We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, relaxing stay in a lovely riad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palais des Remparts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Palais des Remparts to your Saves list
Palais des Remparts
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18, rue Ibn Rochd, Essaouira, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 76 Hotels in Essaouira
Pokhara
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxing stay in a lovely riad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

A lovely riad with friendly staff in the medina. Large room with huge bath and reasonably quiet (given it was New Year) Easy to access, good wifi reception and friendly staff (particularly Asna) . Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the ocean was just wonderful. Highly recommend for the price

Room Tip: Room above the first floor was quieter and lift available
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    73
    31
    6
    7
See reviews for
33
122
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

My sister and I arrived in Essaouria, without a place to stay. We were approached by a man in the parking lot and although this is not how we normally travel, we decided to give it a shot and check out the hotel in the brochure that he showed us. It is just a 5 minute walk from a major parking area at one entrance of the center. Once we arrived at the hotel, the staff was extremely helpful and jolly and showed us all of the available rooms in our price range, so that we could choose our favorite. The showers were great/ hot water/ good pressure, nice bathrooms, wifi, television (all in Arabic), and breakfast on the rooftop. The breakfast was the icing on the cake. It seemed as if this was the tallest rooftop in the medina and it overlooks the sea. Service was top notch and we were given more food than we knew what to do with. Hard boiled eggs, a Moroccan oatmeal, yogurt, fruit, pastries (bread bread bread), olives, coffee, and tea. Again, we really appreciated the nice staff. Aziz was most helpful !

Room Tip: You may want to choose a room that is not on the street side, so that it is a bit quieter. The ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Stayed December 2013, just for the night. Was offered a 33% discount without asking. The entrance and main hall are the most impressive parts of the building. The bedroom was really generous with 2 single beds, seating, a desk, large wardrobe and decent ensuite. It had a high ceiling, smelt just a little damp/unnoccupied but was very clean. The bedrooms lack a little of the character of the central courtyard/hall, but for 600Dh rather than 900Dh a night including breakfast for 2, it was fine. Breakfast was good and generous, but they need to replace some of the tired furniture on the roof terrace. Very conveniently situated, easy to find, and has great views from the roof (and some of the rooms). Staff were excellent - courteous, professional and welcoming.

Room Tip: They're all big and clean - maybe one facing the sea rather than the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is the highest building in the medina and the terrace has great panoramic views. It is great positioning for food, exploring and the beach. The staff are really friendly and helpful. The whole place is clean and tidy and the rooms are good. We stayed for a few days and were really happy with it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We recently stayed there and loved every part of our stay. Fantastic location, good value for money. Amazing views from the rooftop terrace at breakfast. Rooms are comfortable, large, great TV selection if the weather turns funny. Very good breakfast, Moroccan style. Bathrooms are a bit gloomy, could do with better lighting. Beds are very comfortable, very good quality.We enjoyed the peace and quiet of this part of the Medina where you can get a good sleep and get ready for another day of exploration in Essaouira. Housekeeping does a great job too.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor with a sea view if possible. The 4th floor(rooftop) are nice too fantastic vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesham bucks
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

it is a beautiful place, clean, tired in places, however it seemed to lack soul. The staffwere attentive and kind, I could not really fault them, however, it could really do with the owner being a part of what is going on. It felt corporate, not homely....so to each their own.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view in any riad are few..there's two on the room you should head for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We spent a week here in October and were delighted with what we found. The hotel is clean, great location and our room was wonderful (double room on the first floor). Breakfast on the roof terrace in the morning - fresh orange and a variety of French and Moroccan breads/pastries. We also watched the sun set one evening with drinks and the views are spectacular. The location is great but this can lead to noise at night so if you are a light sleeper bring some ear plugs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palais des Remparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais des Remparts

Address: 18, rue Ibn Rochd, Essaouira, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#10 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais des Remparts 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Splendia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Palais des Remparts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Des Remparts Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais des Remparts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.