We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa to your Saves list
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Domaine Mogador, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
save up to 35%
Ranked #28 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Marrakech, Morocco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Wonderfull place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I was in Essaouira for a couple's birthday. I really enjoyed staying at this Sofitel. The staff is so concerned by every request. Food is very good in all outlets that I have tried. A very good property for either a week end escape or a leisure/business group. I strongly recommand this hotel that has all the necessary facilities and even additionnal luxuary touches.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dkarbownik, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feed back! We appreciated that you enjoyes your stay with us... The Site and also the rooms and all the restaurants!

Hope to see you soon in Mogador!!!

Best Regards

Daniel karbownik
GM Sofitel Mogador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    224
    90
    38
    21
See reviews for
250
359
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

just returned 10th January 2013 - Heaven is the word for relaxation you feel the experience when you set foot in the doorway... from getting out of your courtesy Limo which they pick you up in with compliments from the hotel to returning in same limo back to the airport on your return. meeting the director from the hotel shaking your hand to welcoming you ...gifts, chocolates along with free refreshments daily in your room the service was no words to describe but first class. What wonderful staff making sure you have the attention in whatever you need while you stay in their. Some may find this a little pricey for Morocco but overall you have a holiday you may never forget and price does not come into this when staying at such a place you forget as you are sucked into the atmosphere of the place and yet still cheaper than hotels at home without the service you receive here...... so go and treat yourself in this hotel believe me you will never forget such a place.

thank you to all the wonderful staff and management you are doing a great job in making sure customers are well looked after and of course having a great holiday in your country, weather, local people, food all excellent

Yvonne Jackson arrived 31st Dec 2012 (room 143) ..

Room Tip: every room was 100% excellent no worries there
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dkarbownik, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Yvonne

Thank you very much for your message!

Like you know , all the staff of the "ambassadors" want that people don't forget Mogador when they came.... So happy you had wonderful time with us...

Hope to see you soon and one more time... Happy new year!!

Daniel Karbownik
GM Sofitel Mogador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed for a week in December when it was very quiet and we really loved the hotel , from the room to the well kept grounds and golf course we found it calming and simply stunning . The people at the hotel were genuine and very friendly and even though they struggled to understand my accent some time it never caused us any problems and we found everyone very helpful. The only down side was the food poising I suffered , though the hotel helped me with a constant supply of water and even getting some medication for me from the village . This is also where we noticed how everyone really did try and help from suggesting chamomile tea to just asking how I was and if I was feeling better, so unfortunately we did not get to test all the different food options but what we did have we enjoyed .
Golf with two trollies cost us about £105 or with a buggy it came to roughly £125 , and the food and drink prices are quite expensive for instance a jack Daniels and coke was roughly £10 a burger around £17.
Despite being confined to the room for 3 days I have to say we would go back we enjoyed the place and the people and very much the golf course.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dkarbownik, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your positive feed back!!

We enjoyed, you had a lovely stay in Mogador and, behalf f all the staff of "ambassadors" of mogador, thank you very much !

We hope to see you soon in Mogador!

Happy New Year!

Daniel Karbownik
GM Sofitel Mogador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

On our Morocco trip, we stayed at this hotel one night. Our only regret was the limited time we had here. The rooms are very modern and comfortable. All drinks in the minibar were available at no cost. The breakfast was absolutely terrific. My daughter said it was the best breakfast she has ever had. The pool was beautiful, and the grounds of the hotel were sumptuous. I would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dkarbownik, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
dear Guest
Thank you very much for your positive feed back...And specially on our breakfeast!

Hope to see you soon in Mogador for a longer time..

Happy new Year!

Daniel Karbownik
GM Sofitel Mogador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is an excellent hotel. Very contempary in a beautifull setting. It will still take some years for this hotel to be at its best but being a demanding traveller I enjoyed the stay.
The food is expensive but realy excellent. The Spa is not exceptional but the service and settings are ok. The golf still needs some years but is already enjoyable.
The rooms are realy great, great view, terras.
The only minus is the staff at the swimming pool. They have to combine service to guests for beachtowels and sunbeds and food. This combination does not work.
If you order some food it takes them ages to first of all get you a menu. Count over 30 minutes before you will get food or drinks.
Overall the best hotel Ive stayed in Morocco.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dkarbownik, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feed back and your congratulations... We are happy you enjouyed your stay with us and hope to see another time in Mogador!!

Happy new Year

Daniel Karbownik
GM Sofitel Mogador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Essaouira! The exotic sounding town in the exotic country of Morocco has a fancy Sofitel overlooking the Atlantic yonder, beyond the golf course. The little airport that welcomed us was 10 minutes away from this hotel. Drawing up in the late dusk, I couldn't see the overall architecture of the place - that would wait till tomorrow morning. For now, it was a lot of staff with a lot of smiles welcoming their guests. The main reception area is located at a level higher than the poolside and the restaurant. The hotel allows for a lot of al fresco options - it opens up at the lower levels to the stars above and the wonderful weather this month.

The room I had was rather unique. Proceeding through the corridor, to the left was the bathing area/toilet and bang in the middle of the room is the bathtub supported by beautiful blue tiles. Yes, the bathtub is outside the bath area so that you can open the windows and feel the breeze coming from the Atlantic while you soak. Sadly I didn't have the time. Beyond the bathtub is the large bed and a settee in front of it. While on the bed, your feet point out to, where else, but the ocean. The sliding doors open to a large wooden-floored balcony with a proper sit-out and the front of the hotel below.

There were cut and laminated tree trunks that served as the seats or low tables. The room was pretty plush and very funky in terms of the things inside - like the other furniture and the exposed bathing area and its painted surfaces. For privacy you did have blinds for the bathtub and sliding lattice doors. In the night, they have live performances some times. When we were there, a French classical-influenced group was performing. Adds to the charm, doesn't it?

I spent only a night there, and woke up to see the ocean - now that can only be fantastic. The breakfast spread was, well, literally spread out, and it was fabulous. The live counters serving the Moroccan breakfast options was terrific - the only problem was communicating with some of the staff, as it helps if you know French. This hotel is beautiful, though my one-night stand with it didn't do justice.

Room Tip: Any room that overlooks the Atlantic - the higher ones should be even better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dkarbownik, Directeur général at Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest

Thyank you very much for your feed back!! We are very happy, you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you soon in Mogador!!

Best Regards

Daniel Karbownik
GM Sofitel Mogador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa

Address: Domaine Mogador, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#7 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#12 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, EasyToBook, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf Hotel Essaouira
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.