We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dodgy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Darko

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Darko to your Saves list
Riad Darko
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3 rue Annasser, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 161 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dodgy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The staff were friendly, but that's the only positive thing i can write about this hotel. Our room was damp and musty and smelled not good. The 'private bathroom' was not private at all and wet towels that didn't dry due to the wet climate inside weren't replaced.
What to say about the hammam... never seen it.

Room Tip: Go for another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riad_darko, Responsable réception at Riad Darko, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Sir,

We thank you very much for your review on our Guest house.

We are happy that you value the friendlyness of our team.

Regarding the Essaouira Climate, that is true that you were not so lucky as humidity was really high when you were here. It can happen in such a city close to the sea and unfortunately we cannot do a lot to change that.

Hopefully, it is not so often that rain is visiting Essaouira. We sincerely hope to welcome you another time with a better weather which is most of the time the case.

Thank you again fo your review even if the score is more for the weather you had experienced. Anyway, see you another time and it was a pleasure to have you in our guest house.

Sincerely yours. Riad Darko team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    18
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
23
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We spent two nights at Riad Darko in Essaouira and would have happily stayed longer. The bedrooms and common areas are beautifully decorated. There are many cozy alcoves to curl up in. Riad Darko is the most beautiful home I have booked in Morocco. The hostesses were friendly and hospitable. I booked the riad exclusively for our group of 8. There is WiFi on premises. The medina house is close to all action. Breakfasts were delicious!

Room Tip: Every room in the house is beautifully decorated. There is a first floor suite with a double bed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Booked in here for two nights and decided to stay for three. Staff very friendly and helpful with local knowledge. Clean, comfortable and very nicely laid out rooms. Breakfast times were flexible, could take it between 8 and 11am. Breakfast also very good. Good value too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Beautiful little Riad in the heart of Essaouira. We stayed for two nights over the Christmas holidays and had a great time. Some of the bathrooms are outside the rooms but it isn't a big issue (you get exclusive use of your own bathroom). Breakfast on the roof terrace is the perfect way to start the day.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerhugowaard, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We had a lovely time in the Riad! It was clean and the people were very nice to us (and our little baby, 6 months old). The riad was near the beach and the shops and inside it was very quit. At the rooftop there was a relaxing place. The food (cooked by the filles) was also very good! Esspecially the Taijne Poulet! Nearby was also a very good small restaurant. And the day at the villa was amazing! We had a lovely time in Marocco and we hope to come back again because we miss it! Thank you very much! Greetings, Kees, Dana and Evie from Holland.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We just landed back from 6 days at Riad Darko. From the first moment we arrived Ismahan and Hanane looked after us, we bombarded them with questions and requests and they just smiled and politely took care of everything. The Riad has it's own little hamam room and a communal kitchen and relaxing area, it was lush! EAch room is different and charming in it's own way.

Room Tip: Just tell Ismahan what you need and she'll get you the best room I'm sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We were together with friends and kids in Essaouira. Great city to discover and Riad darko is definitely an adress to recommend for a nice and quiet stay. First, location is ideally placed in the center of the Medina, then the cooker is just a "chef" who took care of us with half-board option. End of the day were dedicated to massages and hammam. Conclusion, we will come back !

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Darko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Darko

Address: 3 rue Annasser, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Darko 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the medina in a quiet street, near shops and souks, the Riad Darko is a riad renovate to rent in exclusivity or by room. Ideal place to reunite a family holiday in Essaouira, the riad can accommodate 12 people and 2 people in sofas beds.A living room with fireplace welcome you for your diners and another room with wifi access for your moments of leisure.A cook is at your disposal to prepare lunch and diners. All is set up for you to feel at home. To complete this relaxing atmosphere, you can provide care and massage in the “Wellness East”.We can organize Golf, trips in quad, horse, camel, sea trips, visits tours of the city, Moroccan cooking classes.We will be happy to arrange your tours and stay.Transfers from airports on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Darko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Darko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.