We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Assalama

Save Saved
You added Dar Assalama to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dar Assalama
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   5 Rue Allal El Ouaqaoui, derb Agadir, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 156 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights as the last stretch of our honeymoon in Morocco. It was a fantastic base to explore Essaouira, ideally situated within the medina but close to the 'Supertours' bus station. Felt thoroughly at home here, relaxing in the communal area on the ground floor, open fire in the evening, tea and coffee on tap whenever you wanted it. The rooms are fabulous, large beds, beautifully decorated - dark but most riads are. Brilliant hospitality, there was always someone around to offer advice, good places to eat, where to watch the sunset. Breakfast on the terrace was another high, fresh fruit, yoghurt, bread, and eggs. Thoroughly recommend this riad.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    7
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
37
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

This was the best place we stayed in, in one of the oldest, most quiet, parts of the medina, but within easy reach of everything. Had a peak at all six rooms, as was empty when we stayed and they are all decorated differently, fantastic and ensuite. There is even a kitchen downstairs for your use. The rooms and bathrooms are big and spotless. The roof terrace has four sun beds, as well as compfy seats for breakfast and a view of the sea. The staff do everything possible to ensure your stay is a great one. Providing info on places to eat and see providing maps. Would thoroughly recommend, onle a shame that we found it on our last night. Was also very peaceful as all rooms face over central courtyard so only sound is off seagulls overhead.

Room Tip: Roooms on the floors higher up are lighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Stayed for three nights and we (myself and partner) were really impressed by the riad and their owners and we were not disappointed by our stay. Rooms were great, breakfast was lovely and different every day which was a really nice touch and served on the roof terracel. The terrace was also perfect for relaxing on as well. The location was great for exploring the old town and the beach. The owners were perfect hosts and could not do enough for us. Great first riad experience for us!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We spend three days at Dar Assalama. Very nice and helpfull staff and nice clean rooms.
The riad is perfectly located in the Medina, close to everything worth doing. On top of it all, they served the best breakfast at their roof-lounge, with a beautyful view over all af the city.
Perfect stay!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppland
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

A very pleasant and nice riad in the old part of Essaouira. It is small, has only six rooms and has very nice and helpful staff. The rooms look nice, but the lamps by the beds are useless for reading. We also had problems with the hot water.
Breakfast is a bit on the heavy side with lots of pancakes and bread, but is served on the very nice roof terrace by the friendly staff.
We had some problems on our departure when none of our credit cards worked so we had to go to an ATM to get cash. This was a bit strange since we didn't have any problem anywhere else in Morocco.
It is not very easy to find the place on your arrival, so I recommend that you hire one of the porters to bring you and your luggage there. This cost us 50 dirhams.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

We stayed in this beautiful Riad for 2 days and were very happy with the room and service we received.
On the arrival we were offered some mint tea,the staff explained were everything was and told us to feel like at home.
The only drawback was that there was a musty smell coming from the bathroom (no window in it or some sort of ventilation) and couldn't have window in the bedroom open as it faced the hall that everyone on that floor was walking by.
Also would recommend a bit more variety for breakfast that was served on the rooftop with great views.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

We stayed in Dar Assalama for 2 nights during our car trip from Agadir to Marrakesh in the beginning of May 2010. Omar is a very friendly person, he recommended us all the best places and restaurants to visit in Essaouira. He speaks a very clean English. The rooms are clean and beautiful, the lounge zone on the roof is relaxing and has a cinema-like view on the city. One more bonus of staying in Dar Assalama was the absence of a strict check-out time, which is a very pleasant thing when you're in a car trip.
If we decide to come to Essaouira once again we would definitely stay in Dar Assalama.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Assalama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Assalama

Address: 5 Rue Allal El Ouaqaoui, derb Agadir, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Assalama 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situé dans l'une des rues les plus calmes d'Essaouira, l'hôtel Dar Assalama vous réserve un accueil chaleureux et convivial dans un charmant riad rénové.Le riad Dar Assalama dispose de 6 chambres confortables dotées de tous les équipements espérés, dans un cadre décoré dans un style typiquement marocain.Après avoir exploré Essaouira et profité de la plage, vous pourrez vous détendre dans le patio intérieur entouré de salons marocains avec cheminées, créant une atmosphère agréable l'hiver.Pendant votre séjour, profitez de la vue magnifique depuis le toit-terrasse, où vous pourrez prendre votre petit déjeuner le matin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, Expedia, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Dar Assalama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Assalama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.