We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“January Detox delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Daba

Save Saved
You added Villa Daba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Daba
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Douar El Ghazoua | km8 route d'Agadir, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“January Detox delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed with Didier and Bernadette in their magical villa for 3 weeks in January, it was the perfect haven to concentrate, focus and relax. The peace and tranquility combined with their wonderful hospitality made my stay truly special. A true Moroccan gem!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    13
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
59
78
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Ok, this is Didiers own description but we believe it having sampled his excellent cuisine. After a busy year we needed a break and were immediately made to feel at home. Only three days but what a woderful warm relaxing place. We will be highly recommending Villa Daba to friends and family and will be back ourselves! Thanks also to Bernadette, your deserts were gorgeous too!
Excellent location close to town with lots to do and see.
Finlay & Marina, London

Room Tip: All good, first floor balcony was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had booked for two nights and ended up staying five... After visiting the Kings' Towns, Erg Chebbi and different Valleys (Todra, Paradise and Dades) we were looking for a place to do absolutely nothing; Villa Daba is the perfect place: great food, excellent rooms, nice pool, surroundings and above all, very nice and hospitable people.

Didier, Bernadette, Mohammed and the rest of the staff do the utmost to make your stay as comfortable as possible. They are also very acquinted with the surroundings and a more than willing to give you some good advice, help plan excursions or give you some tips on the better restaurants in town.

Good quality for a good price,

thanks to all the staff for five brilliant days!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

First of all, we had a car. I'm not sure if you don't have a car what it would be like. This is because it's a few km's out of town and in the middle of nowhere. This for us though was amazing. A completely idllic setting, with a genuinely wonderful couple who run the place. Bernadette and Didier went out of their way to make us feel welcome, and help us out with anything we needed. They have an awesome dog too. The food was great, and service second to none. However it was the right amount of service, i.e. not too in-your-face, but there when you wanted it. Wish we could have stayed longer. Finally, if you do stay here, ask Didier to direct you to the restaurant at the end of the ridiculous dirt track on the beach near Sidi Kaouki. The best fresh fish I've ever eaten in a superb setting.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are probably the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Had an amazing time with my son and husband at this lovely villa!! Bernadette and Didier spoiled us with their amazing cuisine and warmth smiles!! Our room was beautiful, the whole place is decorated with attention to detail. Absolutely loved it!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here for three days and the one regret from our holiday is we didn't spend the whole week here..The place is amazing..lovely room..and fantastic pool / sunbathing area. Didier is an amazing chef...we ate at the villa every morning and night...fresh fish..tajines..you name it Dider can create something special with it. Bernadette and Dider can't do enough for you..they are the perfect hosts and the whole house is decorated beautifully..We would definitely return here for a holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ealing
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Thanks so much to Bernadette and Didier. We arrived in Essaouira from Marrakech in June and had 5 very relaxing and entertaining nights. Our hosts were great - always joking with us - and particularly make a big effort to help my fiancee who was quite unwell and nearly did not make the trip at all.

It was a great decision for her to take a gamble because she recovered quickly at Villa Daba from the hot breezy days by the lovely pool and the peaceful nights on the top deck of the hotel with our little cabana just outside the door and under the stars. It should be noted that Bernadette and Didier are excellent cooks also, serving up dishes out of a French and Moroccan taste (at a very reasonable value also). We had some great meals by the pool and in the beautifully decorated house itself. Bernadette makes excellent home made jams and Didier knew all about preparing lobsters and thresher shark tagines (amazing dish - get him to cook the latter). I most of all enjoyed planning and discussing the day's Euro 2012 football matches with Didier - at the time of writing England and France were both doing well!

And a special shout goes out to Muhammad. I think he is becoming something of a celebrity on Trip Advisor. Just a really nice, always looking to your needs with a big smile on his face (careful your other half doesn't get smitten guys).

In short, this is a highly recommended hotel whose appeal is attributed to the lovely people who run the place. And of course the pool and food as mentioned. Enjoy!

Ps. visit Sidi Kaouki 10 minutes from the hotel and go to the hippyish surf shack off to the left with good beers, calamari and sunset views of camels and pro kite surfers on a huge Atlantic beach - great owners there too. Also highly recommended is the traditional meat and vegetable market about 10 minutes inland on the road to Marrakech and open once a week - much less touristy than in Essaoira itself. And of course the town of Essaoira itself for good fish and nice shopping (10 minutes from Villa Daba by car).

Room Tip: Not sure which is the best room but Lambarene was great and has the cabana under the stars as mentio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Daba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Daba

Address: Douar El Ghazoua | km8 route d'Agadir, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 78 hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Daba 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Villa Daba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Daba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.