We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa to your Saves list
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Domaine Mogador, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
save up to 35%
Ranked #28 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

An exceptional Hotel where the staff treat you like royalty. Everbody is very friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. Essaouira is only a short hotel shuttle drive away and a must for a visit and provides a great feel for the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edoardo G, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa.

I was extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

On behalf of all of us, I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Edoardo Giuntoli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    224
    90
    38
    21
See reviews for
250
358
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burntwood
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We are still here but due to fly home tomorrow :( we booked through Voyage Prive and everything was organised so well. The hotel is wonderful and the staff are so friendly. They remembered our drinks choices at breakfast and dinner and made the whole experience wonderful. As other reviewers have commented, the rooms are very spacious and the bed is so so comfy! We found the hotel to be really clean and yes, the birds do go in but they cover your bread baskets so it wasn't really a problem for us, we find it quite amusing!
The balcony is spacious but we did miss having a table and chairs .... In fact all the seating is very low in morocco - they obviously have no problems with knees out here!
The pool is heated and as soon as you arrive, the staff prepare your towel and position your umbrella if you want one. The climate has been fantastic for us as there is always a nice breeze so never felt too hot or humid.
Overall a truly lovely holiday, very relaxing .... Thanks to all the staff :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edoardo G, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guests,

I was very pleased to read from your review that you truly enjoyed your stay with us.

On behalf of the entire team, I look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Edoardo GIUNTOLI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 2 weeks and had a lovely time. We were given rooms that had a communal garden area and private terrace, which was lovely to relax and for the kids to play. The hotel is beautiful, the main pool is huge and very pretty and plenty of comfortable sunbeds.The rooms are VERY big and luxurious, the only little downside is that bathroom (including the toilet) is open in the bedroom. Not much privacy, you could be having a bath with a neighbour walking past your room on the communal terrace and seeing you....

The service was very good when the hotel was not full, but as soon as people started to arrive, the staff had trouble keeping up.....I found the cleaning the bedrooms so so, the floors were not cleaned properly and we had to keep asking for new s I've stayed at the Sofitel in Agadir though, and I must say that the service in Essaouira was way better.

There are free shuttles every hour into Essaouira which is very handy. From the hotel you can walk to the beach via the golf course, it's about a 15 minute walk which is lovely and the beach is awesome. Huge sandy beach, although you probably can't swim in the sea as the waves were very big. The hotel is located outside Essaouira, a walk into town is probably 60-90 minutes.

Don't even consider the kids club it's awful. They have no games, are very low on equipment and the staff although very willing to look after the kids, not to be trusted. They have a pool which a gate which remains open and no staff member nearby. My kids never wanted to stay, they were not ever stimulated and activities were not proposed. It's not really the staff fault I would say, more the lack of equipment and perhaps training with kids.

Overall, we had a lovely relaxing holiday and I would recommend the hotel without a doubt. There are less people in Essaouira than in Marrakech and/or Agadir, and it is much more laid back.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden/sea view room (superior room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edoardo G, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Madame, Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive and detailed review on Tripadvisor.

We were extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed the facilities, the quality of our restaurants and the service provided by our Ambassadors.

We hope to have you back with us in the near future.

Sincerely,

Edoardo GIUNTOLI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The hotel is lovely and the food great. Get the free bus into town in the evening if you want a drink at less inflated prices. Beach pretty but no swimming possible as far too rough. Staff good, however do check your bill as ours was wrong by a long way but changed when we queried this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edoardo G, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Edoardo GIUNTOLI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We couldn’t wait to be back and the first opportunity we had we went to Mogador again.... From the moment we entered the hotel we felt at home again; great hospitality by the warm and authentic people who represent this beautiful designed Sofitel!
Besides the comfortable rooms, the quality of the food and the peaceful atmosphere in the public spaces ,the climat in Mogodor is lovely As it is all year round. We couldn’t wish for more for our holiday. We will be back and hope that the hotel stays as it is right now or even better!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edoardo G, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Peter,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor and for your loyalty to the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa.

It's a pleasure to see that we have a new Ambassador of our resort !

We can't wait to have you back with us.

Warm regards,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We have just returned from this hotel. As other reviewers have commented, not really 5 star but a good 4 star. A couple of problems, small but could be important. First the birds flying round the main dining room particularly at breakfast time. They fed from the cereal bowls and pecked at the bread/pastries delivered to the tables. A huge hygiene issue. Also, we were told that the hotel was only two years old and it looked a little tired in places.

On the plus side the staff were largely very charming although it is a big help if you can speak French.

Our main complaint was with the Spa and this is a big warning to other package trip people. We had booked via Voyage Prive for a superior room etc to include four spa treatments each (i.e. 8 in total). The paperwork made no mention of an limit on the type of treatment. Having read that the Spa could be overbooked I contacted the hotel before I left and booked 8 treatments direct with the Spa (owned and managed by the hotel). On our first treatment we explained that we were on a package. We were told that this was fine but that we needed to sign a payment slip for interdepartment purposes. This seemed logical so we signed, but we were concerned as we had signed at reception on arrival a blank credit card slip for about £700. Each time we had a further spa session we reminded them about our package and even took along a copy of our reservation booking and we were told that everything was OK.
However on the morning of checking out we still had two massages to have, but went to pay our bill beforehand for meals etc. We were horrified to see Spa treatments on the bill. The Spa people could not explain the charges. They simply said that our package had limits on the treatments offered and I said it was a pity no one had bothered to tell us in advance or even as we had the treatments. The hotel manager was called but he could not be bothered to speak to us. He preferred to discuss bus times with a clearly more important French guest.
Eventually I felt that I would not want any more treatments at the Spa after all the bad feeling so we cancelled the last two treatments and on that basis they agreed to deduct the charges. This took an hour of 'discussion' at the desk in reception and really ruined the end of what was supposed to be a destress holiday. Horrendous and not good to feel that management could not be bothered with us.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edoardo G, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear madame,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

I was sad to read that your experience at the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa was not a positive one, I would however gladly welcome the opportunity to reverse the image you have of our resort if you would allow me.

I hope you will give us an opportunity to show the improvement during your next trip to Essaouira.

Kind regards,

Edoardo Giuntoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed for two weeks and had the chance to experience the whole range of service quality in the Sofitel: In the first week, the hotel was not very frequented and the service was excellent. All staff were very attentive and there were nearly no waiting time during the meal times or in other service areas (room service, cleaning). In our second week the hotel was more booked and unfortunately the service quality decreased substantially: There were waiting times during breakfast for nearly everything and during dinner time the main restaurant was very full. Moreover, the staff seemed to only perform well during the presence of the hotel manager. When the manager was not present, the staff was less attentive and many details were less than 5 star... Also room cleaning was very irregular in the second week with very late cleaning, forgotten evening service or itmes that were not cleaned or exchanged.
Other items that were widely discussed in earlier reviews are true: The beds with raised middle parts are quite unusual for Sofitel and especially bad if you travel (like us) with a Baby. Also the language capability of the staff was below our expectation: English was not always well understood and for important things like transfers we needed more than one confirmation. A Birthday arrangement for my wife was delivered too late... At least the staff tried to compensate it later. Besides the imperfections, all staff was very friendly and open.
The hotel design is very modern and fresh, we liked it very much. Especially the rooms are very cool and exciting. A nice area is also the lower lobby with the library and pool view, where unfortunately no drinks are served. The outdoor deck belonging to the bar was uninviting because of the very harsh and uncomfortable light during nighttime.
The food quality was ok, but not fully up to the expectations to the hotel rating and brand: For dinner there are only two restaurants: The buffet and one a la carte. The variety at both restaurants is low. Also there was not enough influence/inspiration from the local cuisine. Most of the local dishes were rather uninspired and there was no fresh seafood as you would expect in a seaside resort like this.
Overall the Sofitel is recommendable for a shorter stay during the off season.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edoardo G, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Daniel,

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of the Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa.

I am sorry that your experience did not always meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

On a positive note, I am delighted to see that the overall stay was a positive one and that you recommend our property.

Warm regards from Morocco.

Edoardo Giuntoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa

Address: Domaine Mogador, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#7 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#12 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Escapio, ACCOR, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf Hotel Essaouira
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.