We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite grilled fish with orange butter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miyame

Miyame
26 Rue Jbala, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
00212 67 35 91 148
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 196 Restaurants in Essaouira
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exquisite grilled fish with orange butter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were recommended this place by the owners of our guest house and we weren't disappointed. It had lovely decor, small and intimate with low tables which were fine for us but my Grandma wouldn't have been comfortable :)
I had the shrimp which was delicious but the stand out dish was the grilled fillet of fish with orange butter - my partner describes it as "one of the best fish experiences of my culinary life". I never would have paired fish with orange but it totally worked. We both had the harira soup to start which was nice but I would have preferred it to be spicier. The seafood, decor and friendly service made it for us.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    121
    30
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food at Maroc prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We found this by accident late in the evening when most other places were closed. We loved the fish. Great value.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Food in a small family restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Fresh grilled fish , Kindness of people, cheap meals and great fresh morroco food
Not always open Call before

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Really sweet little place, supremely good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Really sweet cosy little place with ultra friendly service and very tasty food. Extremely good value. Only downer is a lot of the things on the menu had run out, including the highly reputed apple pie.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best option in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Most of our visits were to this place, while staying in town for 30+ days. Definately the best value for money in town. The menu is traditional Moroccan foods, nothing too fancy. Occasionally the dried the meat a little too much, while on grille. But so do most (if not all) of the local eateries.

Specials on (pre)order!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miyame also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Miyame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miyame, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.