We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palais des Remparts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Palais des Remparts to your Saves list
Palais des Remparts
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18, rue Ibn Rochd, Essaouira, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent location and views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Very good Riad attached to the "remparts" of Essaouira. To get the full essence of this Riad ask for the room on the top floor with view on the Ocean. The room is nicely decorated and is located just on a wonderful terrace with amazing sunset and ocean views. Staff is friendly and helpful.
Recommended also for its more quiet location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    82
    35
    8
    8
See reviews for
36
135
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed the night in Essaouira, at the Hotel Remparts , which is very well sited and has a very fine facade.
The staff at remparts are so friendly and helpful
On the restaurant terrace, attentive staff invite you to discover the refined cuisine, a tasty combination of colours and authentic flavours.
The rooms were amazing and we all really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Located in the Heart of the Medina, the Riad offers easy access to the main square and the souk (10 min) as well as an easy way to the beach with it's bar's, and restaurants.
The ramparts has the best sea view and an unobstructed view of the town and its monuments.
Friendly staff and superb service delivered with timeliness, courtesy, and fairness like no other continue to make the ramparts the best address in Essaouira…

Room Tip: deluxe ocean view room 206
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

At night it is like a motor cycle race track outside this hotel. The city authorities are insane to allow people to ride around like this in narrow streets at night. I stepped out of the hotel into the street the first night and was nearly killed by three motor cycle men (middle age, not young lunatics) scattering everybody out of the way even families with children. Every time I come to Essaouira the medina traffic is more like Marrakesh.The next night I came out of Sirocco restaurant nearby and had to jump back in because some maniac swerved to avoid a group and nearly hit me instead. Not so long ago motor cycles were not allowed in the old part of town. Now you hear them all day and most of the night. You never see a policeman.
This hotel is a recent conversion because it was not a hotel like this when I first came to Essaouria years ago. It has a lot going for it especially the wonderful location with views over the ocean and the roof terrace. The interior has been renovated in traditional way and has a good atmosphere. The room and bathroom fittings are very average and lots of little things need attention like loose screws on shower fixtures, damp patches on walls, some worn towels. These are all little things and probably just because the hotel has not yet worked through all the teething problems. With good management and some money spent on improvements this could be a very good hotel one day. If you stay here you are close to all the main attractions of Essaouira, just a few minutes walk will take you to the square, the port, the beach, and many restaurants old and new. Essaouria is changing fast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
226 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is well located, great ocean views but the rooms and especially the bathroom needs updating.

The shower was largely a handheld since it wouldn't stay attached to the holder with water that comes and goes both in pressure and temperature. They also lacked some basics like a hairdryer, curtains etc. Not to mention that the glass provided in the bathroom was dirty.

Our room was on the 4th floor on the terrace. Great views but no wifi in the room (had to go to a lower floor). Also, there's noise around 7:30am when the staff moves thd chairs and tables around preparing to serve breakfast.

The sound of the ocean and seagulls is quite loud. It didnt bother me but my husband had trouble sleeping. In Feb, we needed to use the portable heater provided. There's no heat/AC otherwise.

All in all, it was okay. Nothing terrible but it could have significant improvements.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

There are smokers in the lobby. Even the night receptionist smokes at the front desk which is kind of disgusting. Room is so so. Seems the curtains have never been washed. Nice view from terrace. Breakfast is so so. Fake honey. Location is good. Quiet. Islamic morning call to prayer goes on for 15 minutes at 5 am and wakes you up and keeps you up no matter what with sound blasting from a distorted speaker.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here after staying in 2 terrific places in other parts of Morocco and we had been warned the room standards were perhaps not quite as good in Essaouira as they are in Marrakech .This we found to be the case however what the room lacked in amenities ( no safe, hairdryer or air conditioning ) was more than made up for by the stunning views from the delightful roof terrace which directly overlooks the sea with views along the ramparts of the medina. The location is good too,( being just around the corner from the main square) in a quiet street with a couple of nice restaurants , patisserie and a few shops.

We had a view of the sea ( some rooms their windows open out to the central courtyard) , the room was a good size , furnished well with a comfortable bed. The bathroom was Ok with a huge bath ...but uninviting due to the dark tiles and blue bath. There was a definite musty damp smell in the room, the cream rugs were slightly grubby and the windows not clean so we wiped them. The courtyard area of the hotel is lovely , just wished housekeeping had wiped the glass top of the table outside our room of cup marks which remained present from our arrival to our departure. With a little bit of attention these issues could be easily resolved and standards raised .It felt more like a 3 star accomodation rather than 4 however that would not prevent us from staying here as the positives outweighed any negatives.

The restaurant was advertised as open with the menu hoarding placed outdoors but it remained in darkness for our stay possibly as no one ate there . This may not be a reflection on the restaurant per se, as we saw several restaurants slightly off the beaten track which appeared to have had evenings totally without diners even when they rated highly on trip advisor. I was told business is generally very quiet at the moment and all the places we stayed in were well below capacity .We ate in one establishment and we were the only diners all evening .

The staff in the Palais des Remparts were friendly and helpful , and waiters attentive. Breakfast was the usual Moroccan fare , with freshly cooked pancakes and pastries, served on the terrace and with one of the best views in Essaouira with dramatic crashing waves on the rocks and ramparts and the occasional fisherman scrambling over the rocks. There are covered tables on part of the roof terrace with glass panels so if the weather is poor shelter is available , and we had no problems with the seagulls nor issues with the breeze which was gentle and refreshing for our stay. The sunsets are magnificent from the roof terrace and we spent so much time up here just taking it all in .

Essaouira tradesman have a much less aggressive sales attitude and a more laid back approach compared to those Marrakech ( there are even prices on the goods in the souks ) and it was a pleasure to browse the shops and stalls in the medina and indeed shop ( we would not have bought anything in Marrakech if we 'd realised what Essaouira was like ) .

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Essaouira - the medina was lovely to wander round, the beach long & flat, and it was facinating to go to the port watching the local fisherman landing their catch . It was relaxing and laid back .So pleased we didn't just go to Marrakech

Room Tip: Rooms 309& 308 are on the roof terrace and have terrific views of the sea. There are no issues a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#14 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar L'Oussia
Riad Dar L'Oussia
#23 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
0.1 mi away
La maison des artistes
La maison des artistes
#22 of 77 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Dar Maya
Dar Maya
#3 of 77 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
1.0 mi away
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
#39 of 77 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais des Remparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais des Remparts

Address: 18, rue Ibn Rochd, Essaouira, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#9 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais des Remparts 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Splendia and Hotels.com so you can book your Palais des Remparts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Des Remparts Hotel Essaouira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais des Remparts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.