We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jack's Apartments & Spa

Save Saved
You added Jack's Apartments & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Jack's Apartments & Spa
1 Place Moulay Hassan | Scala, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 148 Essaouira B&B and Inns
London, England
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed at this property over New Year a few years back. I’m posting the review now because there are still not a lot of places available in Essaouria and the review may help. When we arrived we had to go and get keys from a small magazine shop on one of the main streets. I think it must have been Jack’s mother in law who was there to meet us. There was a problem with the room, she said we hadn’t actually booked a room and wouldn’t believe us until we actually showed her the confirmed booking. That wasn’t so easy as I had to go and find a place with internet and a printer to print the booking. When I returned with the booking the lady seemed uninterested but spoke to someone on the phone and told us to wait. Out of the blue a man arrived and gestured for us to follow him which we did, ten minutes through the maze of streets and we were taken up to an apartment. I immediately and firmly said “No way.” And returned to the magazine shop where the lady was not at all happy. Several calls later and we were eventually given the keys of the room/apartment we were meant to have in the first place. It was at the top of a building and I liked it. It had a small kitchen area on the right, a nice bedroom and a pretty decent bathroom. There was a great terrace area to sit for evening drinks. The problem with this place is not the fault of the owners but people should be aware that Essaouira is a summer town and gets really quite cold and damp in winter. I was very surprised how cold the room/apartment got at night but could really see how this little place would be fantastic in the summer months. I’ve stayed in Essaouira several times and it is a fantastic place in summer. If you can produce a confirmed booking and go in summer then you’d probably have a great time.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    13
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed at Jack's Apartments for 3 nights in October 2011, having had recommendations from various friends and colleagues who have stayed there previously. Every good word they had said about the apartments we found to be extremely accurate. They are light and spacious, with a simple but beautifully traditional Moroccan decor. Located just behind the ramparts they offer stunning ocean views and easy access to all attractions and amenities of the town. The staff in Jack's Kiosk are also extremely helpful and well worth speaking to for advice on restaurants to visit/things to do etc. All in all extremely good value, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

It's the third time that I have stayed at one of Jack's apartments ... and it has always been just magical. Greatly located near the city wall overlooking the sea and the medina ... with all the comfort wanted, lovely decoration and great service from all the staff ! The maids are discreet and Nadia is just great, always efficient and there in case of needs ! I was once sick and when she found it out, she had some special tea sent to me ... I was really touched ! This is why I keep coming back whenever I can. So thanks to all ... and see you soon !

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Jack's apartments were recommended to us via a friend and we couldn't have been happier with apartment 6. Up several narrow flights of stairs, it had fantastic sea views over the nearby ramparts. We could have spent hours staring out of the living room window at the glistening blue ocean, listening to the waves crashing. Up another two flights of stairs, there is a shared roof terrace with even better views - we took our breakfast up there several times and one night lay on the deckchairs and looked up at the very clear, starry sky.

Inside, the apartment is very attractive and clean. It is cleaned daily so you feel very well looked after for self catering. The water was hot, the shower spacious and beautiful, the bed comfortable and the kitchen well-stocked (there is even a stove-top esspresso maker). We didn't want to leave.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011 via mobile

If you like to watch the sun rise every morning from the comforts of your bed- this is the place. If you like standing on your balcony sipping mint tea and listening to the Atlantic ocean-this is the place. If ou want to pinch yourself and wonder if you are living a dream- this is the place. I have no words only pictures to explain the emotions of this apartment. The only thing u must know is that it is on the top floor so there are many,many stairs as it is part of walled medina. But your legs look great like a stair master with a view !
When I return next year that is where I will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We stayed in the mini-suite, which was clean and comfortable. I'd heard that noise was a problem, but it was cool enough to shut the windows and I had earplugs, so we slept really well. We are actually heading back with my mother-in-law and her friend in a week, staying in Apt. 1. It's gorgeous. The terrace is comfortable and we spent a lot of time reading and drinking wine up there. The women who clean are quite nice and everyone was accommodating - we were able to leave our luggage after checking out, the kiosk is easy to find, and the room was serviced every day. Highly recommended (but bring earplugs!)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

I stayed in Jack's Apartments (No. 8) with 2 friends for 3 nights in April 2011. They had been recommended by a friend who had used them a number of times. Our apartment (No. 8) was on Rue de la Skala and had no view as such as it was on the first floor and overlooked the top of the old city wall.

The apartment itself was spotlessly clean and well furbished. The kitchen was well equipped although we didn't use it much. The bathroom was pleasant but very small and more of a wet room than a bathroom (as we discovered when 3 of us had showers one after the other!). Place Moulay Hassan was a short walk away with plenty of restaurants nearby. Visitors to Jack's Apartments get a discount in the Spa which we availed of but still paid steep western prices.

We enjoyed our stay in the apartment but didn't sleep well as there was a workshop underneath our apartment and it was quite noisy late into the night and early in the mornings. We would recommend Jack's Apartments as they were very clean and reasonably priced but visitors should double check the location of the apartment they choose as not all are in the same building.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jack's Apartments & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jack's Apartments & Spa

Address: 1 Place Moulay Hassan | Scala, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jack's apartments are situated in buildings which are centuries old. They overlook the ancient medina ramparts and the Atlantic ocean. Fully renovated to modern standards, the apartments consist of Living Room, Bedroom, Kitchen and Bathroom, furnished in the Moroccan style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jack's Apartments & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack's Apartments & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.