We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad 'Chez Dar Ma'

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Essaouira
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad 'Chez Dar Ma'
Save
You added Riad 'Chez Dar Ma' to your Saves list
234 Rue Chbanate | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 171 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“absolutely perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

This is the best place you could ask for: beautifully decorated, right in the medina, wonderful hosts, who can also give you good advice for what to see and do and off course the legendary breakfasts at the roof top terrace.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
40
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beek, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed in this riad for our last 2 nights in Morocco. It was our 5th riad/hotel during our trip. Allison was not there at the time, it was her mom Anne and the housekeeper/cook Halima.
Pros: Anne was very friendly and chatty and gave nice tips of things to see and do. Halima was sweet and cooked amazing breakfasts. The riad was beautifully decorated and very clean. The Green room had plenty of space for 2 adults and one 12 year old and had a large bathroom. We had no problem finding the riad from the bus station or coming back from the "main" area.
Cons: Not necessarily a con but I think I would have picked a place in the "nicer" part of town. After more than a week in Morocco I was sick of walking through dodgy neighborhoods. I felt safer in Essaouira than in Marrakech in general though.
In conclusion, great hosts and would recommend it. We were hardly there though, literally only having breakfast and then coming home to bed. It would be better for people that spent a little more time actually in the riad and appreciate a feeling of staying in someone's home. We enjoyed Essaouira very much though all in all.

Room Tip: They all looked nice and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We had a fabulous 4 night stay in Alison's beautiful and tranquil riad. On arrival we were greeted with warmth and mint tea on the amazing roof terrace. Alison gave us valuable advice and information on what to do and where to go for a truly Moroccan experience. On our one day of rain, it was so lovely to be able to treat the place as home, reading and chatting.

Breakfasts are legendary and they sure lived up to the hype in the guest book ! A healthy feed before a day's exploring was much needed...

Chez dar ma is in a bustling part of the madina, yet so peaceful on the inside. if you are visiting essaouira then this is the place for you!

Thank you Alison, for an impeccable stay!

We'll be back

Rupert & Kate

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Chez DaMar is a stunningly beautiful Riad within the Medina.
It is tranquil and has been renovated and decorated beautifully in a quirky, chic Moroccan style. Really fabulous. There was lashings of hot water, crisp, white sheets and good wifi. Breakfast was served on the roof terrace by Halima who was wonderful and cooked two lovely meals during my stay. Anne is very knowledgable and personally took me around the Medina and showed me where to shop and eat. On the Sunday she accompanied me to the amazing flea market, taking a horse and carriage to this bustling place. She looked after me beyond the call of duty. Thank you.
Essaouira is a busy, colourful, vibrant place with a great shops and huge beach. The people are very friendly and the weather was fabulous. I would recommend Chez Dar Ma to everyone, you will be delighted.
A big thank you to Anne and Halima and kisses to the three gorgeous cats. I fell in love with Innie who kept me company each night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We loved everything about this riad! It is perfectly located - 3mins from the bus stop and the same into the centre of the medina. Yes, ok many people have mentioned the dark alleyway that leads to it but this is quite typical in Morocco and it really wasn't a problem, it only made walking into the riad more impressive!

The riad is so beautifully designed and has a wonderful quirky, creative feel that instantly makes you realise you have stumbled upon a real gem! We loved the cats (Mo Mo, Jo Jo and little kitten Illie); our wonderful room (the green room); and most importantly - Allison and Hassan. They instantly made us feel at home and were on call for anything that we needed during our short stay in Essaouira.

On the first night, feeling a little all over the place after just arriving in Morocco, Hassan collected us from the bus and gave us some lovely moroccan mint tea and cake. Allison then walked us over to a fantastic little restaurant- it was the perfect start to our holiday.

We wish that we could have stayed for longer but we hope to visit again soon. We particularly enjoyed the breakfasts which were the best that we had in Morocco (thanks Allison/Halima)! We happily stuffed ourselves full of fresh fruit, home-made crumpets with butter, fresh orange juice, natural yoghurt (which Jo Jo helped us to finish!), bread and jams....bliss! When we had to get the 6am bus back to Marrakech, Allison kindly offered to get up and make us breakfast, we declined and so she packed us off with a wonderful selection of pastries and fruit.

For anyone coming to Essaouira, we wholeheartedly recommend Chez Dar Ma!

Thank you Allison, Hassan and Halima!
Jess & Tracy (Bristol, UK)

Room Tip: The green room was lovely! We peeked in the other - all really nice but we liked ours :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Chez Dar Ma is a very relaxing experience! The riad is spotlessly clean and very characterful. The breakfasts are excellent and Allison was very accommodating when we had to leave early - making us breakfast well before the usual time. From the riad it is a five minute walk through some charaterful streets to the tourist hubub. It is in a very Moroccan area - I really liked this and thought it was really interesting but some might not be ok with it depending what they are used to. Overall a very relaxing stay and I would definitely return there if I was visiting Essaouira again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Had a lovely 5 days at Chez Dar Ma. The Riad is lovely, very clean and very comfortable. Alison really is lovely. We had a lovely time chatting and swapping stories. She also gave us lots of great tips for shopping, food etc. Always on hand to help with anything.
And the breakfasts are wonderful. So fresh and tasty.Alison goes out early every morning to source the freshly made bread and gorgeous pancakes. Thanks again Alison and Halima.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad 'Chez Dar Ma'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad 'Chez Dar Ma'

Address: 234 Rue Chbanate | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 171 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chez DarMa is beautiful, comfortable peaceful riad that feels like home. As in the original meaning of "Bed and Breakfast" we invite guests to come share our wonderful home with us. Completely renovated in 2008, the riad is layed out on 4 floors with 5 spacious double en-suite bedrooms (although we normally don´t have more than 3 rooms rented at a time). We have 2 kitchens, a spacious central courtyard and 3 wonderful terraces with views over the medina and free WiFi. Located in one of the more traditional districts of the medina the riad is short stroll from many restaurants, shops and of course the beautiful sandy beach. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad 'Chez Dar Ma', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.