We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view, great location, wonderful host!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Skala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Skala to your Saves list
Dar Skala
26 Ibn Rochd | Medina, Essaouira 44100, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 160 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing view, great location, wonderful host!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had an amazing stay at Dar Skala and even stayed longer than we intended. The rooftop patio has the best view in Essaouira, eating breakfast in the morning and enjoying sunsets each night. The room was very spacious with beautiful Moroccan decor. Jorge, his son, Pablo, and dog, Luna, were the perfect hosts! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    24
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
43
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
equality
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at dar skala. Jorge, his son and dog Luna were very friendly. Their place was nicely decorated in Nautical Moroccan theme. The breakfast and sunsets on the rooftop overlooking the ramparts and ocean were absolutely amazing! It was located in medina near everything. We had such a wonderful 4 night stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

By Manolo
We found the place by recommendation of the owner of the previous riad in Marrakech and by the time we looked at the rooms and specially the view of the terrace we just couldnt think of somewhere else with more value for money than dar skala. The rooms are really good size filled with the necessary decoration to remind you that you are in the atlantic coast of an muslim country, the beds are really comfortable, the shower works just fine and the higiene was impecable.Jorge is a very cool guy with a lot of flexibility and patience for all the needs of the travellers, he provides towels for showering and he is always willing to give advice to get to know the charms of the city as well as to eat in a good restaurant. His dog luna is just a charmer, she makes you feel at home and she makes you wish you have a pet just like her, you will never feel treaten by her presence but the other way around. We always had breakfast at the terrase during the two days we spent there and we also spent some time during the evenings talking about our day while getting sleepy, that view was just mentally therapeutic. If I go back to essaouira I would definately go back there since the hospitality and service quality just exceeded my expectations

Room Tip: Just make a reservation before going since it may filled up very quickly
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Jorge´s place is simply beautiful. The rooms are simple, yet stylishly decorated and they make you feel very much at home. The roof is spectacular! We spent every morning (for breakfast) and every evening (for sunset) up there. You can´t really get a better view in Essaouira.

Jorge is genuinely interested in his guests, and he sat with us each morning over breakfast and chatted about Essaouira and what we should do while we were there. Take his advice on the best fish market to go to. Luna the dog just made the place feel more like home.

Thanks Jorge!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights at Dar Skala. We loved the rooftop patio. Starting the day with breakfast and ending it watching the sunset was just perfect. Jorge was a great host; helpful,yet unobtrusive and provided us with lots of information on Essaouira upon our arrival. Luna is a lovely dog. The place is not fancy, but it is conveniently located in the city and as I said before, the rooftop patio can't be beat. Be warned that the entrance is hard to find and there are a number of stairs to negotiate. Overall, a great place with good value for money. We would recommend it to anyone heading to Essaouira.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Four of us stayed for just 1 night in two charming rustic rooms, and the whole experience exuded character including our host and his beautiful dog Luna. We arrived in Essaouira at 9.30am and Jorge allowed us to dump our bags, even though our rooms weren't quite ready to allow us to go off haggling/shopping. He gave us a key to our rooms and the front door, so we could come and go easily. We returned to clean rooms with towels and utilised the powerful shower to ready ourselves for dinner. We went to a restaurant not far away and returned late, to find Jorge eating his dinner but more than happy to allow us to make tea/coffee before bed. We arranged breakfast for 9am on the roof terrace, however after a wine laden dinner we didn't rise till 9.30 and Aicha his housekeeper was fine with our tardy entrance to breakfast. Jorge accompanied us to breakfast on the roof with views over the ramparts and the ocean, with a supply of freshly squeezed orange juice, croissants, bread and jams, plus good coffee. He was very relaxed with 4 loud women to deal with, and never hurried us at all. He was a charming host, as was his son Pablo and we felt awful as we forgot to tip Aicha before we left. When I'm next in Essaouira I'll be staying there again, clean comfortable rooms, quiet location and amazing views in the heart of the medina!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Our stay at Dar Skala was memorable for the location and the view from the rooftop. You cannot beat watching the sunset from that perch The rooms are nothing fancy, but charming (the bedroom with the balcony overlooking the street was my favorite). The communal area is quite homey, and welcoming. Being able to walk to everything was invaluable to us. Jorge is a great host -- his English is limited, but he is fluent in Spanish and French, with some Arabic. Overall, our stay was memorable, and Dar Skala is definitely a place I'd love to return to.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Skala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Skala

Address: 26 Ibn Rochd | Medina, Essaouira 44100, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Skala, a traditional Moroccan house is situated behind the ramparts very near the main square. It is on two levels, comprised of 4 bedrooms, kitchen and living-room, where you can enjoy cozy evenings by the fire. A delicious breakfast is served on the sunny terrace with breath-taking views of the ocean. Individual rooms or the entire house available for rent. Local cook at your disposal for tasty traditional dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Budget Places, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Dar Skala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Skala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.