We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy & Welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Assalama

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Assalama to your Saves list
Dar Assalama
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   5 Rue Allal El Ouaqaoui, derb Agadir, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 161 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Tunbridge Wells
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Happy & Welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Really enjoyed our 10 day stay here. We've been a number of times to Essaouira and have never had a bad experience. The staff here were very plesant and nothing was too much trouble. Room and bed was comfortable, breakfast was varied and delicious and it was in a brilliant location. Would definitly stay again. Thanks to all for a brilliant time

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    7
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
40
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essaouira, Morocco
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

good value for money. perfectly renovated riad. lovely roof terrace where you have your breakfast in the morning. smiling helpful staff (even ran to the post office for us to post our card). situated in the center of essaouira. very good experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester,Blaby
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Nice location , quiet . Very attentive staff and helpful. The fireplace and candles in the evening creating a special atmosphere. The terrace has an excellent view to the seaside and docks . Fantastic breakfast on the roof. Overall very nice Riad , highly recommend to every everyone.
As for improvement : I wish they could extend wi-fi so you could get a decent signal upstairs in the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Beautiful riad, within easy reach of the suptratours bus station and minutes walking distance to everywhere you would want to go to in the medina and the beach. Staff/owners were helpful with excellent English, great breakfast was served on the large terrace and there was lots of room in the communal areas. Also useful to have free wifi. The room itself was relaxing, airy and beautifully decorated. Also, plenty of cats to in the surrounding area to say hello to if that's your thing!

We thoroughly enjoyed spending time in the riad as well as out in the medina and it is best used as a relaxing base rather than for anyone wanting to go out clubbing until 4am.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zagreb
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Beautiful riad, new, clean, charming decor, staff fantastic and helpful organized taxi for us, reserved restaurant, explained everything about Essaouira, where to eat, to shop, to walk....I hope i will meet those nice people again at this fantastic place

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The riat is situated in the Medina. You can feel like you are local living there. The staff of the riat was extremely helpful! We felt ourselves like home. Please see my pictures which will tell you everything about rooms, design and views from the roof top and breakfast. I loved this riat! and highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Probably would be better to have a suite room. It's bigger and have some space to sit and chill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I would like to start by saying that I stayed here 2 years ago and am not one to write reviews on these types of websites, but the service and the standard of the accommodation at the Dar Assalama was by far the best (and I have stayed in dozens and dozens of different places). The family that run the Riad are so friendly and could not do enough to help my partner and I find our way around. The breakfasts are sensational and really hard to beat anywhere in the world! One of the ladies working in the Riad even took time out of her day to teach my partner and I how to cook a traditional tagine from scratch and then wanted to wait hand and foot on us (which we didnt allow). I cannot recommend the Riad highly enough. The decor is so tastefully and traditionally done and the service impeccable. I have recommended the Dar Assalama to many friends and family! Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Assalama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Assalama

Address: 5 Rue Allal El Ouaqaoui, derb Agadir, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Assalama 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situé dans l'une des rues les plus calmes d'Essaouira, l'hôtel Dar Assalama vous réserve un accueil chaleureux et convivial dans un charmant riad rénové.Le riad Dar Assalama dispose de 6 chambres confortables dotées de tous les équipements espérés, dans un cadre décoré dans un style typiquement marocain.Après avoir exploré Essaouira et profité de la plage, vous pourrez vous détendre dans le patio intérieur entouré de salons marocains avec cheminées, créant une atmosphère agréable l'hiver.Pendant votre séjour, profitez de la vue magnifique depuis le toit-terrasse, où vous pourrez prendre votre petit déjeuner le matin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dar Assalama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Assalama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.