We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Essaouira hidden jem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Douar Souiri Hotel Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Douar Souiri Hotel Resort to your Saves list
The Douar Souiri Hotel Resort
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Douar Lamssassa, Essaouira 617, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 171 Essaouira B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Essaouira hidden jem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

A beautiful hotel. Fantastically welcoming and friendly staff.....we were upgraded upon arrival free of charge. This hotel is a beautiful setting for a relaxing few days away from the chaos of Marrakech. It would be perfect for a group of friends.Although it is quite far from the town of Essaouira, on a couple of occasions we got the free transfer down to the town from the hotel on request and the owner went out of his way to fulfill our needs. A really luxurious hotel that we would most certainly return to.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    8
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nothing disappointing here. Beautiful. You get more than your money's worth. Breakfast by the pool is special, delicious, memorable. We will return. You MUST be aware that you're 15km's out of town. But for us, that was the best part. The only thing I'd changed is having a heated pool. We'd be there every weekend if it was heated!

Room Tip: They are all good. You get your own villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Completely agree with Rachel1372. Our Riad was large and comfortable. Breakfast was freshly made every morning and we LOVED the Moroccan crepes. We did not have a car, but we used the hotel shuttle into the city. When the shuttle was not available, Radouane was very helpful to arrange transportation. He also recommended and arranged nice activities for us like surfing and horseback riding, The entire staff was friendly. One of our favorite employees was Soufiene, our waiter for breakfast and dinner. He even translated the recipe of two of our favorites dishes from the hotel so we can make them at home! I truly believe Essaouira and this hotel are hidden gems. A great value for the money compared to Marrakech!

Room Tip: Honestly, booking.com provided an house that was too large for us. We could have contacted the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

I had huge reservations about booking this accommodation as 1. We weren't familiar with Essaouira and (more importantly) 2. I couldn't find another review on the internet for which to rationalise my choice! Having driven past the residence a few times, we finally found the remote entrance on a dirt path, leading to what seemed to be.... no where. My doubts were building even quicker at this point.

800 meters off of the main highway from Marrakesh to Essaouria, and approximately 15km from the town centre of Essaouira, the Douar Souiri is a true Oasis. The self professed, 'Berber Style' village is indeed as described in the website. The complex, in what can be described as a 'soft launch' phase, is meticulously designed, so much so that it could be part of a movie set or Disney Village.

Our accommodation was more than adequate. The one bed apartment had a studio style kitchen, cosy dining area and large bedroom with sitting area. It was the perfect size for two adults and baby. We had a child safe, spacious terrace which had never ending, unobstructed views off to the sunset.

The pool house was simply stunning in a simple way. Clean, cool design embraced the pool area, making the space feel welcome, friendly yet somewhat posh in an unpretentious way. The restaurant serves all food poolside (or in room) with 24 hours notice as they bring in all ingredients fresh. The breakfast consisted of traditional Moroccan fare - complimented with homemade preserves, local oils (including the famous Argan Oil) and the best coffee I've had in ages. Traditional mint tea is served in abundance.

The wet spa consists of Hammam - both as just a steam bath or as the typical wet scrub down. Massages are available in the spa treatment room. The Argan Oil massage felt particularly authentic for the area. Highly recommended.

We were really sad to leave the Douar Souiri as the service was first class, yet extremely personable. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and we were made to feel like VIPs in every way. This was by far, one of the most relaxing holidays we have ever had. Our stay at the Douar Souiri was just superb.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Douar Souiri Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Douar Souiri Hotel Resort

Address: Douar Lamssassa, Essaouira 617, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 171 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Douar Souiri Hotel Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Douar Souiri Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Douar Souiri Hotel Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.