We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Window on the oceani!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jack's Apartments & Spa

Save Saved
You added Jack's Apartments & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jack's Apartments & Spa
1 Place Moulay Hassan | Scala, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 154 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Naples, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Window on the oceani!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We have stayed in the apartment n 6. It is fantastica. From inside you listen to the ocean and admire a marvellous sunset. It is a few steps from place mulay. There are a few steps in the building to get to the apartment but for sure it is worth it. Layed out on 1floor perfect for 2. On the top of the building a superb terrace overlooking the Medina and the ocean... a great choice (apartment n6....)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    14
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

1.Location is 100meters from the entrance of Medina. It is a pleasant walk in the daytime. But after 10pm when all the shops are closed, you have to walk 100 meters without seeing anyone except cats.
(I asked a Moroccan friend to accompany me to the building entrance from the 2nd night onwards)
2.Rooms have wonderful views. Especially from the roof balcony ,the view is great.Facilities are a little old. The kitchen has only gas(no electric oven). Rooms are cleaned every day. But I smelt burnt ashes from the fireplace all the time(Maybe because of a very strong wind).Toilet flush from the room upstairs can be heard early in the morning 4.Staircases are narrow and steep.You have to be careful all the way.
5. You can order breakfast in your room. It is convenient,especially when you have to leave early.The people working in the building are very helpful and pleasant.
It is a romantic and unique place, but you should not expect a total comfort.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We went my husband and I, looking for a place intimate, with great views, and affordable. We did make a mistake by choosing jacks apartments #7 (taking advice fromanother tripadvisor review). Flight of stairs is serious so, not for anybody with mobility issues. It seemed very clean, theres a tv, wood burning fireplace, kitchen, small balcony, and an AMAZING VIEW. It was confortable, well decorated. The roof terrace accessible to all guests is amazing also. We lit the fireplace at night, it wasnt cold, but just a little chlly at the end of may, so we wanted to have a romantic setting and be confortable.

It was different fromthe riad, more intimate, felt like we were in greece! We love it, love it, love it. We did get the breakfast for 4 euros, we just brought our own tea, coffee for the morning, and every night we would buy croissants, or other pastries/bread for the next morning so we could wake up at our own pace and not be disturbed. Another guest couple were having their dinner on the roof terrace, i would have done the same thing if i had more time! So romantic!

We went as a couple. But i kept thinking it would be a great place with kids too. Very central and safe, even at 9 or 10 pm, it didnt feel unsafe like some of the alleys in marrakech.

We stayed 2 nights, and would have stayed longer.

P.s. avoid the mellah part of the medina at night ( bab doukkala). Beggars and not so good people come out there, thats what ive been told by one of the locals, so i'm just transferring the info.

Room Tip: #7 is great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

A gem in the ancient port area of Essaouira. Tasteful decoration, great sea views, serene atmosphere, nice staff, clean rooms, all you could need for a short stay. Was really really happy with our find and a breath of fresh air away from the heat and commotion of Marrakech. Would certainly go back for at least a week. Lots of stairs, but good for keeping fit! :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Absolutely Stunning. We spent an incredible three nights in this great apartment.When we arrived in Essaouira the booking agents informed us that the apartment was still occupied so they were upgrading us to the apartment just above the apartment we had booked.Hmm. But WOW! The apartment was clean, well appointed and the view was just breathtaking. The pictures on their website just can't show the impact that the view offers. For the third night they told us to enjoy the sights and that they would move our belongings.Later that day we arrived at our new apartment with every thing in it's place. They even had our white wine chilling in the fridge.A real class act.
We were in Morocco for a month and this apartment(both of them)were just great. We would love to return one day to recapture the marvel and memories of Jack's Apartments and of course Essaouira.

Room Tip: Go for Any rooms on the wall with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed at this property over New Year a few years back. I’m posting the review now because there are still not a lot of places available in Essaouria and the review may help. When we arrived we had to go and get keys from a small magazine shop on one of the main streets. I think it must have been Jack’s mother in law who was there to meet us. There was a problem with the room, she said we hadn’t actually booked a room and wouldn’t believe us until we actually showed her the confirmed booking. That wasn’t so easy as I had to go and find a place with internet and a printer to print the booking. When I returned with the booking the lady seemed uninterested but spoke to someone on the phone and told us to wait. Out of the blue a man arrived and gestured for us to follow him which we did, ten minutes through the maze of streets and we were taken up to an apartment. I immediately and firmly said “No way.” And returned to the magazine shop where the lady was not at all happy. Several calls later and we were eventually given the keys of the room/apartment we were meant to have in the first place. It was at the top of a building and I liked it. It had a small kitchen area on the right, a nice bedroom and a pretty decent bathroom. There was a great terrace area to sit for evening drinks. The problem with this place is not the fault of the owners but people should be aware that Essaouira is a summer town and gets really quite cold and damp in winter. I was very surprised how cold the room/apartment got at night but could really see how this little place would be fantastic in the summer months. I’ve stayed in Essaouira several times and it is a fantastic place in summer. If you can produce a confirmed booking and go in summer then you’d probably have a great time.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed at Jack's Apartments for 3 nights in October 2011, having had recommendations from various friends and colleagues who have stayed there previously. Every good word they had said about the apartments we found to be extremely accurate. They are light and spacious, with a simple but beautifully traditional Moroccan decor. Located just behind the ramparts they offer stunning ocean views and easy access to all attractions and amenities of the town. The staff in Jack's Kiosk are also extremely helpful and well worth speaking to for advice on restaurants to visit/things to do etc. All in all extremely good value, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jack's Apartments & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jack's Apartments & Spa

Address: 1 Place Moulay Hassan | Scala, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jack's apartments are situated in buildings which are centuries old. They overlook the ancient medina ramparts and the Atlantic ocean. Fully renovated to modern standards, the apartments consist of Living Room, Bedroom, Kitchen and Bathroom, furnished in the Moroccan style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Jack's Apartments & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack's Apartments & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.