We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hidden restaurant with fabulous food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miyame

Miyame
26 Rue Jbala, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
00212 67 35 91 148
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 210 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
France
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great little hidden restaurant with fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This tiny family-run restaurant - it seats about 10 - serves up superior food in a pleasant environment at great prices. We ate there three times and found everything to be delicious - and the stuffed sardines and the beef tagine with prunes, apricots and raisins really stood out for us. It opens at about 1pm for lunch and 7:30 pm for dinner, when reservations are advised (because the restaurant is so small). It is closed on Sunday. No liquor is served. The restaurant is hard to find even having the address and a map so you need to keep looking - it is just behind the fish souk. The family who run the restaurant are very friendly and warm and one of the women speaks a bit of English. We enjoyed sitting at the first table by the door - that way we could watch all the activity in the kitchen. Eating at this restaurant is one of the best memories we have of Morocco.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    40
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming restaurant with great food and small prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stumbled upon this little gem of a restaurant on our first evening in Essaouira and luckily the big table was still free. We were positively surprised by the fair prices. So we ordered quite a lot. The soup was delicious as were the shrimps and the risotto we had on our first night. I can also recommend the green tea with rose... We finished our dinner with the best apple cake/tarte I have ever eaten and ended up eating at this place every day of our stay in Essaouira. Do try the fish plate if you have the chance, even or friend who does not east fish enjoyed it!
The owners are genuinely kind and friendly and warm people who can only be recommended for the cosy space they have created in their restaurant.
Just as a side note, in general people tend to come back to this restaurant so you might want to reserve a table otherwise you might have to wait a bit. And it is a but difficult to find but worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velez-Malaga, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Must be the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant by a young man who had showed us around Essaouira, he said ''Go to this place, it is missed because of the location but it's the best!''. We trusted the young guide and we looked inside, only 4 tables and very relaxing, so we took it! We saw the price list and we were astonished by the prices! We ordered 2 soups (needed more spice), 2 steaks (lovely) and 2 fish dishes. The whole family was happy with their food and that I tell you is hard! 100% recommended! Hard to find though... Lovely owners!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exquisite grilled fish with orange butter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were recommended this place by the owners of our guest house and we weren't disappointed. It had lovely decor, small and intimate with low tables which were fine for us but my Grandma wouldn't have been comfortable :)
I had the shrimp which was delicious but the stand out dish was the grilled fillet of fish with orange butter - my partner describes it as "one of the best fish experiences of my culinary life". I never would have paired fish with orange but it totally worked. We both had the harira soup to start which was nice but I would have preferred it to be spicier. The seafood, decor and friendly service made it for us.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food at Maroc prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We found this by accident late in the evening when most other places were closed. We loved the fish. Great value.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miyame also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Miyame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miyame, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.