments with regards to your dietary requirements as we pride ourselves in providing several gluten free options in our menus (pizzas, pastas, bread, etc.).
I will investigate why we were unable to provide the requested items, and please allow me to express my apologies for the inconvenience.

On a positive note, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the size of our rooms and you had a pleasant stay in our hotel.

On behalf of all of us, I look forward to welcoming you back to Mogador.

Best regards,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    229
    90
    39
    21
See reviews for
255
363
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a very nice hotel, great pool and different restaurants options. The international buffet was exquisite ! And the breakfast buffet is also great. The golf is right next to the hotel which is great. We found that the service at some point was not up to 5* standards. Don't get me wrong, they welcomed us with tea and many gentlemen to bring our luggage. But I found their "speech" to be very ceremonial and unnatural.
We went for dinner at their gastronomic restaurant. Again, food was great, but service ... our waitress was not very smiley and looked a bit snob. Plus when we got there, the bathroom had no soap left, no hand towels and it stayed like that for quite a while, until one of us told them while they were chit-chatting at the reception of the restaurant. So, that's kind of what I mean by service is not up to 5* hotel. But overall, great place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edoardo G, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to read that you found our hotel very nice, and particularly appreciated the quality of our dining options, the pool and the golf facilities.

I would also like to personally thank you for your constructive feedback, which help us to monitor and improve our standards.

On behalf of all of us, I look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa.

Best regards,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

From the moment we arrived at the hotel, we were warmly greeted and escorted to our rooms. The rooms are spacious, very well appointed, decor modern and inviting. The pool and spa were 5-Star.
Wonderful location - 5 minute walk to the Medina.
I would highly recommend the hotel for a personal or corporate stay.

Room Tip: The majority of rooms face the spectacular pool..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edoardo G, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & spa on Tripadvisor.

I am very pleased to read that you truly enjoyed your stay with us, and were particularly satisfied with the size of the rooms, the heated swimming pool and the Spa.

On behalf of all of us, thank you for recommending our hotel.

Kind regards,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Best way to see Essaouira!

Modern, beautiful, thoughtful rooms. Very spacious!

Shuttles every hour to Essaouira and back from morning to night. Wonderful selection for breakfast. After traveling from riad to riad, with a croissant and coffee for breakfast, I'm sad to say that my stomach couldn't take advantage of Sofitel's offerings.

Fantastic, attentive service. Staff was very accommodating.

Go for an ocean view room at the top floor and enjoy sun rays from the privacy of your own terrace. Saw ground floor rooms, and the upgrade will definitely makes a big difference!

Negatives:

(Small things!)

Bose speakers don't play loud enough to be heard on the alcony even with open doors.

Water was not hot enough for a proper steaming bath in the room.

Cleanliness, like everywhere in Morocco is not really up to North American, and certainly not Asian (read: the hyper clean Taiwanese and Japanese) standards.

Weak wifi everywhere but inside your rooms. I really wished the pool areas had signals allowing guests to browse and lounge all day!

Room Tip: Ocean view, its worth it! And get a villa if traveling with kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edoardo G, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Madame, Sir

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa.

I would also like to thank you for your constructive feedback with regards to the cleanless of the room.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and thank you once again for recommending the Sofitel Mogador on Tripadvisor.

On behalf of the entire team, I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Edoardo GIUNTOLI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

excellent hotel, very relaxing, everything perfect.... the only but I can say is a bit high prices for golfing. rooms and resot are great and very clean. staff is very nice. We really enjoyed our stay. essaouira is very pretty and you can visit any day, just 5minutes from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edoardo G, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Madam, Sir

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa. I was extremely pleased to read that you fully enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Edoardo GIUNTOLI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed for fortnight staff could not be more helpful . Wonderful food used all three restaurants and enjoyed all of them the breakfast offered a fantastic selection i particularly enjoyed the orange table with a great selection of locally produced specialities . We used both pools the fresh water one being a little bracing but beautifully quite . I took advantage of the golf package 7 days golf and practice for under £300 whilst my wife enjoyed the gym . The course is a true test with greens running at 12 on the stimp meter and a variable windy conditions the course is only 5 years old but is already well established .The transfer from marrachech was longer than we thought but look forward to news that flights from uk will be direct to Essaouria later this year .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edoardo G, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Madame, Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor. It's always a pleasure to receive such a positive feedback!

We are very pleased to read that you truly enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were satisfied with the service provided by our Ambassadors.

On behalf of all of us, I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Edoardo GIUNTOLI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

An exceptional Hotel where the staff treat you like royalty. Everbody is very friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. Essaouira is only a short hotel shuttle drive away and a must for a visit and provides a great feel for the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edoardo G, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa.

I was extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

On behalf of all of us, I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Edoardo Giuntoli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa

Address: Domaine Mogador, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#7 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#12 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Escapio, ACCOR, EasyToBook, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf Hotel Essaouira
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.