We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Domaine Mogador, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

excellent hotel, very relaxing, everything perfect.... the only but I can say is a bit high prices for golfing. rooms and resot are great and very clean. staff is very nice. We really enjoyed our stay. essaouira is very pretty and you can visit any day, just 5minutes from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edoardo G, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Madam, Sir

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa. I was extremely pleased to read that you fully enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Edoardo GIUNTOLI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    365
    186
    58
    27
    13
See reviews for
202
309
14
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed for fortnight staff could not be more helpful . Wonderful food used all three restaurants and enjoyed all of them the breakfast offered a fantastic selection i particularly enjoyed the orange table with a great selection of locally produced specialities . We used both pools the fresh water one being a little bracing but beautifully quite . I took advantage of the golf package 7 days golf and practice for under £300 whilst my wife enjoyed the gym . The course is a true test with greens running at 12 on the stimp meter and a variable windy conditions the course is only 5 years old but is already well established .The transfer from marrachech was longer than we thought but look forward to news that flights from uk will be direct to Essaouria later this year .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edoardo G, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Madame, Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor. It's always a pleasure to receive such a positive feedback!

We are very pleased to read that you truly enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were satisfied with the service provided by our Ambassadors.

On behalf of all of us, I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Edoardo GIUNTOLI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

An exceptional Hotel where the staff treat you like royalty. Everbody is very friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. Essaouira is only a short hotel shuttle drive away and a must for a visit and provides a great feel for the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edoardo G, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa.

I was extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

On behalf of all of us, I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Edoardo Giuntoli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntwood
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We are still here but due to fly home tomorrow :( we booked through Voyage Prive and everything was organised so well. The hotel is wonderful and the staff are so friendly. They remembered our drinks choices at breakfast and dinner and made the whole experience wonderful. As other reviewers have commented, the rooms are very spacious and the bed is so so comfy! We found the hotel to be really clean and yes, the birds do go in but they cover your bread baskets so it wasn't really a problem for us, we find it quite amusing!
The balcony is spacious but we did miss having a table and chairs .... In fact all the seating is very low in morocco - they obviously have no problems with knees out here!
The pool is heated and as soon as you arrive, the staff prepare your towel and position your umbrella if you want one. The climate has been fantastic for us as there is always a nice breeze so never felt too hot or humid.
Overall a truly lovely holiday, very relaxing .... Thanks to all the staff :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edoardo G, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guests,

I was very pleased to read from your review that you truly enjoyed your stay with us.

On behalf of the entire team, I look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Edoardo GIUNTOLI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 2 weeks and had a lovely time. We were given rooms that had a communal garden area and private terrace, which was lovely to relax and for the kids to play. The hotel is beautiful, the main pool is huge and very pretty and plenty of comfortable sunbeds.The rooms are VERY big and luxurious, the only little downside is that bathroom (including the toilet) is open in the bedroom. Not much privacy, you could be having a bath with a neighbour walking past your room on the communal terrace and seeing you....

The service was very good when the hotel was not full, but as soon as people started to arrive, the staff had trouble keeping up.....I found the cleaning the bedrooms so so, the floors were not cleaned properly and we had to keep asking for new s I've stayed at the Sofitel in Agadir though, and I must say that the service in Essaouira was way better.

There are free shuttles every hour into Essaouira which is very handy. From the hotel you can walk to the beach via the golf course, it's about a 15 minute walk which is lovely and the beach is awesome. Huge sandy beach, although you probably can't swim in the sea as the waves were very big. The hotel is located outside Essaouira, a walk into town is probably 60-90 minutes.

Don't even consider the kids club it's awful. They have no games, are very low on equipment and the staff although very willing to look after the kids, not to be trusted. They have a pool which a gate which remains open and no staff member nearby. My kids never wanted to stay, they were not ever stimulated and activities were not proposed. It's not really the staff fault I would say, more the lack of equipment and perhaps training with kids.

Overall, we had a lovely relaxing holiday and I would recommend the hotel without a doubt. There are less people in Essaouira than in Marrakech and/or Agadir, and it is much more laid back.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden/sea view room (superior room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edoardo G, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Madame, Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive and detailed review on Tripadvisor.

We were extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed the facilities, the quality of our restaurants and the service provided by our Ambassadors.

We hope to have you back with us in the near future.

Sincerely,

Edoardo GIUNTOLI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The hotel is lovely and the food great. Get the free bus into town in the evening if you want a drink at less inflated prices. Beach pretty but no swimming possible as far too rough. Staff good, however do check your bill as ours was wrong by a long way but changed when we queried this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edoardo G, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Edoardo GIUNTOLI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We couldn’t wait to be back and the first opportunity we had we went to Mogador again.... From the moment we entered the hotel we felt at home again; great hospitality by the warm and authentic people who represent this beautiful designed Sofitel!
Besides the comfortable rooms, the quality of the food and the peaceful atmosphere in the public spaces ,the climat in Mogodor is lovely As it is all year round. We couldn’t wish for more for our holiday. We will be back and hope that the hotel stays as it is right now or even better!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edoardo G, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Peter,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor and for your loyalty to the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa.

It's a pleasure to see that we have a new Ambassador of our resort !

We can't wait to have you back with us.

Warm regards,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa

Address: Domaine Mogador, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Essaouira
#4 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#4 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#12 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Splendia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Escapio so you can book your Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf Hotel Essaouira
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.