We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel with fun charming owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Daba

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Daba to your Saves list
Villa Daba
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   BP 164 Douar El Ghazoua | km8 route d'Agadir, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 76 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence 2014
ealing
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“beautiful hotel with fun charming owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Thanks so much to Bernadette and Didier. We arrived in Essaouira from Marrakech in June and had 5 very relaxing and entertaining nights. Our hosts were great - always joking with us - and particularly make a big effort to help my fiancee who was quite unwell and nearly did not make the trip at all.

It was a great decision for her to take a gamble because she recovered quickly at Villa Daba from the hot breezy days by the lovely pool and the peaceful nights on the top deck of the hotel with our little cabana just outside the door and under the stars. It should be noted that Bernadette and Didier are excellent cooks also, serving up dishes out of a French and Moroccan taste (at a very reasonable value also). We had some great meals by the pool and in the beautifully decorated house itself. Bernadette makes excellent home made jams and Didier knew all about preparing lobsters and thresher shark tagines (amazing dish - get him to cook the latter). I most of all enjoyed planning and discussing the day's Euro 2012 football matches with Didier - at the time of writing England and France were both doing well!

And a special shout goes out to Muhammad. I think he is becoming something of a celebrity on Trip Advisor. Just a really nice, always looking to your needs with a big smile on his face (careful your other half doesn't get smitten guys).

In short, this is a highly recommended hotel whose appeal is attributed to the lovely people who run the place. And of course the pool and food as mentioned. Enjoy!

Ps. visit Sidi Kaouki 10 minutes from the hotel and go to the hippyish surf shack off to the left with good beers, calamari and sunset views of camels and pro kite surfers on a huge Atlantic beach - great owners there too. Also highly recommended is the traditional meat and vegetable market about 10 minutes inland on the road to Marrakech and open once a week - much less touristy than in Essaoira itself. And of course the town of Essaoira itself for good fish and nice shopping (10 minutes from Villa Daba by car).

Room Tip: Not sure which is the best room but Lambarene was great and has the cabana under the stars as mentio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    14
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
71
86
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We have been here at the beginning of march, the weather was beautiful and sunny and the countryside of Essaouira much warmer and wind-protected than Esaaouira itself!
Villa Daba is a very pleasant place and my daughter (2 and a half), my girlfriend and I spent a wonderful week, also thanks the warm care of Bernadette, Didier, Mohammed and Aicha.
We could easily swimm in the heated, lovely pool (which was still pretty cold) and enjoy the sun on the splendid terrace of the room.
For our daughter, Moumous, the small, well-educted dog, was the highlight of the stay, together of course with the simmingpool and with the turtles which sunbathe in the garden.
The place is easy to reach: On the route d'Agadir, at the km 8, close before the village of Ghasoua, you take a small "piste" and, after about 2 km, you get there.
Lovely!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

The first time was wonderful, and the second time (but not last!) was fantastic! Our group from age 80 to 13 all loved the atmosphere created by Bernadette and Dider and their kind staff.
Breafast to sie for, drinks by the pool, massage to die for, lunch.....nap....and then a dinner most people cannot eat at a Guide Michelin xxx rest. On Top of everything they arranged a dromedar trip, quad dito etc.
WE WILL BE BACK!

Room Tip: All rooms are great. And no room look the same,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Hidden behind walls a few miles down a dirt track, lies the Shangri-la of Villa Daba. A boutique hotel in the nicest sense of the word this is the place to unwind, relax and enjoy culinary delights away from it all. The proprietors Didier and Bernadette have left nothing to chance in the exquisite and original design of each room or suite and public areas. Once you step inside Villa Daba, you are embraced by the most wonderful warmth and hospitality imaginable and you find yourself not a guest, but a friend of everyone in the staff whose single pleasure in life, it seems, is to cater to your every need.

Villa Daba is a secluded, small hotel, without the glitz, action and buzz of a large resort. And thank God for that. You come here to enjoy the tranqulity and hospitality of a family owned maison d'hôte, to relax by the cool pool with a glass of wine or to take a relaxing massage from the highly professional masseuse.

From daybreak to nightfall, you can enjoy a truly delicious cuisine, with colorful and delicious breakfasts, lunches and dinners, often influenced by Didier's interest in les fruits de mer and fishing. Try the lobster, for example, the best by far that anyone of our well-travelled group has ever had.

Didier will arrange activities for your group if you like and all the contacts he artranged for us, were of the highest quality and well worth their while.

Departing, very reluctantly after three nights, tears were shed and promises of meeting again soon exchanged. I miss it a lot.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Our hosts and their staff were very friendly and welcoming. The room was large, tastefully furnished and clean. The food was excellent. The pool was very nice, and we also enjoyed playing table tennis and boules. The site as a whole was very well presented.
On the minus side, the villa is 2km along an unmade stoney road. This may put some people off. If you don't speak any French communication may be a bit of a problem.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

Far away from anything nice or decent . Never felt as cattle tourists before !!!!!!
First we felt deceived with the false and lack of reality that the pictures on the web showed of the premises. As soon as we arrived we knew that this guest house was pretty far away from the beach or dunes (not as read on their web site). The villa is around 5 km away cross-country to the ocean and you will have to know your way around which is not very obvius!
It is therefore the perfect place to sell you a camel / quad ride, or an overpriced taxi ride as well as an overpriced lunch or dinner , very poor on Price/Quality .
Do not trust European owners Bernadette nor Didier on their attempt to give you any tourist advice. They will only try to make you stay at the villa and spend your money on the place.
Nevermind if you ever get to know Essaouira at all.
That's what the owners called tourism "à la africaine" .
Meanwhile the only morrocan who was working on the villa´s front office (Waiter, maid etc)....ended up being the only able to give us a certain good treat .
Even though he constantly received a slave-trade-like manners from Bernadette .....he managed to keep a smile for us in his face ! Thumbs up for Mohamed !!!

As soon as the owners saw we were leaving, contradictory excuses for their bad service and lack of professionalism started to show up from both of them .....from the tooth ache he had to the suicidal tendencies from Bernadette¨s close friends......
Which made us realized that we had ended in a tourist trap. We are lucky enough to be experienced travellers and our Essaouira experience ended up much better that it had started.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Daba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Daba

Address: BP 164 Douar El Ghazoua | km8 route d'Agadir, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 76 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Daba 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Daba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Daba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.